We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasant place for families, with a few nits...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant place for families, with a few nits...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a week long stay at the playa grande (2 adults, kids ages 11,9,7). This is the second year in a row we've stayed here, and getting the room we want also seems to be a little more difficult than expected. Our initial room was nice enough (good view, close to the beach), but on the ground floor. We didn't want the ground floor because we like to keep the doors open at night, and tried to switch to a higher floor. They weren't able to accommodate us until our second day, which is always a drag when you want to fully unpack. However, our new room on the 4th floor of the M building worked out great. Room was clean, well appointed. One bedroom with double couch and pull out twin.

General comments:
• all inclusive never makes sense for us because our kids don't eat enough to justify it. Nor does the breakfast buffet. We hit costco and load up on eggs, bacon, baked goods, fruit, juices, milk and cereal for a week's worth of breakfast for less money than one morning at the buffet (even with 50% off for kids). We also bought things like chips and beer, and some lunch items, although we ordered lunch at the pool most days.
• I've simply come to expect to be nickled and dimed to pay for everything (Internet, gym, etc) .
• we didn't do the dinner fiesta this year, but have before. It's worth doing once. Good entertainment and fun for kids.
• we like going into town for dinner. Better selection, not too far of a walk along the Marina, and more reasonably priced. Enjoyed el pescadorall and hacienda coyote this year.
• lots of fun at los cerritos beach. First time there. At mile marker 65km on way to todos Santos. No signs but exit on the dirt road heading towards the water. Restaurant, surf and boogie boards for rent. Great and safe for kids of all ages.
• pool area is great for kids. Lots of variety for all ages.
• pool staff not speedy, but not as slow as some other reviews have suggested

Overall, reasonable value for what you get. Good location. Good for families.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSA-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guests from Seattle, WA:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments are an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide you with an even better experience at the Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,975
    773
    173
    94
    74
See reviews for
1,058
1,154
48
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Playa Grande at the beginning of November for 6 days. I'm a little OCD when I research the hotels we vacation, and I felt we made a great choice staying at this Resort. The resort was lovely, we found it to be in great condition. We were impressed with our room, exceptional size for the price! At check in we did get the room runaround. They couldn't locate our exact reservation and then tried to move us to The Ridge. I had booked online and specifically paid more for an ocean view,which they couldn't confirm the room type they were offering at the ridge. I was pretty adamant with them that they stick to our original reservation. After a few minutes of discussion and enlisting a manager suddenly a room like we booked was found to be available at Playa.
We were on the fence about choosing all-inclusive, but at the last minute decided to go for it. We were glad we did. All food and drink prices are very comparable to what you would find on vacation in the states. The breakfast buffet was about $32 and same for dinner. All inclusive was $80 per person per day. We found that we had easily spent that amount by mid afternoon by eating breakfast, lunch, and a few drinks at the pool. While all of the rooms have a kitchen, and many people pick up their own food and drink supplies apron arrival, however you cannot take your own food or drinks to the pool. We have been to different resorts throughout Mexico and felt the food was good compared to other experiences.
We did not have one person approach us about timeshares. At check in we refused the "welcome packet" talk and that was as close as we ever got.
One evening as we were walking back to the resort from the marina my husband cut his foot on a rock near the security entrance. It was a surface cut, but was excessively bleeding. Security saw us and immediately took my husband aside to administer first aid. They did an excellent and thorough job, also making a record of it and taking our names and room number. We also saw that they have a small medical clinic on the property which, fortunately, we didn't have to use.
My husband dives and went for 3 of the days we were there. He had a great experience and got some amazing pictures. Surprisingly there were not many people diving despite the excellent conditions.
Over all we had a lovely time. This not our first time to Mexico, but our first time to Cabo. In general we found the demographic of Playa to be around 50+. We are in our late 30's and felt we were in the minority. Cabo is very Americanized. Almost all of the servers spoke English very well. If we do not return to Cabo or Playa it is only because we prefer to have a bit more authentic cultural experience outside of the US. Thank you to the entire Playa Grande staff for providing a great vacation for us!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seatraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guests from Seattle, Washington:

We thank you very much for your comment “Great Time At Playa Grande”
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was the third time I had been to Cabo San Lucas and the first time staying at the Playa Grande. The staff at this hotel were rude and argumentative with my family and I. We had to beg to talk to a manager and when we finally got to speak with him about how we were given misinformation about the cost of a shuttle ride he told my Dad to come back the next day at 7am for a resolution. He met with the manager again the next day and they told him that they still had to do research and made him come back a third time. Finally on the third day we got a call that we had signed something when we had first checked in that we were responsible for the cost and basically "sorry for you". We felt like we had to constantly watch our backs or risk being scammed for money. This hotel obviously doesn't care about repeat business and does not understand anything about service recovery. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TT1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests from Federal Way:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa we thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience. Please accept our apology.

The comments you have made describing the experience you encountered during your stay with us have come to our attention.

We really appreciate the time you are taking to write us with your concern as this will help us improve and we hope you give us an opportunity to demonstrate to you how important your comments are and how seriously we took action.

It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in the near future and a great opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Cabo was very hot and humid in Sept!!!!!! Watch out for the timeshare presentation people, they are everywhere. The resort is beautiful with beautiful views. I enjoyed hearing the surf from the ocean and having coffee in the morning on the balcony. Our unit was well maintained and had everything that we needed. We cooked a few times and the kitchen was complete except for a dishwasher, but the maids did the dishes when they cleaned up the unit each day. The food at the resort was not that good. We enjoyed eating fresh seafood at the marina, which is a short walk away. Location of this resort is great, very close to the marina and town. All of the services were very good. Would go back again!!!!! But in the winter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mldelrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guests from Los Angeles, California:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
we took note of your comments concerning the quality of the food that we will definitely improve in each and everyone of our outlets.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards from Cabo San Lucas,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I've never done water aerobics in my life but while on vacation, it's always nice to switch up my work out routine. The water aerobics is a blast and a good work out! 11:30 is a perfect time based on Tequila consumption. Love the instructor, Ro - fun, funny and cute! Pool could be a bit cooler, but other than that - a very pleasant experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guests from Newport Beach, California, United States:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed very much our water aerobics which for you has been a blast and a good work out!
Your comments are an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide you with an even better experience at the Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Being a trip advisor top contributor I take pride on providing fair and accurate reviews. Playa Grande has not treated us fairly and we feel very deflated by thier lies. The resort itself is very lovely however our judgement it tainted with how we were treated by the front desk. We are RCI platnium members and recieved an email from the resort confirming our reservation and stating we had been upgraded to a penthouse suite last week. We were thrilled!! However upon arrival this last Saturday the front desk told us our reservation was not valid and that we would have to stay at their lesser property the Ridge and would have to then move to another room the following day. We showed them our email confirmation from erick diaz whom we had also spoken with last week and it did us no good. We asked to speak to the manager but were told no manager was available. How does this happen? The next day we spoke to someone else and again was told the same thing and still no manager available to speak to. This 2nd person was able to get us jr suite at playa grande with beautiful palm trees blocking our view of anything. So here we are wondering why they are so heartless to send an email getting our hopes up only to set us up for dissapointment. We will make the most of our hard earned vacation but wiil not recommend this resort to any of our friends and family. - side note it is true what they say about the dogs barking on the ridge side.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moonbaby728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests from Vacaville:

The comments you have made describing the experience you have encountered during your stay at Playa Grande Resort and Grand Spa, came to my attention. Please accept my apologies.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, we need to know when problems occur so the appropriate action can be taken.

Concerning your comments with your reservation. As far as I know you have been given a Penthouse at the Ridge which is an excellent property overlooking the Pacific and the Mar de Cortes, then you ask to be moved to Playa Grande and a Master Suite was given to you. we do not guarantee the ocean view due to the very high occupancy we have at that time. However I held a meeting with our Front Desk Staff involved in this situation and measures have been taken to avoid this situation happen again in the future.

We value your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate that your past experience with Playa Grande is not characteristic of our performance, but an unpleasant exception.

As an attempt to regain your trust, we would like to ask you to please visit us again in the near future and allow us the opportunity to pamper you as intended.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I will admit that we are owners at Playa Grande, but it is nice to be reassured that we made a great decision when we purchased there. The property is well maintained and the staff is wonderful. We were particularly impressed with Aleida and Alejandra in the Lobby Bar - they were so sweet and accommodating that we would have liked to take them home. The timeshare sales staff can be pushy, but that is true everywhere you go in Cabo. You just have to let them know if you are not interested, and they will leave you alone. If you don't enjoy your stay at Playa Grande, then you must be pretty hard to please!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Owners from Lynden, Washington:

It is always a great pleasure for us to receive comments like yours “We love Playa Grande!”
We are glad to know that as owners you had and still have a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
We will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,253 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#12 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#26 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing