We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We've been owners since 2009 and have not regretted the purchase. The resort is huge and sometimes the wait for cart service is ridiculously long but overall those complaints pale in comparison to how beautiful the resort is (including the view of the Pacific Ocean). Sunset definitely has an older crowd but it didn't deter us from having a good time. If you want the party scene, catch the shuttle to the Rose and party on the Medano Beach. When you're done, come back to Sunset and enjoy peace and tranquility on the private (NO VENDORS) beach. The great thing about being on the resort with older people is that they go to bed early and we often had the entire pool and hot tub areas to ourselves in the evenings. The staff members were very pleasant, always greeting us with a friendly, "Hola", in passing. Blanca, bless her heart, tried to sell us another timeshare the whole time we were there! A polite "no" to her invitation to the presentation sent her away, smiling. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I liked our rooms in Building 31....if the cart service was busy, we were close enough to walk to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tgraysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,127
    2,063
    787
    350
    222
See reviews for
3,233
3,036
99
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We love this resort and have been owners since 2006. The view is absolutely gorgeous, every room has an ocean view! The grounds are amazing! It is bit of a drive from town(12.00 USD cab ride each way) but we love how private it is and the sunsets are incredible. We absolutely love the staff! Some of our favorites at pool 17 are Christian, Fidencio, Arturo and Alejandro. They are so much fun and the service is always great! Brander at the Sky pool is the best and we look forward to seeing him every year. We absolutely love Benito at the La Nao breakfast! He is so friendly and treats us like we are family. He makes our trip! Maria a supervisor at La Nao is wonderful, she has such a sweet presence and is welcoming and friendly!

We have noticed that the food quality has declined over the years. Not sure if this has anything to do with the push for the all inclusive program. We wish that there was a little more variety at the restaurants. The buffet style is not always appealing.

Overall, this is an absolutely wonderful hotel with a great staff! Make sure you watch at least one sunset from the Sky Pool!

Room Tip: You really cant get a bad room as every room has an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This resort is awesome. The size and scale may not be for everyone but with big scale comes big variety. Great pools and great amenities. Food was much better than I expected and the service was incredible no matter where you went. There definitely seened to be an older crowd (55+) but that was not a negative. The grounds and facilities were very well maintained and the room I had was very well appointed. I enjoyed the location and the peacefullness it offered. Having access to the other PB resorts was great and we took advantage of the free shuttle one day to enjoy Blanco and Rose resorts. This resort is not for you if you are loking for a compact layout with short distances to everything.

Room Tip: I enjoyed our room that was higher up the hill and above the lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KiwiBrendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here in April of 2011 not 2013......This resort is just too big, ridiculously overpriced, inconvenient to get around, long check in and check out process, and restaraunt staff at the lower restaraunt were openly rude and not wanting to accomate preparing the fish we caught on our fishing trip. All but one of the restaraunts on site are grossly overpriced, and require reservations. I shouldn't have to make reservations at a freaking resort! The kitchen units were disappointingly small, NOTHING on the counters when you arrive are complimentary, you consume them, you pay for it, and I don't know about you, but $9 for a liter of bottled water is absolutely ridiculous. Although the main sleeping suite was gorgeous, comfortable and spacious, the furniture/spare bed in living room area was old, uncomfortable and cheap. I am a Worldmark owner that booked this through the RCI exchange, and we were inundated with up to 3 daily phone calls from their time share sales staff to attend presentations and buy. I found this incredibly annoying. We booked a fishing trip through the concierge service and got hooked up with a fishing charter group that tried to rip us off blind at the marina in Cabo. We booked a whole day for 3 people, they tried to take us back early, wanted our fish that we caught, and when we gave them a $50 tip at the end of the day, the captain chased me down the pier demanding a bigger tip! Upon check-out, check your bill carefully, they attempt to add on "charitable" donations to the owner's daughters sea turtle conservation group without your permission! I was warned about this and demanded they remove the charges. If you're not in good physical shape, walking anywhere on this resort is difficult. They do provide golf cart transportation on the resort, but I found this time consuming and not enjoyable when vacationing with older family members. Just getting to the private beach in front of the resort is a time consuming effort if you are on the upper levels of the resort. This resort only allows one taxi company to service guests so no choice there, and there is no access to more affordable public transportation because of where the resort is located. Be prepared to spend a fortune in cab fares for your excursions into town. Okay, now for the good points. The balconies are large and do have gorgeous views, great for whale watching in April, which we enjoyed almost every morning. The grounds are immaculate and well maintained and the pools are beautiful. Make sure you experience sunset at the upper infinity pool at least once. We had a non-working coffee maker in our unit and they did bring a replacement within 20 minutes of a phone call. This trip was a mediocre experience at best, with wealthy guests and owners that make sure you know you're second class, are unfriendly and quite frankly unpleasant to be around. I will not be booking a Pueblo Bonito stay again, many other smaller, more accesible/affordable and friendlier resorts in Cabo and San Jose to choose from.

Room Tip: Try and get a lower level room to be closer to the beach and largest and nicest pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nyteowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonne Terre
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have been an owner since 2002
Everyone is fabulous, especially:
Ramon and Francisco at the Bistro, Jesus at the Manilla Bar, Daniel at the main pool, Daniel at pool 40, Omar at pool 26, Christain at pool 17, Brander at the sky pool, the pregnant lady at the Martini bar!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patann0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Demographics - loads of 60-something couples. Not many families with kids. Two groups of 20-somethings who missed each other in different pools. Couple of cougars without any cubs in sight. A few young couples.

Executive Suites [*****] - Spacious, clean, and well-appointed. Gorgeous views.

Food (***/*/0) - 850 species of fish in the Sea of Cortez, and they offer only sea bass and shrimp; appalling. The Bistro (***) offers good food with modest ingredients - eat here and nowhere else if you decide to stay. Have lunch at the pool bars (*) for stool-softening Tex-Mex. La Nao (0 - must be Spanish for "Nausea") - disgusting. La Nao offers beef "leg" (yes, the part usually reserved for hot dogs) and other cheap ingredients with poor prep work. Example: they sautéed shrimp in a heavy sauce for my wife and son, but neglected to devein or shell them! My wife was in a nice dress with red gunk all over her hands. Seriously?!! Don't be fooled by intriguing sounding events like "Caribbean," "Seafood," and "Champagne Brunch" - the leftovers from each meal move on to the next!

Drinks (***) - good assortment of beer, several top-shelf liquors, and pleasant red and white wine.

Pools (****) - fun and numerous. But, the "Kid's" pool had few children, 1970s music, and smoking adults. Many 60-somethings with eBooks and a drink. G-rated swimming attire.

Staff (*****-*) - best maids (*****) I've ever witnessed. These diligent ladies spent 45 minutes each day per room; immaculate results. Wait staff (**) in restaurants are not in synch with the cooks (**); I saw my meal sit for 10 minutes before it was finally served. Another time, my son was served a half hour before us (?). Most servers around the pools (*) are inattentive and slow. Many staff members (*) are shamelessly pushing time-shares on you; JUST SAY "NO."

Beach (*) - get within 15 feet of the water only if you want to whistled at by the beach patrol. The other hotel is 30 minutes away and the bus comes only once each hour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had never been to Los Cabos so we decided to try Sunset Beach. Couldn't transfer through PB as previously promised. Had to deposit our week at Emerald Bay with RCI and then rebook.

Ok, now for the pros and cons:
Pros: Great views, accommodations of the quality that we've come to expect with Pueblo Bonito, onsite restaurants had great food and service, shuttle to town/PB Rose on time and predictable, Free WiFi in lobby restaurants and pool areas, so if you're close to one of those you might get it in your room. But, sometimes spotty coverage.

Cons: Resort is built on a steep hill so PB provides golf cart shuttles to get from top to bottom and points in between. If you can handle the walking, it's great exercise and much, much quicker. Carts are operated with on-demand schedules, which means you make a call to the lobby and they dispatch. However we didn't find this to be efficient or reliable. Lots of time standing around waiting (+:30 minutes versus a :10 walk). Reception desk and concierge were of lesser quality than we're used to. Multiple clerical mistakes, more waiting in line, and just not the level of service we've had in the past.

Other: To get to town, you have to use the free shuttle to PB Rose or $20 for a one-way cab. As owners in Emerald Bay, we're used to this but be prepared to spend some travel time to get to town. Beach is not swimmable but great for walking, and because of the distance from town - no beach vendors! If you're looking at a bungalow beachside, be aware that there are a lot of weddings on the beach and you may be attending some from your room/patio! PB is really selling all-inclusive right now so if you're not inclined, you won't be able to bring food/drink to any pool area - you will get bounced. Prepay for the shared shuttle before you leave home. $44 per person each way. Nothing cheaper available and very convenient to setup before you get there.

Room Tip: Higher floors allow you to see and hear the surf. More insect life on ground floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JefeInColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
6.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,705 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing