We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Grande Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$332
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$564
$431
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$468
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$257
$204
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)
$700
$669
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$389
$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$485
$196
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Solmar Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,112)
Filter reviews
4,112 results
Traveler rating
2,701
969
234
116
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,701
969
234
116
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrigantine restaurantmexican fiestaridge poolentertainment stafftime sharetequila volleyballlobby barfiesta nightthe pacific oceanbusiness centerwalking distance to the marinamedano beachwater aerobicskids clubspanish lessonsmurphy bedtowel cards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,826 - 3,831 of 4,112 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2008

The Beautiful Playa Grande was again the best trip you can ask for. The Flights are easy, transport to the hotel usually convenient (as long as you avoid theCabo San LucasTours transfer and the time-share gauntlet just out the baggage claim door), the weather was perfect, the whales were everywhere just off the beach, the spa was so relaxing and the fishing was phenomenal! Grandma fought a marlin, as did the kids- what a blast. Have caught dinner a number of times! The rooms and view were lovely (on the "ridge"), and the service was exemplary. We went last in 06 with 4 teens and aging grandparents and ALL had a great time! Cabo truly has everything. We previously loved Cozumel but as the kids got older they wanted to try another destination. Also stayed at Finesterra (nice but like PG better).

The ONLY problem ever was the airport transfer from Cabo San Lucas tours. We had flight changes due to a very complcated ticket mishap that found us on a flight to SanJose, California (SJC) instead of San Jose Cabo (SJD) that required a 5 hr change in departure time and despite being told that we could change the pickup time, the transport did not show, two other of their transports came and left, and all that wecould get from the company was call the dispatcher. No help!! Thankfully, it is easy to get a cab which was cheaper than CSLT, but since the fare was prepaid to CSL Tours no refund, just a nasty email response. Dont prepay with these folks! Just take one of the easy to obtain cabs and relax!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank H32desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We stayed at the Playa Grande Resort for 5 days in March 2008. My overall impression was good, however we did encounter a few problems. Upon arrival we were bombarded with hotel employees trying to sell us timeshares. This was our first time to Cabo San Lucas and had never thought or even cared about buying timeshares. They just would not leave us alone.

The hotel has two main resturants and a lounge. Both restaurants are closed between 5-6pm. There is nowhere to eat, besides your room if you are hungry between these hours.

One morning we wanted to have breakfast at the Brigatine because it was chilly and very windy. We when got there we were told that the restaurant was only for individuals receiveng a presentation on timeshares. We had to eat at the outside restaurant. The hotel cares more about selling timeshares to individuals not even staying there then providing services for paying guests.

We also had a few problems with hotel employees simply telling us things that were not true to get us off their back.

The hotel is not very handicap accessible. There are alot of steep hills and a ton of stairs. There is a golf cart available to transport individuals but finding it and an employees to drive it is a bit of a challenge.

The hotel is very beautiful and the ground were impeccable. The rooms are very charming and neatly kept. My first impression wasn't the greatest but I am will to give it another try if I'm ever in Cabo again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank bleevf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Playa Grande is absolutely spectacular. It has to be the most beautiful place I have ever stayed at. Our family has now been there twice, we bought a timeshare there 3 yrs ago. Our timeshare is in the new section of the building up on the Ridge. Our room was right near the pool area for the ridge which is VERY convenient! The wait staff and conceirge were extremely friendly and will help you with whatever you need. We have a 1 bedroom suite with gorgeous balcony views of the marina. There's a new Walmart down there which is HUGE and great for grocery shopping. We bought all our lunch and breakfast stuff for the week and prepared them in our kitchen to save money. They also sell liquor and other alcoholic beverages there so if you like drinking by the pool and don't want to pay $6 a drink you can bring your own! ;) While hanging out at the pool try their steak nacho's... they are incredible! They also have happy hour starting at 2:30 for a few hours.. take advantage of it! They can really whip up some great drinks! Try the miami vice! It's a combo strawberry daiquir and pina colada!

There are basically only 2 downsides to Playa Grande and where we are located with in the resort. #1 is the timeshare sharks. We decided not to waste our time with the owners breakfast where you recieve discounted excursions because we aren't buying more and it takes far too long for the presentation. So we were no shows... and they actually called our room on several ocasions, AND they not only try to run you down inside the main lobby area but this year we also ran into timeshare sharks at the main gate where solmar splits off the driveway and they actually harassed us for a few minutes while we were walking away with them. They don't seem to understand the word no down there. #2 issue... there isn't any access to our tower other than through the main entrance, up 2 floors, across the ridge, up another floor, across the pool area, down a floor and then we can finally get to our rooms. i feel there should be another entrance through the parking lot in the front of the hotel to get straight up to our tower... you do a lot of walking and I am in no way exagerating when saying it takes 15min just to walk up the drive and through the hotel to get to your room, when it could only take a minute of the elevator in that parking lot was available for use. My grandparents would love to come but there is no way they could make the walk to the rooms, it's way too long.

I have seen other reviews of women saying they felt unsafe walking the marina at night and I can't disagree more. This year I was accompanied by my boyfriend but last year it was myself and 2 friends in our mid 20's and the guys down there may whistle at you, tell you they want to marry you... but they in no way made me feel unsafe or anyone else I was with. They were quite funny honestly! The marina is just a short walk down the hill, and the marina has everything from shopping to food to nightlife.

We went snorkeling in Chileno Bay and it was a bit too chilly for us to really enjoy it. Defintely go on the La Princesa Catamaran Cruise it's so beautiful and you can get some really great pictures. Every boat ride we took turned into a whale watch so if you can make it down for the begining of the year you'll definitely see some whales... some where only 15 feet from our little glass bottom boat!

Favorite restaurants would have to be Solomon's Landing, Romeo & Juliet's and Margaritavilla (which is under consturction right now unfortunately)! Favorite Bar is the Nowhere bar... definitely try that place out. If you're looking for a wild time try out Cabo Wabo or the Giggling Marlin!

All in all we can't wait to go back next year! We would move there in a heart beat if we could figure out a way!

Tips... don't get talked into time share stuff if you're truly not interested... you don't save that much off the excursions... sometimes a whole day wasted is just not worth a 50% off sunset cruise!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Landra310s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Stayed in a second floor junior suite. It was fine for the two of us. We were above the restaurant and my only concern (minor) that it was a little noisy early in the morning when they were setting p if we had our sliding door open.

Check in was quick until we had to go to the conciere to get our towel keys and be offered their "welcoming breakfast and tour" -aka timeshare presentation. We relented and went the next morning - my biggest piece of advice: if you want to buy - go for it, if your'e at all hesitant SAY NO AND STAND YOUR GROUND - the salespeople will take advantage of any and everybody if they can.

The resort was wonderful, great location - the best in Cabo for whale watching. Nice grounds & check out the cute little activities girl - she does a great job. If you want a pool without kids, the pool closest to the beach is adults only.

Short walk to town and take your pick of restaurants - they're all good !!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Metersrunnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

We spent a week at The Ridge at Playa Grande. Most difficult thing is finding enough adjectives to describe it. The views, service, accomodation appeal, everything was great. We ranged in age from 70 to 10 yrs old. Everyone loved it. They clearly paid attention to every detail when creating The Ridge. Probably could increase the number of egress points, but come on. After a week if that's my biggest problem....

PG is very close to marina, shopping, eating, drinking sites. Whales and dolphins put on amazing shows each morning without fail. Be prepared for an adventure if you try to climb over the rocks to Lovers Beach! If you're faint of heart, sit by the endless pool under the colonade overlooking the Pacific with a banana smoothie or Corona.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank Bajaboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews