We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Playa Grande where we spend a week for our twentieth anniversary. Could not have loved it better. Staff was great, management was awesome and the ability to chose our room for our event meant more than I can say. I don't know if everyone has that as a gift, but in over twenty nine other resorts we stayed at, this is our favorite. We did not do the meal plan.

Room Tip: Stay at ground level near the ocean and face west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guests from Hot Springs, Arkansas:

Thank you for your nice comments “Wonderful experience” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.

Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,011
    785
    178
    97
    77
See reviews for
1,094
1,168
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just came back from our amazing trip... Dec 16-21. We stayed in room 2153... a one bedroom, 2 bath place in the last building on the beach. Our patio doors faced the beach and we saw amazing sunrises. The rooms are on an angle and don't face the beach directly. If you enjoy sunsets ask for a room that faces a sunset. If you don't like the stairs to the main lobby from the pools there is a pathway along the side of the buildings which makes it an easy walk. We did not opt for the 3 day inclusive meal plan since it was $75 per day per person and for a family of 3 did not make sense for us. We loved visiting and trying out all the different restuarants,

The maid service was fantastic. Our rooms were so clean and well taken care of... Everything felt new.

The walk to the marina is that easy and close to all the stores and restuarants. We found this resort quiet during the day but a bit noisy at night from the fiestas on the beach. We enjoyed our stay and would love to return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alwaystraveling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guests from San Francisco:

We really thank you for your lovely comment “Great vacation”
We are also all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I love Playa Grande! They say welcome home when you arrive and they completely deliver on making you feel that way the whole time!!!! There are plenty of things to do to keep you busy. It is on the private beach so you can enjoy with your family or romantically without being bothered. It is in walking distance to anything you want to do. The service staff is amazing and the spa is a delight!! Home away from home no doubt!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKirraGRandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guests from Houston, Texas :

Thank you for your nice comments and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with our staff.

Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had room 1601 Predsidential 2-bd suite which was more than we expected for our RCI trade. There are so many "bests" to relate. The view with a wide open balcony, staff, concierges e of course the glorious weather. We did do an option 3-day meal plan which was very well worth it, especially if you liike to have snacks and beverages by the pool. The fiesta night was funny with good to above average food, but be there early to get a good seat for the entertainment. The beach party with live music with typical BBQ was very good and welcomed after gorging ourselves only on mexican food for 3 days. The lobster seafood night was also very good. We felt the meal plan really worked for us. We loved this place so much we took the presentation for the grand solmar lands end and bought a 2-bd penthouse for the same time. We cannot wait to come back next year!

Room Tip: As always the higher up you are the better the view. We watched whales swimming by every morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tagax3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear RCI Guests:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “Wonderful Cabo vacation!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant and that you bought a 2-bd penthouse for the same time at Grand Solmar Land´s end.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was a great place. People were wonderful. Staff so delightful that even when you are having bad day they make you feel good.
This place is so easy to get around . You can walk to marina and town very easily. The grand solmar is gorgeous .the spa was great ! Hortensia was fantastic...did signature treatment.
The food at brigantine was good quality and it is right on beach.
The maid service fantastic: that end do dishes.
There is Internet in room but not great if you really have to work.not constant and difficult to download presentations or large files. I would absolutely recommend this place. Go on cabo ray (more expensive but great show & food) sunset cruise but DON't buy any jewerly there- rip off. try for discount on cabo ray in town or on tour.

Room Tip: High floor for sea view or stay at ridge if you are ok with marina view . If you can stay at Grand s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guests from Milford, Massachusetts:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Although we didn't stay at Playa Grande we fished with Solmar's Fleet. Rene Santa Cruz hooked us up with a great boat and a great captain. We caught enough fish to eat the entire two weeks we were there. The prices are very good compared to other fleets in Cabo. Looking forward to our next fishing trip with the Solmar Fishing Fleet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NolaRigsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guests from St. Louis, MO:

Thank you for choosing the Solmar Fleet for your fishing trip!

We are glad that you caught enough fish to eat the entire two weeks you were here.
We are glad to know that our prices are very good compared to other fleets in Cabo.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
I will personally share your comments with Rene Santa Cruz.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent fishing trip!
Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a beautiful resort. At check-in, we asked Hugo to please give us a room with a view of the ocean, and he more than surpassed our expectations. Our room was a beautiful 1 br, 2 ba with a living room, dining area and kitchen. It had a wonderful view. We saw whales from our balcony several times. The staff was so accommodating. Our stay was perfect in every way. We did not want to go home, and that is saying something, because we love being home.

Room Tip: Even though they say every room has a view, some are more challenged than others, so I would double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guests from Boise, Idaho, United States:

Thank you for your nice comments and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with Hugo.

Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 68 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#12 of 68 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#27 of 68 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing