We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in Cabo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Dalzell, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Heaven in Cabo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach in Cabo for two weeks at the end of January. I have to say..if you have a chance to stay at this resort TAKE IT! Approaching the resort you are greeted to the winding hill side covered with terraces of beautiful flowers and villas. Check in was a breeze and what a great surprise finding a beautiful spacious room with a balcony overlooking a fantastic view of the Pacific. We could watch the whales from our viewpoint!
The resort has numerous pools, each with a seemingly different culture from quiet to family, to the partiers. All of the pools were warm and the hot tubs were very well attended to. The pools were a nice treat as the ocean at the resort has a great rip tide prohibiting the ocean dips. You can however take the resort shuttle to one of several sister resorts where ocean swimming and acitivities can be found. The shuttle was a very nice tool in getting closer to town and around to the other resorts.
To get around the resort staff members transport you in golf carts which are summoned from your room or various destinations around the resort. We never had to wait long for the carts and the drivers were a riot to visit with.
Food at the resort was special as well. A+ from the luncheon bar food to the casual dining and or special dining experience. We did not care for the Mexican Buffett night held at the resort, however. If you have a chance to dine at the Sunday Bruch, go hungry as this is the most magnificent brunch any of us had ever been treated to.
The resort has something for everyone. Families, couples, retirees and all. We treated ourselves to a massage at the Pacifica. I can't tell you how great the treatment is there. Aside from the massage( which was the best ever) the setting, staff, and all accomodations is top notch.
Yes, you will be asked to attend an owners presentation, but the tour of the entire resort is worth the couple hours and they treated you to a very nice breakfast.
So, consider the Pueblo Bonito in Cabo. You have several options with the Rose, the Blanco, Sunset Beach or the Pacifica. All are great.
A few tips: book your tours and excursions from Lazarro Andrade down at the pier. He gets you great deals from fishing, whale watching, dinner cruises, to four wheelers through the dessert. The four wheeler trip with (Cactus Company) was outstanding. Nearly three hours long and you travel through thick desert terraine ending up at the pacific with a view you won't forget. Finding Lazaro isn't hard...have a great breakfast at the Baha Cantina on the pier and you can't miss him. His boat is docked right in front of the diner.
Be sure to visit the flea market off of the pier. Great deals. Look for Alejandro. If he doesn't have what you want...he will find it.
Across from the cinema, Greenberg's serves fantastic sandwiches to fine cuisine. We stopped there for a light meal and in the course of visiting wih the staff just mentioned we were hungry for bananas foster. In what seemed like seconds, were were being treated to banans foster and Mexican coffee flambe! We were there on a Friday evening, live entertainement (a young man from Mazatlan) who could sing anything!
That's it. GO. Enjoy!
DMR,

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DixieDalzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,894
    2,013
    766
    347
    220
See reviews for
3,081
2,974
97
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,419)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed here for vacation and traded with RCI to get the week. While it was a beautiful resort it does not have much going on in the way of activities or entertainment. The hotel is located about a 10 min. cab ride from town and therefore you are resigned to eat at the overpriced and not great restaurants if you don't want to cab it into town every time you turn around.
The property is huge and steep so you have to call for golf carts when traveling from your room to the pool, lobby or restaurant. Somewhat of a pain and the smell of gasoline is so strong due to these golf carts everytime you get back to your room you want to shower.
The spa at both Sunset beach and the sister resort Rose were so tiny I thought it was a joke, not impressed at all. Internet was sparodic and unreliable.
Overall, if you plan to only stay at your resort this is a beautiful place, but if you like the convenience of having a variety of places to eat close to you or to be able to run to the grocery store without a 10 dollar cab ride I suggest you stay closer to town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammatthews6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

This visit was to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We really liked the semi-remote location of PB Sunset Beach and the less hectic atmosphere of the Pacific side of Cabo. The landscaping of this resort was truly amazing and having the buildings spread out over the grounds made it seem less crowded. Even though the beach was not swimmable it was beautiful and made for a nice place for leisurely walks in the evening. The restaurants were all top notch with great food and high prices. Getting to and from activities in and around Cabo was not too hard or expensive once you got use to the routine. All of the staff that we met were cheerful, helpful, and pleasant to deal with. The bed in our suite was a little less comfortable than at home but that always seems the case no matter where you go. All in all we were sad to leave and look forward to when we might come back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dwjspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

I have been a time share owner at Sunset Beach since 2002. When I arrived yesterday for my yearly vacation and went down to the beach I was informed that there were no longer any beach lounge chairs available. Depending on who you spoke to the excuses ranged from fear of a tsunami to they were ordered a year ago but haven't been delivered yet. No excuse is acceptable since this is a 5 star " beach" resort and they could go to the local WalMarts and get a 100 chairs this afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lougehrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

Our family has stayed at Pueblo Bonito, Pueblo Bonito Rose, and now Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. The resorts always have excellent service, restaurants and accommodations. The only thing that I didn't like about Sunset Beach was that the transportation was difficult. Because transportation is REQUIRED to get around the resort, as in, you have to take a golf cart everywhere. They are very quick to come pick you up, but for someone who would rather walk, having to rely on those things was a little annoying. But the views were amazing! And I had the best massage of my life at the spa, and the gym was top quality. I highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank swalzem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

The resort was very well maintained in all aspects such as landscaping, painting, lighting, transportation carts, etc. The private Mercedes motor coach that takes you to Pueblo Bonito Rose near town was immaculate. No charge. Drivers were all very courteous and drove very safely. The trip takes 15-20 minutes to go just a few miles to the Pueblo Bonito Rose which is 15-20 minute walking distance from town and marina.
A time share person at the Sunset Beach Resort coaxed us to do a presentation for 200 USD off of our food tab and some discounts at spa and activities. We have pretty much given up on time share presentations in order not to ruin a day but we gave in due to economic conditions. We had a gentleman named Jerome Weinbren. He did a fantastic job. He was very informative about the resort and it's future growth. I told him we traded in through RCI and were not interested in buying but would like to look. He did his presentation with class and we will say that we will spead the word to those interested to look him up.
The carts that transport you around the resort were perfect for those who don't like to walk. We used the carts a several times per day to get from room to lobby or room to pool. Never did we wait more than 1-2 minutes for it to arrive.
The only negative thing we experienced was the beach. Very beautiful to look at but to dangerous to swim and the sand was so loose it was not easy to walk in. Whales were seen everyday from our room balcony. Our room was neat and clean but not very comfortable to spend much time in. The TV was only visible if you are in bed. It is difficult to see from any of the two chairs. The chairs in the living room area were too low for the table. When you sat in the chair your chin was level with the table. We would drag the chairs from the balcony into the room to sit at the table, they were higher. No big deal, but they need to correct for those who spent more time in the room or who might want to prepare a meal and eat at he table.
We felt very safe in Cabo San Lucas and saw absolutely no trouble. Everyone seemed very helpful and friendly.
We went on the SunRider Sunset Cruise. It included A cruise past Lovers beach to the Pacific side to watch the sunset, An excellent meal, all the drinks you could consume from start to finish. The entertainment on board was fun and we saw several whales. Would recommend. The regular price for the cruise is around $48 USD each. If you go to the Timeshare presentation you get 50% off that. Was a bargain at $24 ea.
We used our Verizon phone from all over Cabo San Lucas except Pueblo Bonito at Sunset Beach because of the mountain. As soon as you go down the driveway toward town around the mountain you get a strong signal. Before you go to Mexico, call Verizon and upgrade your plan to "Americas family share plan plus Mexico". It cost $15 dollars extra per month, but it was worth it. We called back to the US daily for no additional charge as long as we didn't go over our minutes. When we got back from vacation we called Verizon and they put us back on our old plan without the Mexico. Very simple.
The sushi at the resort was very good. The drinks at the lobby bar are fantastic. They don't chintz on the booze. They ain't cheap but they are good.
Overall we had a great trip and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Huntley-Brinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach and absolutely loved the resort. The beach is not swimmable, but there is a shuttle that will take you to their sister resort where you can swim on their beach. We have three teenage girls who are dying to return this summer. My brother and sister-n-law also went and are returning in June. The facilities are immaculate and the views are breath taking. The suites are very roomy and each have a large ocean view veranda. We were definitely spoiled during our stay. There are five pools to choose from and each have pool side service. The sky pool is awesome, it is a must! We grocery shopped the first day and filled our fridge with goodies. The food is quite pricy at the restaurants so we cooked our breakfast each morning and ate out at the pool for lunch. We participated in the timeshare promotion. We gave them an hour and 30 mins of our time and declined to purchase and we were given $150 in food credit, which helped out with our food expense. Not a bad deal...Can't wait to return:)

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank mestucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,626 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing