We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really nice stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A really nice stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall we were very pleased with this property. The pools are really nice and the pool side service and food was excellent. During happy hour (2 pm - 4 pm) drinks are two for one, and the food prices were very reasonable. The staff was very friendly and the grounds are kept extremely clean. Our room had two full baths and a king size bed. My only complaint relates to the extra bedding. One extra bed, which folded out from the closet, was a single and didn't look too comfortable. The other extra bed was the sofa which converted to a bed by folding the large seat cushion outward with no bottom support (we had to place cushions and a suitcase on the floor to prop-up the fold out cushion to make the bed level). The air-conditioning was great and it had a full kitchen with exception of a stove.

Location was good. It has a private beach and its located near a convenience store, starbucks, and shopping. There are several restaurants on the property, which the food was good, or you can eat in nearby restaurants in downtown Cabo; getting to nearby restaurants from Playa Grande can be accomplished with a 15 minute walk along the marina or you can take an $8 taxi ride. The Playa Grande is nice, but teenagers and those in their 20's would probably prefer a resort on Medano Beach. Medano Beach has all the water and beach activities, beach front restaurants, and activities more suited for teens and college kids. All in all, for adults I would stay at the Playa Grande, but if kids were included, I would stay at a resort on Medano Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Joel

On behalf of our resort, we want to thank you for sharing your experience about your most recent vacations with us. For me is very important to notice all our guest suggestions in order to improve our general services. That your experience was a pleasant one is priceless to me.

I am glad you enjoyed our pools, the happy hour, the room (we take note of your observation), the food from our restaurants etc.

It will be our honor to welcome you back again to our resort. We are really close from all the activities and downtown. I am sure you will have a great vacation again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    853
    196
    106
    80
See reviews for
1,220
1,304
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just got back from a three week stay at the Playa Grande. The entertainment staff is truly one of a kind...they made the three kids' experience wonderful. The Mexican Fiesta and Beach Party were so much fun...Roberto is a funny, talented guy! Rodrigo, Hector, Christina, Miriam, and Mayrobi were such a blessing keeping us entertained for our three week vacation. The kids can hardly wait to make bracelets, make animals out of towels, play ping-pong, pool volleyball and all of the other activities again with ya'll! Playa Grande came through again and we look forward to returning next year...great location, beautiful beach, awesome staff, clean/updated rooms and a fun family friendly resort!!!

Room Tip: The Ridge offers a great view of the Pacific Ocean and the Cabo Marina. The last 2 weeks we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NUTHOAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Nuthoac

On behalf of our resort staff we want to thank you for your kind words about your most recent experience with us. I will share your comments with all our staff especially with Roberto, Rodrigo, Hector, Christina, Miriam and Mayrobi, who entertain you and your family during the week. I am happy your 3 little ones enjoy their service and professionalism. They really do all their activities with the best attitude.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort in the next future,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My family came here together and all enjoyed our stay tremendously. The entertainment staff was amazing and super talented. Make sure to go to Mexican night!! It is only a ten minute walk to downtown which was super convenient. We did not do the all inclusive and ate around town a lot. The pools and staff are awesome. The rooms are cleaned daily which is super nice. There is so much attention to detail and the location is beautiful. A wonderful option for a nice family vacation. I would recommend Playa Grande to anyone!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and well maintained, just whatever fits into your budget. You will not be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalise112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Anna

On behalf of all our staff, we want to thank you for your nice and lovely comments about your recent stay with us, from the rooms being super nice, the pools being awesome, and specially your remarks about our staff. I am satisfied that you enjoyed the service and attention to detail at our mexican fiesta, and also i really appreciatted your recommendations.

Hoping to see you back again with all your family, to enjoy our services,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my and my husband's first time in Cabo San Lucas, and we originally booked this trip as part of a Living Social Deal. We had all-inclusive reservations at the sister resort, the Grand Solmar, but upon arrival on June 2, the management let us know that we were being upgraded to the Playa Grande. They could not have been more helpful and accommodating - the manager himself escorted us to the new hotel and made sure that we received the same all-inclusive rate from the Solmar (the Playa Grande is more expensive for their all-inclusive), as well as making sure that we got the same room rate for the extra night we had booked. We did not pay a penny extra for the upgrade, which was such a nice surprise! Next, we get to our room, a junior suite with a beautiful ocean view. The room was amazing. California king bed, separate sitting area, kitchenette and spacious bathroom. We also had a balcony overlooking the four hotel pools as well as the Pacific. What proceeded to follow were four and 1/2 days of relaxation and rest, while being waited on by an attentive and extremely helpful staff. The Playa Grande offered theme nights, at which the entertainment staff was top-notch. My favorite was the beach party night. My husband and I had so much fun getting to know other guests and sampling the delicious food (and beverages!). It was an easy 10 minute walk to downtown Cabo from the hotel, which made for our one adventure off the resort. Otherwise, we had little interest in venturing off the property, as there was always good food and good drinks, all included! We would definitely make a return trip in the future, and I will always recommend the Playa Grande to my friends! Just note: the time share speeches at the airport are EVERYWHERE, make sure once you get your luggage, you head straight outside. Don't let them stop you!

Room Tip: Spring for the junior suite. The view and balcony alone are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Allie

On behalf of all my staff i am delighted that your experience with us was a pelasant one; and that you have the opportunity to enjoy all our facilities. We are glad that you like the experience since the very beginning, from the room with the ocean view, and also enjoyed our theme nights were or entertainment staff always bring their best.

It is always great to hear that people decide to stay most of their vacation time at our resort without going into downtown. I am again satisfied that you like the quality of our food and drinks, our restaurants, bars, entertainment and activities.

Thank you again for your recommendation, we hope you come back in the future....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We own here at Playa Grande and have loved coming since 2002. The hotel is kept clean and updated! Everyone is friendly and helpful. 11 years later and we still see the same people, which makes us feel at home! We absolutely LOVE the entertainment staff-especially Roberto! He is awesome and really makes the night fun! We especially love Mexican fiesta night! We love that it is located within walking distance to nightlife, restaurants and shopping! Each year we look forward to coming to Cabo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Irhill

On behalf of all our staff, we want to say thank you for your comments. It is a real pleasure to welcome back people that have been staying for years with us. As in any company, it speaks well to see the same faces year after year. I can tell you that all our staff members love what they do. I will share your comments with all of them specially Roberto from the entertainment staff.

We will love to welcome you back for another year, and make you feel at home.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at Playa Grande for the first time this summer and absolutely loved it. The rooms and views are gorgeous and the staff are wonderful.

Miguel and Luis took great care of us by the pool! :) Much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Christy

I want to thank you for staying with us, and i am delighted to read that your first experience with us was a pleasant one. I will share with our staff that you like our rooms, views and everything in general; specially with Miguel and Luis Alberto who did an amazing job for you at the pool.

We hope to welcome you back for a second time to our resort.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I own at Playa Grande, we chose to return every-other year just to enjoy some variety. We purchased in 2005 and are happy to say they continue to update and maintain the resort. This year was the first year we chose to do the all-inclusive meal plan and we are so glad we did. The food was fabulous, the drinks were great and the entertainment was wonderful. The staff is superb. We loved the entertainment staff when we came in 2011 and most of them are still there. However this year we got to know them a better. They are fabulous. Hector is a great dancer and entertainer, Roberto is a funny and wonderful MC, Victor is great at getting people involved. We loved the Fiesta night and Beach night. The Asian night show was good too. The servers and managers at the Calima & the Brigatine were wonderful too. Maurcio bent over backwards to help us. Luis & Victor were wonderful and Victor made an extra effort to remember our first names and greet us each time we ate there. Jonathan (Brigatine) made an extra run to get my husband his beloved shrimp. We felt like we were leaving long time friends when we headed home and we are very much looking forward to returning in 2015. We highly recommend this resort it is very close to town for shopping, and nightlife.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Tammy

On behalf of the staff of our hotel, we thank you for your kind words about our food, drinks and entertainment in general. I am glad you did the meal plan and enjoyed this. It is truth we are updating our resort with new towels, new lounge chairs, and many more things to come. I will share with Roberto, Hector, Victor, Luis, Jonathan, Captain Mauricio and all the servers and managers from our restaurants you comments. I am delighted to hear that they all do an extra efford to serve you.

We hope you change your mind and can be with us before 2015!; we are here for you and we will be happy to assist you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing