We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Services need improvement and better coordination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort the last week of October. We went as guests of my sister and brother-in-law who are timeshare owners at the Grand Solmar. They also invited their friends. The resort itself is beautiful but the services need to be improved and better coordinated.

1. Arrival
We were not told that we could not check in until 4pm. We arrived around noon and were starving, so I tried to get a hold of my sister so we can go get lunch. The lady at the concierge helped me dial her room number but she was not there so I wanted to sms her, but we found out there is no free wifi. The concierge did not say anything about how to get wifi even if we had to pay for it. --> Needs training on how to direct guests to the internet center to purchase wifi.
2. Food
This entire resort is not friendly for vegetarians. The lobby restaurant did not have anything substantial to offer vegetarians. When we asked a different lady at the concierge, she said we could eat some salad there. We asked about veggie friendly restaurants outside the resort, and she said there are none. We ended up going down to the Brigantine and ordering burritos which seemed to be stuffed with frozen veggies. They could put in some beans, which we would have been happy with. We went to Brigantine for breakfast and wish they have more vegetarian options. --> In this health conscious age, there is no excuse not to have vegetarian options in the menus at all the restaurants; if not possible, at least have a list of veggie friendly restaurants outside the resort. Solomon's (by Wyndham hotel) has a great veggie burger option.
3. Room
The rooms were nice and clean, and we were charged the special timeshare sales package price, so we did the 3 nights plus 1 night discounted rate. When we checked in, they told us our reservation was only for 3 nights even though we had the paperwork to show that we reserved for 4 nights. We later got the reservation for 4 nights, however, we were not told that we had to switch rooms on the last night until we got back the 3rd day, and our door entry card did not work. It would have been nice if they had given us some warning; better yet, why couldn't we they have put us in a room that was available the entire 4 days?
4. Internet
Wifi was intermittent and we could only get it for the 3 days/nights because that's when they thought our reservation ended. We had to go back to get another day/night and they gave us a password that did not work so we had to go back!
5. Transportation
We arranged for transportation from and to the airport. Getting from the airport was not a problem, but they could not find our reservation back to the airport. We ended up making another reservation without the special price they promised us. The shuttles between resort hotels were decent though.
6. Timeshare sales pitch
The sales pitch itself was ok (we did not buy a timeshare, especially after all our arrival hassles). We were then told to go get our free "gifts". These were supposed to be discounts for activities we would like to do. The lady who sat us down offered us the discounts and we did not fully understand it but it sounded like it included another sales pitch at another resort. She even said she'll pick us up in her private car (hmmm...). We said we weren't sure if we wanted to do all the activities she offered, and wanted to go check with our family/friends. We put down a deposit anyway and said we'll come back. When we came back, we asked for clarification about the activities and decided we were not going to have time to do all the activities she offered. She was quite insistent that we had to do the other presentation even if we chose to do one activity. This whole free "gift" session was costing us more time than we wanted so we told her we don't have time and walked away. Our deposit was not returned and we did not receive any free "gifts" or discounts. We ended up paying full price for the activities we did.

Overall, the resort is nice and we got to do some fun stuff outside the resort, such as going to the Arch, Lovers and Medano beaches, local shops and restaurants, dolphin swim, etc. But we felt like we wasted a lot of time dealing with the resort issues such as reservation, internet service, free "gifts" session, moving to a different room, going back and forth, finding food that we can eat inside the resort, communicating with the staff, etc. We hope to return to the Cabo area someday to do other activities that we did not find time to do (such as go to La Paz or bird/whale watching, etc.), but our money will be better spent somewhere else. My sister and brother-in-law have been disappointed with the resort the last couple of years and may sell their timeshare as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khim911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guests from Owings Mills, Maryland:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa we thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience.

The comments you have made describing the experience you encountered during your stay with us have come to our attention.

We really appreciate the time you are taking to write us with your concern as this will help us improve and we hope you give us an opportunity to demonstrate to you how important your comments are and how seriously we took action.

It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in the near future and a great opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,974 - 2,980 of 3,898 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is wonderful seeing whales swim by when you are sitting on your balcony! Sunsets! Walk to town! Rooms are clean! Friendly staff! Love it!!! Breakfast was great sitting outside by the pool! We rented a car and drove to Toto Santos and visted Hotel Califorina where the Eagles stayed and palyed. Going back in Feb 2013!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watergirlMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guests:
You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “Whales swimming right outside your room!!!”
We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This review might accidentally get posted twice... it seemed to post it under a different profile

We stayed at the resort at the beginning of October. We got Lucky and just wedged our vacation in between a couple of storms. It was overcast the night we arrived, beautiful for the whole stay, and then a few days after we left, Paul hit. Rain is really not very common in Cabo and when we were driving to/from the airport our driver commented on how green everything was and it was almost never like this.

BEACH
The resort was very nice. We brought my dad and his wife down to vacation with my wife, my 5 year old son, and myself. This resort is close to Land's End on the Pacific side so the beach is not for swimming. The sand is very nice though. The waves were a little big as well due to the storm activity, but we still had fun standing on the beach and letting the waves wash over the bottoms of our legs. Have to watch out for the occasional big wave though. There are many pools around the hotel. There is a pool with a water slide but you need to get one of the bellboys to take you up there with your room key. Also there is a minigolf area with 9 holes. It's not your typical "shoot the ball through all sorts of interesting props" sort of minigolf. It is designed as a technical putting range an is designed to be quite challenging. My five year old loved it. It is included IF you do the all inclusive, but it's $5 per child and $9 per adult if you are not all inclusive. That cost is for the whole day. If you do go down to the minigolf, watch for the chipmunks and lizards on the rock faces down there.

ROOMS
The rooms were very nice. We got oceanfron rooms, looking right down at the beach. The TVs in the rooms were a little old, but my wife and I didn't watch any TV anyway. My 5 year old watched spanish cartoons as he ate breakfast. It was actually a very motivating way for him to be introduced to the spanish lanquange. He actually knew about 5 or 6 phrases by the time we left.
We had a problem with our refridgerator when we arrived in that it was beaten up on the side and the leg was off on the front left side so the fridge wobbled like it was going to fall over. We called the front desk and then had people up to the room within about 20 minutes with another fridge. It was in better condition but unfortunately they just happened to break the same leg on the fridge on the way up to the room. We managed to MacGyver back in place and it stayed until our last day/night at the resort, when we just wedged a phone book under it.
The kitchen is pretty well stocked. For pots and pans we had a complete set of T-Fal that looked as if it were almost new. 3 or 4 pots and 2 or 3 pans. Much better than some places we have been. You'll always find something that you would like to have missing. We would have liked to see a couple more serving bowls.

STAFF
We found the staff to be very nice. Especially our bell-hop (not sure if that's the title they use) Daniel. Everyone was very pleasant with the exception of one manager who was not really interested in helping us out when we had an issue with something. But most of the staff was wonderful. We would come home in the evening and the housekeeper would have set up my son's toys like they were playing with each other. He thought it was fantastic and couldn't wait to see what his toys were doing every night when we came home.

INTERNET
The Wireless internet was okay. About 3 days into our stay they did a large number of router changes and we had nothing but connectivity issues after that. My major problem with the internet is that they charge $40 for the week. Internet access is becomming commonplace now and charging for it is becomming a thing of the past. In their defence, after they discovered how much problems we were having connecting and, after a little proding from my wife, they gave the internet to us for free for the week.

TIMESHARE PRESENTATION
They have the timeshare presentations here, like they do everywhere. It's actually for a neighbouring property. We typically go to the presentations to get the free stuff. And while there really was no pressure, be aware that this will NOT be the 90 minute excercise that they tell you about. We were there for about 3.5 hours, including the breakfast. The resort we viewed was nice, but we just were not buying. We actually already have a points timeshare and that's how we got to this resort in the first place. What takes the time here is that every time you think you are moving on to the next person and on your way out, you are actually getting another sales presentation. We had to listen to 4 separate sales pitches, each for a smaller timeshare presentation. It wasn't the end of the world, but we really began thinking, "when are we ever going to get out of here?" As we went as 2 separate couples who went through the presentation together, we got two sets of "rewards", so my father and I went fishing (caught 2 Durado and a 120 lb striped Marlin) and my wife and my dad's wife got a discount on an hour long massage on the beach. Bottom line, we think the time was worth it for about $225 worth of incentives plus a big buffet breakfast. But be aware, it is NOT 90 minutes.

GETTING FOOD
We did not do the "all inclusive" option. There were 5 of us, 4 adults and a child. It would have worked out at $337.50 for all of us to do the all inclusive every day. To save over $2000 we thought we would do our own food. We only ate at the resort a few times. The restaurant food was fine, and we actually found the sushi platter by the pool to be pretty good. We actually went to the Mexican Fiesta and the Beach BBQ. At $35 it was a little pricey, but the food was good, and we had fun. For the rest of the week we bought food from WALMART. Okay prices, but not as good as you might hope. Prices in Mexico are not that different from prices in Canada. But, WALMART is probably the best place to get your cheapest supplies. GET YOUR TEQUILA FROM WALMART. I got Don Julio Anejo for... I think it was about $420 Pesos. Ballpark $34 CDN. It was $120 Peso MORE at the duty free at the airport. A cab from the hotel to Walmart is about $12 one way.

OTHER STUFF
Put yourself on the "turtle watch" at the front desk. If it is the time of year for turtle hatchings (September-October I think) then the front desk will contact your room when the eggs hatch and they are having a release. You are then able to help release baby turtles into the ocean. It was a wonderful experience for my 5 year old (and for the grown ups as well).
Oh, as a tip - if you are buying alcohol to bring home, do not sample it before you leave. I have never done this, if only because I want to save it until I get home. But aparently you are not allowed to have bottles of alcohol in your checked luggage if the seal has been broken on the bottle. One of our party did this and lost their tequilla at the airport. A little ironic because they let us go through security with two half empty bottles of water and a bottle of juice.

BRINGING FISH HOME TO CANADA
We had our fish filleted at the dock. The marlin we had smoked and vacuum packed. The durado we brought back to the room and ate if for dinner two nights. The rest we put into zip-lock bags and froze. We bought a cooler from WALMART and they are not cheap there. If you plan on going fishing and can spare the luggage cound, I would recommend bringing one down. Anyway, we got a bag of ice from the front desk - they brought a massive bag, as big as you would buy at a grocery store, maybe bigger. We put all the frozen fish int he cooler with the ice. Do not tape it up too well before you get to the airport as they will want to open it. Have some tape with you so that after it is inspected at the airport, you can seal it up properly. We got it back and declared on our entry cards that we were bringing meat into the country. We were told by the customs that fish is not an issue. It was right to declare it, but bringing fish back is not a problem.

Room Tip: The rooms near the Marina are newer and have newer appliances/TVs, etc. The rooms near the water ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MySuzLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Guests from New Westminster, BC:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and we also appreciate your commnent “Excellent, relaxing stay in Cabo San Lucas”.

It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great vacation. We loved the location of this resort. It was very close to the marina where you could do some shopping and find good places to eat. You could also walk to the downtown district. Many more places to eat. Not that the resort does not have good food because it does. It just was nice to have variety to pick from. Staff was friendly and fun. Rooms were clean and well decorated. I loved the fact that we had a 1 bedroom and 2 complete baths. They also had adult only pools that were a nice quiet spot if you want to get away from all the pool games etc. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great trip

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowafriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guests from Iowa:
You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “Great vacation spot”
We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Please do not play any pool games while visiting this resort! There are signs all over the place telling you not to dive or jump into the pool, but when you are playing pool games the staff has you "belly flop" into the pool as a punishment.

Our guest at the resort was pushed by the staff member Hector (because he was distracted and did not belly flop quick enough...for fun) into the pool and he hit his head on the bottom of the pool which required a overnight Mexican hospital stay, 2500.00 payment and drastic change of our week stay. Our friend was not intoxicated, just unlucky.

Since I am a Dr. My big concern was that this practice was stopped due to the danger of injury. I saw the next day that they were still doing "belly flop" in the pool area. I approached the manager of the pool activities center and he (Freddy?) assured me that he would have a manager get in contact with me. Nobody ever contacted me and nobody ever got ahold of our guests to see if he was OK. He had to go by special transportation to the local hospital with the hotel MD. This event happened on the Monday of a Saturday to Saturday stay.

This resort has won some awards for positive trip advisor vacation reviews. It certianly was a very poor performer when it came to an injury (perpetrated by their own games) to one of their guests.

The response of the management was not of investigation and follow through, but disregarded and avoidance.

The food was good and our room was very nice, but We will not return to this resort.

Room Tip: If you have pillows issues, bring your own, because the hotel charges you 15.00 a week to "rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamSTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guests from Port Orchard, Washington:

The comments you have made describing the experience you have encountered during your stay at Playa Grande Resort and Grand Spa, came to my attention. Please accept my apologies.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, we need to know when problems occur so the appropriate action can be taken.

Concerning your comments with pool games I held a meeting with activities staff involved in this situation and measures have been taken to avoid this situation happen again in the future.

We value your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate that your past experience with Playa Grande is not characteristic of our performance, but an unpleasant exception.

As an attempt to regain your trust, we would like to ask you to please visit us again in the near future and allow us the opportunity to pamper you as intended.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently visited Cabo and stayed at Playa Grande resort. Absolutely loved it. accommodations were beautiful,spacious and very clean. The staff was friendly but never intrusive. The spa is very nice and is run in a professional manner. I had a wonderful massage from Hortensia. The food at the restaurants was good not great. the beach is quiet, beautiful and definitely not safe for swimming but wonderful to walk along. We will recommend this resort and hopefully return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guests:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of getting married with the kind assistance and super helpful services of Rosaura Carrillo to guide us through the process of procuring the proper paperwork in hopes of having a beachside Mexican civil ceremony. She was an absolute delight and made the process very easy while we were still at home. Once at the Playa Grande, she met with us and was so lovely and kind. We had a fantastic suite in the Ridge portion of the Playa (muy) Grande Resort and fell in love with the Ridge pool and bar area.
Our ceremony was a breeze and surpassed our expectations in every way! Rosaura also provided me with the most beautiful roses to use for our ceremony and allowed me to plan a bit outside of the box, which I greatly appreciated for such a large property. Again, for such an expansive resort property, we were afforded a truly lovely and rather intimate beach wedding looking out on the Pacific Ocean at Sunset!
I recommend anyone get married there! porque no?
Muchisimas Gracias to Rosaura and the staff who assisted us!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guests from Santa Barbara:

We are very glad to know that you had a great time with us and we also thank you very much for your lovely comment “Rosaura is a Rock Star!” concerning your wedding experience at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with Rosaura and all our staff involved in your wedding event.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.1 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
4.5 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
0.2 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $174 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing