We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cabo spring break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cabo spring break”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I took my four kids for spring break. Ages, 20, 20, 17, and 14. The kids were thanking me before we got out of our shuttle bus. The hotel, the grounds, the pools, the service, the food, the beach, the location was perfect. We made friends with the staff that we saw every day. At the Brigantine restaurant where we ate every morning overlooking the ocean, Alejandro Castillo and his co-workers, Francisco,yoni, and Cirilo made sure we had everything we needed and made our meals/trip that much more enjoyable ! Hats off to the staff ! I'm planning a return trip this June.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the groung floor since its easy access to the pool/beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Guests from Santa Rosa, California:

We are glad to know that you had a great time with your four kids for spring break at Playa Grande!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with Alejandro Castillo and his co-workers, Francisco,yoni, and Cirilo.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,383
    883
    201
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,273
1,377
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have visited Playa Grande Resort for 13 years and are timeshare owners. It always has been, and continues to be a wonderful place to visit and relax. We consider the resort and staff our second home and family. Everyone works hard to ensure a problem free vacation, if by chance there is a problem, they work diligently to solve it. Our luggage was lost by the airlines this past trip and Aldo in the Concierge office was the only one to find it. The airlines had no idea. When I remarked I had no sunscreen, Cera brought me some from her home the next day. The waiters remember us, Armando by the pool, Alex at the Brigantine and Arturo in Calima go out of their way to be friendly and attentive. The pool staff that provide entertainment work equally as hard. Rodrigo, Roberto, Hector, Miriam, Mayrobi, and Christina work so hard and are very enthusiastic as they provide exercise, activities and fun throughout the day. Playa Grande would not be the fabulous place that it is without their wonderful staff.

Room Tip: They are all great. However, I prefer second floor for a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHS13200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Guests from Anchorage, Alaska :

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay!

We all very appreciate your comment “The wonderful Playa Grande”

As you say We consider the resort and staff our second home and family" and we are all very proud that Playa Grande is your home away from home!

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff like Aldo the Concierge, Armando by the pool Alex at the Brigantine,Arturo at Calima and our pool staff that provide entertainment such as Rodrigo, Roberto, Hector, Miriam, Mayrobi, and Christina.

If there are any other ways to serve you even better in the near future please let us know it will be a pleasure to help you.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best and warm regards from Playa Grande!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is the best place in Cabo. The views are splended. You are on the Pacific Ocean and walk through the complex and you are at the Marina where you walk into town. No taxi fares, plus a flavor of town that you only get by walking.
Chuy and Jesus are the best!

Room Tip: The Ridge is great for view, quiet and beautiful infinity pools, however the rooms face the marina a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Guests from Michigan:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and we thank you very much for your comment “Best hotel In Cabo”
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
I will personally share you comment with Chuy and Jesus.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We just got married at Playa Grande and it was an amazing experience! Their wedding coordinators are top notch and very detail-oriented. Playa Grande is right on the beach and there's nothing like getting married with a beautfiul view of the ocean.

They have great menu options for a reception dinner and worked with us on every request. Their rooms also have full kitchens, whcih made it an ideal choice for our guests who wanted to stay in their rooms and cook.

Playa Grande is truly one of the best locations for a destination wedding in Cabo San Lucas!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guests from Atlanta, Georgia, United States :

You really make us very happy with lovely comment “Great place for a wedding in Cabo San Lucas!”
We are so glad to know that your wedding at Playa Grande was an amazing experience!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff and especially with Rosaura our wedding coordinator.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I decided to write a review because we often use trip advisor to screen properties prior to booking. I was somewhat worried as there had been several less than complimentary reviews posted in the last 6 months. We booked through intrawest extraordinary escapes and got a 1 and 2 bedroom suite and headed to Cabo without knowing what to expect. The resort is beautiful, and much to our surprise, all rooms had a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean. The rooms were fully equipped (minus an oven) with full size refrigerators and were very clean and comfortable. We had no problems with noise and we were delighted to view the theme night entertainers from our balcony. The meal plans are exceptional. The location is the best it could be ... easy walking distance to the marina, lovers and divorce beach, shopping and dining. We have visited different parts of Mexico at least 5 times and this is the first time I have never been sick :) The Mexican people here, without exception, were happy, friendly and hardworking. The scenery is amazing. The timeshare salespeople are everywhere as everyone has mentioned, but despite their persistance, they will let you go. Speaking of that, it is worth a few hours of your time to sit through the presentation at the sister hotel, the Grande Solmar. It is spectacular, although pricier than our intrawest time share BUT you are rewarded handsomely for your time. We had Corey and she was very knowledgeable, friendly and professional and as promised, we did get our activity vouchers. There were NO catches. THe service at the Playa Grande was bar-none, the best we've had anywhere in the world. We also booked the private transportation service. For 4 people, it was 20$ more than the bus and I would highly recommend choosing this option as we didn't have to wait for anyone on either end or make multiple stops.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whalesongVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guests from Vancouver :

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time!

For the whole team It was truly our pleasure to serve you.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from Playa Grande and Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This March we were lucky enough to take our second trip to Cabo San Lucas and stay at Playa Grande for the second time. The other favorable reviews are right - it's a great location, very beautiful resort and amazing views of the Pacific and Lands End (if you're on the beach). We find our room (2205 - bldg L) to be lovely... tastefully decorated, spacious, clean and with a great view. Our only complaint about the room is the uncomfortable sofa. We know it is mean tot be a pull out, but when it's not pulled out, it is so awkward (deep) to sit on and uncomfortable!

Besides that minor complaint, there are a few other things that potential guests should be aware of, and that PG could improve on:

1. The timeshare pressure is ridiculous - and it starts as soon as you check in. The little system to go see the "hostess ladies" and get the "welcome package" of your pool towel cards and drink tickets is brilliant. But when guests arrive, that's the last thing they want to deal with. They want to get to the room and relax. Even if you can get away without scheduling something with these women to have the breakfast and see the presentation, every time you come and go from the lobby between 8:00 am and 10:00 am you are BADGERED about where you're going and who you are going to see. As a paying customer, who is on vacation, this is none of your business. Unfortunately there is no way out besides the main lobby. I don't like being rude but they force me to be.
2. Pricing of food and beverages (including in the onsite market/deli). Prices seemed to increase quite a bit over 2011. If you lowered them a little or kept them in line, you'd do a lot better. Tip for future guests: spend the $25 - $30 Taxi Ride (roundtrip) to buy some groceries/beverages at Walmart. It is worth it.
3. Internet. While the resort does have WiFi and a nice business center, be prepared to pay per 15 minute increment for WiFi access. PG, it's 2012 and I would think you could include this without hurting your bottom line too much. There are many other places in Cabo and all over Mexico that offer free WiFi. While I"m at it, you could also make the fitness center a free feature, too.
4. Clean the pools and hot tub. This year, I couldn't believe how much sand/soot/floating debris I saw in both the adult pool and hot tub. If you're going to kick us out at 9 pm, do it for a good reason and make sure they are vaccuumed and/or treated regularly.
5. Create a place outdoors for people to hang out and drink at night on site. There were some nights that we were too tired after spending all day (drinking) in the sun that we didn't want to head out to downtown or the Marina. But, if you had a bar onsite that was outside, we would have come down for sure (and spent money).

Keep up the good work with the theme nights. We've been to the Mexican Fiesta twice (the food is okay, but the show is totally worth it... great job entertainment staff) and the Beach Party. Haven't tried the Carnival or the Asian night but likely would if we came back.

Kudos also to the Bell Boys and Conceirge staff. They do an excellent job and are always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try the Ridge if you can get it. It's more private and has amazing views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Guests Greenfield, Wisconsin, United States:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your point of view is an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have your visit once again, and allow us to provide you an even better experience at the Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We loved our week at the Playa Grande. It has it's own private beach, so nice to go for a morning walk on. The pools were great!! The hotel had something special going on everynight, for those that didn't want to venture out for the evening. The hotel is within walking distance from the Marina, flee market, shops and water taxis. We had a one bedrrom, which was very nice and roomy. I loved having two bathrooms!! The room was very clean and had beautiful furnishings!!! We had a balcany off of our bedroom and livingroom, which we could
sit on and watch the whales jump in the ocean. Our check-in was fast and when we stopped to get our towel cards, they tried to talk us into the timeshare breakfast, but we said no and that was it. I thought they would call us everyday about it, but never heard anymore about it. We had a great time and can't wait to return. Bring a jacket, because the evenings are cool!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakotaGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Guests from Dakota:

You really make us very happy with lovely comment “A great week on the beach.”
We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best for this coming spring season.
We all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,160 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing