We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They need to release the caged parrots”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, has beautiful grounds, rooms, and staff. I am rating it so poorly however because during my week's stay there, I saw something that was so disturbing to me that it literally kept me up at night. Outside of the main gates, right along the busy roadside, completely outside of where people would generally walk past, was a cage with 6 or 7 locked up parrots. I had noticed them from a few levels below because I could hear one squawking very loudly. I went up to pay them some attention. Here these magnificent birds are kept, in the middle of a world of paradise as far as the eye can see, locked in a small cage with no room to fly and only a couple of wooden branches in there to perch on and nothing else. It took less than a minute of observing them to realize that they were literally going crazy in there. One of the parrots did nothing but walk across 1 single branch, 3 feet from the left, scratch the cage, turn around, walk 3 feet to the right to scratch the other side of the cage, just to turn around and do it again, and again, and again, and again. He had obviously been doing this for SO long that the white paint on the cage from where he scratched was almost all scraped off. I watched them for about 10 minutes before a couple had walked up. They noticed it right away as well and said this was nothing more than animal cruelty. I couldn't agree more. I can appreciate a hotel that wants their guests to see beautiful and exotic animals on their property, but having them on display like this, in an area with next to no interaction, and nothing in their cage to stimulate them, is absolutely inhumane. I left the hotel over a week ago and the thought of these poor bird's lives is still keeping me up at night. The hotel either needs to create a much more humane place for them to live, or ship them back to a place where they can be released.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Meegan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,380 - 6,386 of 9,433 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, Cabo, MX is a great place to relax. Excellent pools, service, and top quality rooms. Food in the restaurants is good but a litlle pricey for Mexico. We go to town for most evening meals and some very good restaurants.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
6  Thank tripfanamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Sunset Beach in Feb 2014 with our 4yr old and 2yr old boys. We went in with some hesitation, as we have had amazing experiences at luxury resorts in Hawaii. However, this was a fantastic place to vacation as a family. The resort is large and sprawling, but we our 1BR suite was located just above the main lobby and below the Sky Pool. So, we actually didn't have to utilize the golf carts that much. I could see it being a pain if you stayed in a remote part of the resort, requiring constant use of the carts.

Overall, with few exceptions, the staff was wonderful...especially to our kids. In particular, David at the family pool swim-up bar, and Horacio, were absolutely phenomenal. We visited the pool every single day, and they went above and beyond to make sure we all had a great time.

The suite was wonderful, and it was great to be able to put the boys in one room and still have a room to ourselves. The balcony could be accessed from either the family room or the bedroom, so we were able to utilize the balcony while the kids were napping. The room was always made up promptly, as we made sure to call housekeeping just as we were leaving in the morning. The resort encourages you to call to ensure your room/suite is cleaned at your convenience.

Although our boys are young, they had plenty to do. The pool near the lobby & kids club had multiple playground-style slides, and there was even a poolside ceramics table, where the boys could paint their own ceramic pieces. It was great to have a swim up bar at the family pool, as adults could enjoy themselves at the same pool the kids played in.

The food was solid and consistent at the pool, and we found the Bistro to be very good. Although we ate by the pool multiple times, we only dined at the Bistro for lunch once and dinner on the very last night. All of our other dinners were at restaurants in town.

Overall, Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach provided a wonderful week-long family vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travelcouple2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Reviewers,

We feel very happy after reading such a nice review, it is great to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay with us and that your room suited perfectly for your family. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Mizraim Corpus, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

NOT MY CUP OF TEA, BUT TO EACH HIS OWN

I will list some preliminary items, positives, constructive criticism and a summary. Take it or leave it!

WHEN: March 16-23, 2014 (spring break)

WEATHER: Perfect, it was sun and 85 daily, no clouds

WHO: My wife, 2 college-age gals and I

WHAT: 1 bedroom exec suite, with 2 bathrooms. Two condos were exchanged via RCI, so my wife and I had 2353, and our daughter and her friend from college stayed in 2457. They were both on the same floor. The makeup and layout of each condo was identical. Ocean views from both were beautiful. These condos were at the top of the resort, and just below the Sky Pool.

HOW: Arrived via Cape Travel (Airport shuttle, book in advance with PB-Sunset Beach concierge and it's $US 22 pp each way to/from the airport)

POSITIVES: Landscaping, flowers, property cleanliness,ocean views, 900-1000 person staff provided a good, positive vibe and seemed happy to be employed there, happy hour 2 for 1 from 3-4pm daily, quiet, secure with guarded entrance, decor, clean condos, daily maid service, choice of 5 pools, no need for a rental car, various dining options on the resort grounds, the beach there is awesome, desolate, wide and really nice, No swimming in the ocean is allowed due to the current, but it's relaxing to take a towel down there to the beach and chill out. No beach chairs are available. Sunrise Coffee Shop, the Sky Pool, Manila Bar, the Lobby Bar and the cool vibe of Cabo complete my positives.

CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM: A huge resort to a fault, as golf carts are available 24 hours a day to get around. Therefore, exhaust was smelly. I'm in excellent shape and walked the hilly resort a lot, but still, the steep layout took me by surprise. I was in shock how big this place is. The signs along the walking paths help to navigate. It took me 2 days to figure out the layout of this place. For example, to get to the beach was a 10 minute walk or 15-min golf cart ride. Upon check-in, I was invited to a "Welcome Breakfast" as it was called, but it was in fact a Timeshare Presentation. They advised it would take 90 min, but cost us twice that in vacation time. It took my wife and I saying no to 3 different salespeople. That was frustrating. In turn, they gave us $US 300 for vouchers (food, booze, etc.) but that was a royal pain to keep saying no, and them to keep riding us. Next, the shuttles between sister resorts - avoid them, as you need tickets from the Sunrise Coffee Shop, people rant about the bus size, the lines, and it's also a royal pain. This resort is a mini-city, and that's not my cup of tea.

SUMMARY: I will absolutely return to Cabo, but this resort is too huge, and has too many people on vacation, too many staff and I won't return to PB-Sunset Beach again. It's a hub. I go on vacation to get away from people, enjoy a respite from civilization, relax and so this was my fault. I should have known better. Luckily, there is a really nice beach at this resort for solitude. Do not miss the Sky Pool. The resort did a great job with their design of all pools!

Room Tip: As low as possible to access the beach. Take a golf cart or hike to the top of the resort for nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patagonia779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate the time you took to review us and writing such a detailed review about our resort, we completely understand if you were overwhelmed by the size of our hotel, however we have 3 other sister resorts that could fill you more on what you are looking for, specially Pacifica which is a very calm and quiet adults only resort, very private and intimate. Once again we thank you for your comments and feedback and hope to welcome you anytime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mizraim Corpus, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

From the moment you come around the bend in the road and see the beautiful Pacific laid out in front of you you are completely awed by this resort. Set into a mountainside this majestic resort never fails to impress. It is well maintained, the staff is gracious and helpful. Our rooms were beautiful, as was the view. Many resturants to choose from, the food it good, the drinks are better. You will not regret staying at this resort.

Room Tip: Further down for easier access to the main pool or higher up for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank judyp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Judy,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for your detailed description about Sunset Beach, we hope to welcome you anytime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mizraim Corpus, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our suite was wonderful! The views stupendous AND we saw the whales! The grounds are wonderfully landscaped and filled with a profusion of flowers and birds. Our rooms were always cleaned and looked after with cute wash towel swans waiting for us.
We declined all invitations to go to a time-share presentation so they left us alone; unless we had shopping or luggage we walked around the resort and when needed the carts came quickly and the drivers were friendly; we didn't have one meal or drink at the resort as we stopped in at the supermarket on our way and assembled breakfasts and snacks to eat on the terrace of our suite and possibly over-used the blender while researching the perfect margarita.
We had a rental car so ate at wonderful Cabo restaurants in the evening and found beaches with palapas, bathrooms and snorkeling. We kept away from the pools until later in the afternoon when there were sun-loungers available and the music had been turned down a bit and the rowdy happy-hour drinkers had left.
By avoiding the pools, restaurants and bars, the dramatically over-priced spa, and walking around the beautiful grounds we avoided annoyances described in detail by other reviewers and we had the perfect holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank NzKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind remarks and wonderful words! We are very happy to hear you had a lovely stay with us, and that you got to see the whales! We look forward to welcome you anytime soon.

Warm Regards,
Mizraim Corpus, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great service by these guys, who made stay at this wonderful property even more wonderful - Iris @ concierge, cart drivers Luis Baez and Josimar Eliosa and Jorge, Andrea @ Bistro and Celso, Lannica @ La Nao. They were all great. Wonderful job by maintenance and house keepers..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KG K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuebloBonitoResorts, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear KG,

We truly appreciate your recognition to all of these wonderful team members, we'll make sure to pass your comments to all of them.

Sincerely,
Mizraim Corpus, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
3.1 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#28 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#11 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,065 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4,268 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $273 - $826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing