We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty; but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
whitefish
Level Contributor
176 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Beauty; but some issues”
Reviewed April 21, 2005

Why stay here? A generally peaceful, very clean and well maintained development with great staff. It’s an oasis of manicured beauty compared to the gritty throbbing level of commotion in downtown Cabo San Lucas. While the predominant customer carries an AARP card, younger persons and those with children also can fully enjoy the development. Those wanting party central will be greatly disappointed. This project is large and rapidly becoming gargantuan in scope.

Food/Drink: Meals prepared at pool grills were basic but delicious. Sandwiches, custom made at the upper deli, were tasty. Meals at La Nao restaurant were fine. Warning: margaritas from the bars reminded me of clueless college days. Stick to soft drinks and beer. Delicious meal at The Office in Cabo San Lucas. Reservations required, as it’s a madhouse. Fun atmosphere. Mi Casa restaurant OK with delicious drinks.

Transportation: Hmmmm, always a bit confusing in Mexico, but somehow works. We arranged for a van from the airport to the resort via staff one day in advance. Cost was $15 per, while another person paid $17. No r/t tickets possible. Return, also arranged via staff one day out was $13 per. Why the variations? Transport to and from the Rose’ was great and reservations and related coupons were not universally required probably due to modest demand. Some confusion by staff. A bit too far to walk to town for most.

If you missed Mr. Toad’s Wild ride at Disneyland, experience it here with the right driver and golf cart. Did Mr. Coppel consider funiculars in lieu of system installed?

Check In/Out: Why do facilities so generally oriented towards customers and service, delay admission to rooms until 4:00pm and require evacuation by 10:00am? Might additional staff be hired to clean during this gap?

Beach: Pristine area oddly lacking beach entrepreneurs and crowds. Walked it several times and only a handful of people on the 1-1.5 miles of sand. Swimming dangerous, but great for walking and jogging. Resort places chairs and cabanas. Super spot to read a lengthy novel in peace.

Pools: The pools were reasonably large with chairs and cabanas wedged along the edge. Some activities for adults and children. While signs indicate reserving chairs is not permitted, that is exactly what happens each morn. Half-hearted occasional enforcement of the “rule” failed to alter behavior. Another irritant is that a significant number of chairs need repair.

Rooms: Pleasant rooms but auditory voyeurism is unavoidable given the absolute lack of sound insulation in the floors and walls. Also staff must be trained to move complaining customers rather than solve problems. We moved twice. The first time due to a persistent sewer odor. The other move was caused by young gringos partying between their room and town in frantic boisterous attempts to locate more booze (successful) and women (not successful).

Time Shares: Time share staff near front desk took our first “No” as the only answer we’d give and we weren’t approached thereafter. However, there are armies of sales types with hordes of lemmings in tow throughout each day. If not an intended victim, the sales pitch is amusing to watch save for the modest disruption to peace and quiet and especially about the main pool that is on the carefully scripted tour. If interested in time shares (why oh why?) use the Internet to learn of resale values at this facility beforehand.

Budget Tips: Bring your own good coffee and filters unless you want to pay 30 pesos for two cups of self-made coffee in your room. Both delis stock fresh sweet rolls in the morning and at 3 pesos each. City Club store near Rose'; so buy essentials there.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
45 Thank sagecrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,370
    2,113
    807
    359
    233
See reviews for
3,377
3,117
103
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,568)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2005

Spent many hours reading the trip advisor and decided to try a stay at PB Sunset. Let me say that we travel often and have stayed in some of the most beautiful resorts and hotels in the past. This hotel is BEAUTIFUL and one of the cleaninest resorts. The grounds are maintained all day and the flowers are lovely, pools are immaculate and the beach (while not swimable) is clean and the water is so blue. Rooms are clean and yes the beds were fitted with feather bed covers making sleeping a dream! Staff except for check in are eager to please.

Spa is wonderful. Massage prices are right in line with other hotel prices. Health club was new and never a long wait for a machine..nice view of the ocean and they provide headsets to watch your own TV channel while working out. A few aerobic, yoga and spinning classes at an extra fee. Hair and nail salon with hotel prices.

Chapel for Mass is beautiful. If you are thinking about a wedding in Cabo check this chapel out...beautiful mission style chapel. On Sunday they had a Mass and decicated it to Pope John. Lovely service with nuns singing in the most beautiful voices.

Food & Shops: Only one place to eat but it is beautiful. Hotel prices for food. The Sunday buffet was awesome but pricy. The regular breakfast buffet is about $15 pp and OK. Pool menu is limited and the menu at the smaller pool is even smaller. They are suppose to open up a Pizza Brick Oven resteraunt at the end of this month. There is a Deli to buy a sandwich that was reasonable along with what other food you may want for your room. There is also a small store down at the main pool.There is a tiny drug store/internet cafe. A small store to buy some resort clothing. There are two bars..one at the main pool level and one martini bar off of the lobby with the most incredible views. Sorry to say the marini bar offered no snacks or any sweets if you ordered coffee after coming back late at night from town.

They are building up on the mountain above the main lobby but we could not hear the building noise from our room or from the pool. They are also opening a new section of buildings and another pool area at the end of April.

Golf carts are always there to shuttle you around. Never a wait. Pick up the phone and they were there. You can walk up and down the hills yourself but you must step off the path to make room for the carts. Perhaps they will decide to make future cart paths a bit wider in the future planning. Noise from the carts never bothered us after the first night. There are three levels in each building. We were on the level that the carts drove on and we were able to sleep. Our patio unfortunately faced the main path next to the big pool so it did not offer us much privacy.

The negatives: if you have any difficulties walking you may want to stay at another resort...you can take the carts but if you just enjoy taking a daily stroll this is not for you becasue of the hills. While the big pool has a wonderful area with water jets to relax you the pool itself was jammed. Infact the chairs were so close together it was hard to get in and out of the lounge chairs to sit. The service was terrible due to the fact that there was not enough help..which is not the fault of the staff but management. Water aerobics was a disappointment to say the least!

This hotel has to learn that first impressions are important in the hotel business. A simple SMILE goes a long way with customer relations. We took the shuttle from the airport which we booked from the hotel (very nice ride in a nice clean van and a nice driver..no complaints here). When we arrived at PB Shunset not one person said WELCOME to PB Sunset or helped us with our luggage. We took our luggage into the lobby (lobby is beautiful) . There were no set lines for check in and people just jumped in. When we checked in the check in staff never smiled or said welcome or even enjoy your stay with us. We ended up rolling our luggage back out to the front and asked to have it checked in. Since our room would not be ready for an hour or so we went to have lunch. When we returned to the lobby entrance our tote bag was still in the middle of the floor and not with the rest of our luggage. Anyone could have just walked off with it. They put your luggage to the side but don't seem to watch it. We were glad we did not bring our golf clubs!!!!!!!

Time share sellers did call our room once but thanks to the trip advisor advice we knew to say that we were owners. The gal on the phone said but I see there are 3 in your room and I informed her the other person was under 25. That seemed to satisfy her. We did go to the PB Rose one day and they asked us multiple times if we would like to take the time share tour. We thanked them and just said NO THANK YOU. The Rose is lovely also.

Free shuttle bus...new large A/C bus. Get tickets for bus in lobby. No system..too many people and not enought tickets/seats..after 20 min discussion the bus left with everyone anyway..some sitting and some standing. Trip to town is about 10 minutes. Found the town to have many wonderful places to eat each night with lots of local flavor. Taxi to town is $10 one way and return to airport from taxi was $60 or you can take the van again for $13 pp.

A helpful note...if you are staying for a week you may want to stop at Cosco on the way from the airport to the resort as you can not check in before 4 PM anyway.

Would we return to PB Sunset? Possibly becasue we like a quiet resort and the smaller pool was super quiet.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank joybuzz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2005

I traveled with 2 adults and 2 children the week of March 18, 2005 for 4 nights and it was wonderful. Did not rent a car; took the shuttle to Rosa hotel and shopped and walked in town. It is a very quite resort where you can just relax and enjoy everything. We had an Executive Suite which had 2 bathrooms, 2 queen beds, private living room and a balcony in both room with a view of the ocean. We were upgraded from a Master Suite to an Executive Suite with Kitchen facilities. I did not do the timeshare, but on my next visit I would do. The property is excellent and even with the children (2 and 8) they had a wonderful time in the pool. Once the again the property is excellent. We met so many timeshare owners you gave us so much information on how to enjoy our stay. I won a sweepstakes to this property and I would revisit again. If you would like quiet time and a restful retreat, this is th place to go. The golf carts are no problem and its was fun riding to the pool, restaurants, etc. You will enjoy your stay if you would quiet and a restful vacation. The ocean is beautiful and there were whales to see also. We have a wonderful vacation at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort and they are expanding adding additional pools, etc. Remember, you can book directly or with a travel agent.

Helpful?
11 Thank C8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2005

I stayed at Sunset and have been eager to return. How eager? I booked 11 villa units for a family reunion in August 2005.
(I booked two too many, so contact me if you want a villa for Labor Day week that sleeps 6, way below any advertised prices.)
This resort sits on one of the most idyllic spots I've ever visited. As I walked along the remote and private beach that is bordered by great rock outcroppings, I felt a world away. The surf was thunderous! It was such a contrast to the noisy, crowded, trinket-selling, boat-exhaust shoreline of the beaches at the downtown Cabo locations.
The pool was the most useable and beautiful I've seen, with various jetted roundabouts, cascading waters and swim up bar. In the evening it is magically lit. I especially appreciated the white cotton cabanas with all four walls adjustable for privacy and sun protection and the many complimentary poolside activities for our young son.
Being able to use the hourly shuttle to the two sister resorts in town until 10pm saved us alot of hassle and money.
I loved that every villa has a panoramic ocean view and a truly private balcony. This is a special place.
Instead of buying a timeshare on premises, be smart and purchase a resale online!
How many resorts can offer this breathtaking pristine beauty with hopping nightlife only minutes away?

  • Stayed January 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Baja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2005

This property is unbelievable! I went for the first time one year ago and am returning next month. Villas are terraced on the side of a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean along with restaurants, several pools, a gym, store, etc. It's in a remote location and the resort is completely self-contained. It has to be seen to be believed! Golf-cart type vehicles transport guests around the property. A shuttle bus is provided to Pueblo Bonito Rose on a regular schedule for those that want to go to Medano Beach or spend time at either Rose or Blanco. From the drop-off location you can walk to town. Sunset Beach is very relaxing, although there are activities for those that desire. If you want more "action", take the shuttle to Rose and go from there. I can't wait to return! I plan on adding Sunset Beach to my "yearly" trip list!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2005

The Hotel is absolutely beautiful and relaxing... that is once you escape the time share people. We were truly interested in buying a time share but wanted to think about it for a few days. This apparently infuriated our time share represenative who during the height of his anger actually physically threatened us. His name was MIKE so avoid him at all cost. We actually felt so unsafe that we reported it to management and his superiors. This is no exageration. Please, don't make a hasty decision to buy because they'r e are a lot of people who regret it later and actually warned us. Take some time to think it out and then buy. What's another day or two?

However, the resort was so fabulous that we were able to put him out of our minds and totally enjoy our vacation. I would stay there again and again and again.
Wonderful place. So peaceful. The staff and guest were friendly. The Spa was great. I had the deep tissue massage and was very satisfied. The pedicure was ok and definitely overpriced.
The town is quaint but vibrant. The marina is lined wth eateries and shops. It's quite pleasant. There was plenty to do but not too much. If you want a little more beach activity go down to the Bonito Rose.
Fishing was fun and easy. The fish find you.
I loved my stay and plan to go back to the Sunset in next 6 months for an even longer stay. It would be a perfect 5 if they could rid us of MIKE.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Lenora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2005

My wife and I recently visited PB Sunset Beach and overall, we liked the place. As will all places, there are positives and negatives:

Positives:
The staff was GREAT(especially Luz at the concierge desk and Jesus the cart driver...I'd like to hire them both!), our room was very nice and had a fabulous view of the ocean, the bed was very comfortable, the beach was long and you could walk South to the Pedregal development, the meals were suprisingly good. The shuttle bus to the other Pueblo Bonito resorts was nice. We had the unfortunate occassion to need to see the inhouse Doctor.... who impressed us. The deli and internet access was appreciated. The gym facilities looked top notch though we did not use them. We saw some great sunsets!

Negatives:
Our biggest complaint was noise. The carts that drive people around the resort are NOISY and some of the drivers obviously take pride is their Formula One racing skills. Our room was above a very noisy cart path with switch backs...so we enjoyed(?) the sound of squeeling sound of tires when in our room...BIG drawback for us. The cart noise did subside by 11pm.
You are remote from downtown and need to take the shuttle bus or Taxi. Enjoyed the spa and had a massage but the spa was very noisy due to construction going on. Speaking of construction...you will hear construction noise from around 7am til 4pm (or so). When we were there, loud construction was taking place adjacent to the beach side pool. It's a reality until the final phase of construction is complete. The beach side pool was packed! The upper pool wasn't quite so busy. The resort is terraced on a hillside which is great for views but maybe not so great for walking (which is why they have the carts.)

If you are interested in a time share, you might want to look at the resale market. You can save yourself quite a bit of money.

All in all, the trip was very good and PB Sunset does a good job.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SansClothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#18 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,899 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
3.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing