We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic week, fantastic people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic week, fantastic people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Only our second trip to Mexico and second trip to Sunset -- still blown away by the wonderful vacations we have there. The staff is second to none, from Montserrat, who showed us how to fold towels into swans and crabs, to Sahara, who took us on a 'behind the scenes' tour of P.B. (absolutely worth it -- it was a fascinating look at the guts of the operation and it made us proud to be P.B. owners). As mentioned by others, Roberto at the pool is a terrific representative for the resort. He was truly interested in making everyone's experience at P.B. Sunset a good one. We met Armando at check-in and he did a stellar job of getting trying to get us settled (we desperately needed to change rooms). Armando took us back to the lobby and helped us organize a change for the next day -- Room 614, right next to the beach is far better than we could have imagined. We tried to eat at Sushi/Sunset one evening but the wind deterred us. They may need to add some screens around it to make it more comfortable on windy nights. Although I heard complaints from a few people I met around the pool, there was nothing at P.B. Sunset that I could complain about (well, maybe the noise in the Bistro). All in all -- a wonderful week in Paradise!

Room Tip: Try the villas down by the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dorian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,910
    2,015
    769
    347
    220
See reviews for
3,090
2,979
97
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was my first year there and it was a wonderful experience. The cart system worked wonderfully getting us to all the different locations we wanted to go to. I requested a room on the beach. It wasn't available, but they upgraded us to an Executive Suite in the large building just below the Sky Pool. The view from this building was spectacular!

They have free shuttles to Pueblo Bonito Rose which is next door to PB Blanco. You can do all your water activities here and try out more restaurants. Don't miss the lasagna at Fellini's! You can also walk into town from here or take a taxi for $6. The shuttles leave on the hour and back on the half hour. Another option is a taxi from Sunset, $12 each way, if you don't want to wait for the shuttles. Great deal IMHO. Don't miss Marejada Baja Bistro & Barra, a wonderful restaurant downtown.

Two more free shuttles take you to PB Pacifica, a gorgeous must-visit resort and dining experience and another smaller resort whose name I can't recall (check the room service card in your room).

Sunset Beach has a deli next to the free wifi area that has an amazing flan! The Sunrise Cafe, which is where the shuttles pick you up, has ice cream! I almost had my fill of shrimp cocktails at the Bistro, very nice casual meals. If you're into buffets, the La Nao has a veritable feast each night. The sports bar next to it is also a nice place for a snack and drink.

La Frida was very disappointing. The appetizers were superb, but the main courses -- not so much. The overall experience was very beautiful.

The only other disappointment was with the wifi. Tip: once you connect, open your web browser if it doesn't open automatically to "login". No wifi in rooms either which is difficult if you're a business owner and have to be able to get online.

Overall? Go. You'll love it! I stayed at Rose last year and I like Sunset much better. All view rooms, more eating choices. Shuttle to Rose if you want to swim in the ocean. Oh! And be sure to ask for robes and down pillows.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank KathyTPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We go every year at the same time. Some years better than others, but always a wonderful trip. This year was great. We tried to check in to 4 rooms for our group upon arrival. Although we did not get the building we like, what we did stay in was acceptable. Ms.Rocio at the front desk made it a quick and painless check-in process. Took about 15 minutes to get us all squared away, and in the same building. First year ever we were able to get into the room before 4pm. We were unpacked by 1:30pm.
The food we had a few times at the various on site restaurants was good to great.
Great was at the Bistro Restaurant. Had the shrimp tacos and tortilla soup.
Good was the Argentinian steak night at the LaNao restaurant. Not what I was expecting. Service was good, but I was expecting more of a Brazilian steakhouse kind of place. Oh well.
We spend most of the day at the pool, and head into town at night. We can't say enough about the service at the pool. Arturo, Cesar, Christian, Fidencio(?), and Raciel. They made sure we had towels, chairs, umbrellas, drinks and food. No long waits. (We do tip them a little better than normal, so they take good care of us)
The pool manager is Roberto. What a great, fun, intelligent individual. Lots of stories, very friendly. We had him work on some things for us, and his follow up was excellent. He has great people skills, and it was very easy to communicate with him. He should be in the lobby as a Concierge guy. It would suit him well.

We tried the all inclusive for one day. It was some sort of deal. I would not do it again, because we found ourselves trying to eat and drink more than usual. We received more than our money's worth, yessirree! It probably works real well for some people, but not our thing.
The resort is still beautiful. The location and view are second to none. From the balconies and the pool, we saw more whales this year than in most previous years.
Will be going back!

Room Tip: It all depends what you want. We like buildings 13 to 16, as it is close to Pool 17. It's half...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have been coming to PBSB twice a year for the last 9 years. For Mexico, this place is still very good. But, continual changes always leave me scratching my head as to "why did they do that?"

For example, the happy hour drink specials used to be at different pools throughout the afternoon, I was fun to migrate to the different pools, then it became the same time everywhere in the late afternoon. Now, its Noon to 1:00pm???
Some marketing genius looked at the drink sales spreadsheet and saw that the slowest time to the day for drink sales in the bars was noon to 1, and decided to boost the sales then??? Now, there still are very low drink sales from noon to 1pm....no one is buying two for one drinks at noon....what a surprise. They would more than make up for the slow sales in the middle of the day if the Happy Hour special was moved back to a time of day when people like to drink--Late Afternoon. No charge for the marketing tip.

Be Careful buying food in the Deli, a lot of the fresh food does not have a price tag on it!!!!!Surprise

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drj070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The stay was great! Many fun activities by the pool & on the beach with Julio. The service was great also & my room with the ocean view was fabulous. Could here the sounds of the waves at night and see the wales in the day!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DelaneyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We've been coming to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach for a few years now, and bought a week at our first visit. This year we've enjoyed the Sunset Sushi restaurant, both for its menu and its outdoor ambience. Daniel Franco at the daytime AquaBar at Villa 40 pool gave us excellent service and was so friendly and fun.

Sunset Beach is one of the nicest places in the greater Cabo area. It is away from the action, but that is also what makes it so relaxing and renewing. Cabs are always available, and cab shares cut the costs way down.

There are continuing concerns about the vacation ownership issues in these reviews. Let me say that Alberto Gutierrez in the Sales Office met with us and another friend who owns a week and got our concerns and requests resolved well and in a timely way. He gets the owners' needs and the different reasons people want to have vacation ownership at Sunset Beach. One would hope that all of his colleagues in the sales there would learn his way of carefully listening and helping those who want to purchase reach their goals.

The grounds looked great, showing the care for the outside ambience that makes Sunset Beach so beautiful and relaxing. For the most part the golf cart transportation worked well, a nice improvement.

We agree that the all-inclusive is worth the price. Glad to hear more restaurants are slated to open in the future as at holiday times people get turned away because all the bookings are full, which means waiting in a long line at the Bistro restaurant. Service in the restaurants is good, even at the crowded holiday time we've just spent there.

When Sunset Beach gets the new internet service to rooms up and going, it will be terrific, although I have to say that gathering at the wifi hot spots did lead to some nice conversations we would not have had otherwise.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of resort offer nice views with wave sounds still heard. Easy to get to all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeeker300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, TX
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I own 5 weeks in the Pueblo Bonito system. My favorite location is Sunset Beach. I originally bought with sales agent Alberto Gutierrez who I recommend to anyone as an expert on Cabo, a careful listener to what you want, and a very helpful problem-solver. He responds to emails and helps you connect you the persons in the PB system who can solve your questions if he cannot. He's the BEST!

The property continues to be upgraded. The biggest problem is the lack of internet, even in public places where it's supposed to be available. It's inconvenient if you need to be online for part of your stay. This is being addressed but I've had two years there now with the same problem.

They've added a sushi bar at Building 40 (where we stayed for the second time this year) and it's gotten good reviews. Bistro is OK. La Nao's buffets are average. La Frida is terrific with a $20 upcharge from the all inclusive. Service at the pool and in the restaurants is usually slow.

Cleaning of rooms this year was excellent. I didn't care for the feather padding in the beds this year. All inclusive is easy and not overly expensive. Golf carts are sometimes prompt and sometimes slow. The property is large enough that it's sometimes hard to connect with individual staff as is true is some of the smaller properties. The deli off the main lobby is well-stocked with a variety of foods and daily newspapers. All staff are fluent in English except the maids, some of whom are and others not. The spa is wonderful.

We were in a 2-BR suite this year. The second bedroom didn't have a safe, which was a disappointment. There is also no desk. The chairs in the second bedroom are low and the table is high -- which doesn't work for easy computer use. The balcony was wide and inviting. However, it could have used a drying rack on the 2nd bedroom side.

The setting is lovely. Combining points make it possible to stay longer or to consider a week at the Monte Cristo properties which have their own pools, 3 bedrooms, washer/dryer.

Room Tip: Higher floors in each building have better views. Select a building by one of the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmdevries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing