We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this resort, have been before and will go again many times!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We have stayed at PBSB in the past as it was being developed, and have enjoyed each trip there as much as our first time. This was the first time that we brought our grandchildren, and they simply adored the whole week that they stayed with us. From the "fancy" rooms to the large patio to the hot tub on the patio - and then all of the pools! Life is good at this setting. They loved the golf carts and the drivers who made each trip exciting for them. Grocery shopped for the two weeks at Wal-Mart which made things easier for the kids. Ate out at many of the restaurants where they seem able to serve large families and know when to expedite service to get antsy children on to the next fun activity. The spa is lovely, the isolation from the busy town is great. Took a few boat trips that were arranged by the concierge. Had a great time. I have always felt safe and secure in this setting. The units are and feel safe. We had a two bedroom unit that slept 8, and we were all comfortable. All of my friends know that this is a place to truly relax and get away....unless you really want to go to town, and that is easy too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank COtravelers2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,598 - 8,604 of 9,917 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

We had a great vacation at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. Hotel has a nice and well-appointed lobby. Wonderful sweeping views of the Pacific, numerous pools at different levels of the resort (resort sits on a slope overlooking the Pacific), several restaurant selections for dining, activities for children. The rooms are nice - we were lucky to have been given a suite. The resort has its own transportation system so there is no need to worry about getting from one building or area to the next. The resort has a great spa as well and a beautiful chapel by the main building. My husband and I had a couple's massage treatment which was quite relaxing. Negatives: the "timeshare selling" experience (and this is not just for this hotel - its all over Los Cabos in fact as soon as you deplane), Pacific Ocean is not swimmable - you will have to go to their sister hotel (they have about 3 or 4 in the area) located on the Gulf (hotel has free transfers). Husband and I took a trip out to Todos Santos - when you go, you must eat at the restaurant right across from Hotel California - best food and margaritas!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joanne112564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

My husband and I just returned from 4 days at Pueblo Bonito Sunset. The accomodations were free from booking a cruise. We were very impressed with the room, the service and the amenities. We knew some things from reading other reviews. We knew we couldn't use the beach and knew about a shuttle to sister properties. We knew there was a timeshare element. The timeshare issue hit us as soon as we got into the airport when we asked where to meet our transporation and spent 20 minutes with a woman trying to get us to tour her property. It continued at the Sunset where after we checked in were were led to a table to get our "free" drink tickets stamped. At that point the girls tell you about the $200 food and bar credit and spa discount if we just go to a presentation and a short tour of the property and what time would would like to do that. We signed up for the presentation purely for the free stuff. The presentation took about 2 hours and as long as you stick to your guns telling them you are not interested they will eventually let you go. I will say that we kind of thought everyone was trying to sell us something from that point forward.

The first 3 days we were there it was very windy. Until our last day when the wind let up I thought it was just always that way but the winds did subside then. We used several of the pools which all had grill and bar service. The spa was nice with a steam room, cold and hot dip. We took the free shuttle to the sister property, Rose, several times to use the swimming beach. The Blanco property right next to the Rose is less Vegas feeling and seems to be a quiter property yet still has lots going on. There is no problem getting towels and chairs at the beach and you can charge anything to your room from the sister properties.

We ate at several restaurants at the Sunset, the Bistro was good and reasonable. At the Pacifica, very close to Sunset, we ate at Siempre. This was great food and ambiance. This property felt deserted. The dining room had 6 tables of people, three of whom came over with us from the Sunset.

When we checked out we noticed a daily charge in pesos equal to $1. When we asked about it we were told it was a donation to the owner's foundation in town. I found this so distasteful. They told us it was optional and they could take it off which we asked them to. Not because we couldn't float the dollar per day but because I am totally against them putting this charge on our bill unsolicited and without warning at checkin. Considering I felt as though someone was always trying to scam us this gave me a bad final impression to otherwise completely great accomodations.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schmitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a one week stay and we absolutely love PBSB. From the extravagantly ornate lobby and common guest areas, wonderful restaurants, large ocean view suites to the beautiful pools and meticulously manicured grounds, this resort exudes first class all the way. Its first notice as a calming and relaxing experience you feel as you walk through the lobby and common areas, sense a lingering, very pleasant tropical fragrance and listen to the beautiful, soothing classical music in the background.

The common facilities are immaculately maintained and the views are breath taking. The suites are very roomy and well appointed, with a granite kitchenette (refrigerator, stovetop, microwave and dishwasher) and the marble bathrooms are very luxurious. The buildings are terraced into the hillside and each room has a large balcony with sitting area(s) overlooking the beach and Pacific Ocean.

The location, situated on the Pacific side of Cabo, is absolutely beautiful; quiet and away from the main tourist section, crowds and vendors of the downtown Marina and Medano Beach areas. The Pacific side does get more wind than other Cabo areas, but that can also be a refreshing relief, especially during the hot summer months. Although their private beach is not swimmable due to the strong ocean waves and riptide, there is an complimentary hourly shuttle offered that will take you to their sister resorts, Rose and Blanco where you are allowed complete use of their facilities and can swim from their adjoining Medano Beach front.

As mentioned, the resort is quite large and terraced into the hillside. Most guests elect to take the chauffeured golf carts to get around but it is also not too difficult to walk. There are some steep parts, but stairs are generally provided for those areas. The paths are well maintained and wide enough to be shared with a passing cart.

There are five beautiful Infinity pools throughout the resort with pool side bar and food service. Each pool area has its own “character” ranging from quiet and relaxing to alive and active. The Sky Pool at the top of the resort offers breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and sunsets and is an absolute must do at least once.

The restaurant facilities offer something for everyone. Whether you’re in the mood for something quick and light at the Bistro Restaurant, want to splurge on a 5 star dining experience at La Frida or something in between at La Nao, the food and service will not disappoint.

Although I have read some reviews with complaints about the persistent push to attend a timeshare presentation, we experience no such thing. Yes, at check in we were asked if we would like to sign up for “The Presentation”, but we politely declined, got our complimentary drink tickets stamped and that was the very last time we were approached about a timeshare presentation by anyone at the resort.

Throughout our entire stay at the PBSB we experienced courteous and outstanding service. Housekeeping service was exceptional, the wait staff at the restaurants, bars and pools were attentive and the cart drivers and valets very efficient. From check in to check out, the staff went out of their way to attend to every detail.

Having had the fortunate opportunity to stay at some very fine resorts over the years, we have to rank PBSB right up there with some of the very best. Ritz Carlton comes to mind if I had to make a comparison and it is every bit worthy of a 5 Star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steveo145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach resort was an excellent spot for a relaxing break. The resort is enormous and fairly self contained with several bars and restaurants. on site as well as two mini markets a spa, gym and more. It would be easy to spend days without ever leaving the premises. However if you do want to go into town you'll need transportation. Taxis from the hotel into town are about $10 and are readily available at the lobby at all times. There is also a shuttle bus every hour until 10 pm. it required a little extra planning to be so far away from town but it was also nice to be away from the bustle of vendors and street noise.
The rooms were well appointed though I would have expected nicer sheets and towels at this price point. It was sometimes a little bit noisy at night with the chatter of late night passerbys echoing loudly through the hallway. The pools were lovely and the service was fantastic. The view from the sky pool was like nothing else I've seen the world over. We were fortunate enough to stay in building 21, not too far from the lobby so it was not always necessary to call for golf cart transportation every time we went out. I could see how that would be needed in other far flung buildings but that service was always astonishingly fast. the grounds were well kept and I appreciated the resorts commitment to environmentally friendly maintenance. We were asked to take part in the time share presentation by two or three people over the course of our stay but it was not overly aggressive. Overall I thought the resort was quite nice and well maintained and the service was excellent. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaizyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Firstly,let me start that when one goes on vacation,it common sense that we take extra precaution in keeping an eye on everything we carry with us..we carry items like cell phones,laptop,because we believe we needed them and keeps our vacations complete..so with Playstation game control, if with young people who may want to play during down times,one can not be in the pool or beach 24/7 and when one goes to a place we consider luxurious and supposed to be high end,we should feel secure in leaving valuables that can not fit anymore in the little safe box provided in the room,like laptops,iphones,game station controls..we want that when we put down something,then go to town or beach or pool for unspecified length of time,then go back we should still find our valuables the way and in the place we left them..right?? Wrong!!..first night we arrived ,we did our safety inspection on doors..we found the sliding security doors on both rooms defective and would not lock and looked as if they were there already prepped for a quick in/out burglary,,since it will only take a quick easy jump over the veranda of the next door suite into our veranda and into our suite..someone was sent to fix our lock but it maybe the same person who came when we were gone ,.and as I have gone over several comments over here and talking to people..it seems there are a lot of burglaries happening here and security is AWARE but not doing its job,we lost a very expensive electronic game control here that the young people in my group so enjoyed and we called security who came pretty quickly but by the looks and attittude observed they already know they are not going to find it..we told them that on our first night we did our own precautions by finding defective sliding doors etc...they infact want to see all our luggages and inspect the whole place just to see if we are probably telling the truth or simply misplaced the item..what a waste of time.!!!.we know 1000% where we put our things.. like I said we take extra caution in not bringing things along on our short trips to the pool or into town because we feel it is safer to leave them in our rooms till we get back..but apparently there is a conspiracy going in there that the moment they see your group hop into those golf carts..they know they have time to loot your room,I came to this conclusion because I was surprised..to receive at least 2 calls from supposedly the concierge or golf cart personnel asking us if we called for a cart and we didnt..later we learned not to call anymore because it gives them room # who is calling and who is leaving their places..so be forwarned ..do not let anyone know when you are leaving. (we have the executive suite up against the mountain in the 2000s range of room #)since we have been in numerous high end resorts as we are owners in different timeshares as well as this place,people expect more of resorts to be safe,specially one that seemed luxurious,but the vacation soured if we have to constantly look over and worry about who maybe going thru our stuff,there are so many people who has access to the rooms here,there are the people who refill the drinks that we do not drink,,ones that fix the beds and turn in again the beds by night,that does not include the cleaning ladies etc..security states they have sofisticated security measures but that is baloney,because..if that is true..why are we losing things..the fact is ..it is inside job at its finest..Mr Coppell this is bad publicity..if you care about your place,,do something...up to this time still investigated..no word ever..I think they need to patrol the hillside villas more..where people could blame other visitors jumping over the backporch of others,,yes they can but we do not have neighbors then..so could else be..maybe extend decorative steel bars..

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tachie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Don't get me wrong here - this place is a georgous resort but I've never felt so confined and trapped while on vacation in my entire life. The way this place is built does not allow you the freedom to move about easily. You are basically tied down to utilizing their golf cart service to go from point A to point B. On the upside though, they are pretty much readily available and we never had to wait for long, the downside being that where our room was located - on a round-about of sorts and near an elevator - all we heard throughout the night was these carts dropping folks off, so needless to say the whole time we were here we never slept a full night through. I just wish they would have left room for a foot path of sorts to make moving around the resort a little easier because with some of these hairpin, blind corner turns we were almost plowed over on a few occassions. The rooms were nice and comfortable with a great view of the beach, unfortunately you cannot use the beaches here due to the currents being so strong - we did get some good pictures walking along the sand at sunset. Pools were nice, although the one's that were supposed to be adults only quite type of pools were used by folks with kids......guess they didn't get that memo. The main pool was a fun filled area with a daily schedule of events. Food was mediocre, not great by any stretch - but we found a few things that were decent. Pizza at the Bistro was really good. The biggest downside to the entire trip was how you feel haggled by pretty much everyone that works here as well as when you go into downtown. We were roped into the "presentation" that they pretty much approach you with upon check-in. We were lead to believe it would be a tour of sorts to help us get our bearings of the resort, however, it was nothing more than a strong armed attempt at a time share pitch that we were told would last only around an hour or so but ended up eating up over 3 hours of our first full day here. NOT HAPPY about this at all! We did end up receiving 2 $100 vouchers that you could use in the dining areas or apply towards your room bill. Not worth the $200 in my opinion for taking that much time out of my vacation. If you choose to go downtown you can either use the free shuttle that drops you off at the sister resort Rosa or you can pay $10 each way to use a taxi. We used the taxi service so we could have the freedom of coming and going when we choose, not at the shuttles schedule. There is literally no break from the sales pitches here - when you finish a meal, the manager (or whatever he was) comes over to thank you for dining in his establishment then in the same breath will try to sell you on an adventure - ATV's, wine & cheese tour, horseback riding......you get the picture. It get's even worse downtown, over at the Marina area there is some fine higher end shopping but beware of the workers throwing menus under your nose every 5 feet trying to get you to patrionize their establishments. We even had a few guys try to sell us Cuban cigars, when we said no - we were offered pot.............uh, thanks but no thanks. Downtown Cabo was dirty and the sidewalks a danger zone, just keep your eyes to the ground when walking as you will find exposed rebar poking out from curbsides, missing ground hole covers, exposed wires next to puddles, broken steps - it was almost a game to stay upright. Mind you, I'm physically fit - not some frail elder and I found traversing this area to be a challange at times. Don't even get me started on the experience we had after arriving in Cabo at the airport - once you pass customs and enter the "zone" you will be completely overwhelmed and feel as though you are being attacked by a swarm of bees in the transportation area. It was horrible. There is a ring leader of sorts that asks you if you have transportation - we told him yes, even though we didn't - I had heard & read about these guys and thought I was prepared for it. He then asked who the transportation was with since they had "2 exits" and he wanted to make sure I went through the correct exit since one was for groups, the other for private transportation. We then got shuffled over to a counter where they tried to give us a laundry list of different prices - all depending on if we wanted to do a "presentation' for a time share......I finally grabbed my husband and plowed thru the crowds outside to a taxi stand - all in all it ended up costing us $85.00 to take a cab to the resort. It just left a really bad taste in our mouths and did not start the trip off well. If you intend on going here, please try to arrange transportation upfront before you go. It's just a sad thing when you plan so extensively for a trip in advance to have these things happen, we had such high expecatations for this place and went to celebrate my birthday and we ended up leaving 3 days early, caught a plane to Las Vegas and ended up celebrating there instead. I've been to the Riveria Maya and preferred that area 100 times over Cabo - we did our research, are well travelled and seriously couldn't wait to leave Sunset Beach. Take this review as you will, I know everyone has an opinion but when you pay additional money to leave early that ought to say something.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phoebe156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
3 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,291 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $271 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing