We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed at Playa Grande for 8 nights in April. It was a great experience.
The resort has a great location. You can walk to the marina/shopping/dining to
experience Cabo or just spend your time at the beach or the pools. The resort
staff is very friendly and answered any questions/concerns that we had during our
stay. Our room was on the ground floor. We enjoyed that and it was very convenient,
too. The hotel grounds and our room were meticulously clean. We bought food and drinks at Costco and the kitchen had everything that we needed.

If you want beautiful views, a walk on the beach, or travel into Cabo for nightlife this is the place for you. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddGArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,255
    855
    196
    106
    80
See reviews for
1,223
1,305
60
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orangeburg, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Cabo has everything. If you want to party you can party, if you want to relax you can relax, if you want to go to some amazing restaurants you can do that......etc....etc....etc.

This is my second time staying at the Playa Grande and both times have been amazing. We were lucky enough to stay in room 2551 which is a 4 bedroom suite. The suite was absolutely amazing. Words cannot even describe how nice it was.

Great location and quick walk or taxi ride to dowtown Cabo. Go to the Mango Deck during the day for a crazy spring break like atmosphere. The Office is great for dinner at night. El Squid Roe is another crazy club but lots of fun. I just love it here, I will be coming back at least once a year. Trying to book something for November hopefully.

Need to also shout out my buddy Armando by the pool. Great service and always made sure we got what we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve81279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

We loved the Playa Grande. We booked a 1 bedroom using an RCI "Extra Getaway." It was beautifully manicured and well taken care of resort. We began upon arrival to our room with a pack and play and high chair waiting upon our arrival...for free! What service, totally impressed after setting this up ahead with a few e-mails. Our housekeepers were wonderful and they did the dishes everyday, which helped our vacation be a little more relaxed. One of our kids slept on the couch and it was not a typical hideaway bed, as it folded over very easily and was very comfortable for her. Kitchen was well-stocked with a large refrigerator, however the sink was tiny, but with housekeeping doing most of the dishes, I can't complain.

The pools were prestine and there was never a fight for a chair at the pool. We had a beautiful view of both the pools and the ocean. The pools had child areas and were great for our 1 year old and 3 year old.

The ocean was awesome and we felt like we were the only ones out there. No swimming, but wonderful none the less.

We did attend a time share presentation to check out the new resort a few down and it was stunning, and we were a little curious. No high pressure from the ladies up front and we got a food and beverage discount for our time. It was nice to check out a potential future resort. The time share sales guy did mention it won't be available via RCI, however, we booked the Playa Grande through RCI, something else he said is not available.

Overall great trip. Excellent location, 5 minute walk to the marina, no rental car needed for us. Booked Cieledo Lindo for our transfers and it was seemless with a stop at Wal-mart.

We loved the Cabo area, great resort for families!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonTravelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Just wanted to say that this resort has it all.We were there for 1 week and had a blast, the waiter staff by the pool was excellant... esp. JULIO....The resort grounds are kept up daily like no other i've seen.The entertainment staff kept everybody busy as well, if you wanted to be involved and if not just sit back and enjoy the festivities. tThe location to the MARINA was ideal for a short walk and the places to eat were unlimited(decent prices )Would definately go back to PLAYA GRANDE........

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdr0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We were here for a day in April - we actually had a day pass at this resort so we spent the whole day here.

Pros - the resort is really picture perfect. Whatever you picture paradise to be - this is it. They have hammocks on the beach ( which is beautiful ) and beds on the beach ( for spa use only but if it is early in the am no one bothered us ) There are 3 pools - an adult pool, family pool and kids pool. There was plenty of space and the kids really enjoyed the pool.

We were there on Easter day and they did an Easter egg hunt on the golf course for the kids which was fun. I liked that they have kids activities for them. They have a mini golf course on site. I had to walk through the fitness center to get there. The fitness center was a bit on the small side for a resort of that size but I suppose it is manageable.

Cons - I got to the gift shop, got a whole lot of things we wanted to buy and they dont' take AMEX. This is a HUGE, presumably million dollars + resort and they dont' take AMEX?? I found that inconvenient.

Also the water was $4 a bottle ( USD ) which is high. The one concierge member I asked for directions back to the marina ( which is a literal 5 minute walk from their resort and there is no way he didn't know how to get there ) and he brushed me off and told me to go see another concierge member. ? Not helpful.

Also we purchased the use of the resort for the day. We were supposed to get wifi included. I asked 3 different staff members the username and password, all told me that they would find out and "find me" back at the pool and no one came back. we were int he same place all day so we were not hard to find.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Playa Grande Resort for our 7th wedding anniversary and were thoroughly impressed. We have traveled each year for our anniversary and this is our first year we have gone to Cabo. Playa Grande is a wonderful resort situated right next to the marina on the Pacific Ocean side of town. At this resort, you can stay entertained all day lounging by the pools, walking on the private beach or engaging in the activities planned each day at the resort. At night, and one of the nice things about this resort, is that you can literally walk to the marina and downtown Cabo in about 5-10 minutes from the resort saving money you might normally spend on a taxi. The only thing that separates the marina and the Pacific Ocean is your resort! We enjoyed the resort from the moment we checked in as the staff is very accommodating, kind and courteous. We were asked if we would like to attend a presentation, but when we declined, we were treated with respect and never asked again. The food is very good and the room service is quick and accommodating as well. We paid for the all inclusive package which is new to this resort and were not disappointed with the free flowing top shelf alcohol and all you could eat gourmet food. The room we stayed in overlooked the ocean and great place to take in the sunset each night if you didn't want to or couldn't walk on the beach. The ocean itself has an undertow and the resort asks that guests not swim in the water, but some people were swimming in the ocean and it appeared as if they were having a blast. We stayed in a one bedroom suit which was nicely appointed and very clean. My wife and I are very picky and we not disappointed with this resort at all. They have 4 pools with each set at a different temperature depending how you like the water and a pool sized whirlpool heated to about 100 degrees for relaxing. The staff at the pool are very accommodating and made several passes to check on you every hour ( we never went without anything). On the second day they pool bar ran out of Crown Royal, but made a special trip to replenish this when asked to do so. They kept a bottle behind the bar for me and kept it off the display shelf. Those double Crown and Diet Cokes can really get to you if you let them. We have been to other Mexican resort destinations over the last 8 years and after this trip to Cabo we will definitely be back. We have already booked another trip to Cabo for 2011, but because we are time share owners with RCI at other resorts, we need to stay at a different resort during our next trip as Playa Grande has a 1 in 3,4 year rule if you are not an owner at their resort. The town is very clean, the marina has a lot for a person to experience and the people are very friendly. Cabo has anything and everything you may want to experience, but there are only 24 hours in a day, so pace yourself. We highly recommend this resort. Thank you Playa Grande!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We purchased at this resort years ago. We go to Cabo at least two or three times a year. I would encourage those reading negative reviews of this resort to take the reviews with a grain of salt. Our experience with Playa Grande has been stellar. The staff is friendly and eager to please and pamper you for your stay. Several members of the staff remember us from previous stays and call us by name on first seeing us as we arrive! The grounds are always meticulous, as are the rooms. The location is on the beach, but is not swimmable (my only ding) due to severe surf. It's a leisurly 10 minute walk to town and there was NEVER, nor has there EVER been any time share pressure. It's probably one of the best five resorts in Cabo. We have referred friends here, and they have loved it. We will keep referring Playa Grande to friends and will continue to go as many times a year as we can, for as many years as we can. Don't forget the spa; it's as good as they come!!

Room Tip: Ocean front by far are superior if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabobeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Property: Playa Grande Resort
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing