We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sunset and really enjoyed it. The staff and everyone we came in contact with was very helpful and friendly. We will be back. We used our time share points and was upgraded to a beach front one bedroom. Very nice condos, great balcony. We loved listening to the waves crash on shore. Swam with Dolphins, and played golf.

Room Tip: Cabo Adventures were great, we swam with the Dolphins. We loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KDees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,136 - 7,142 of 9,750 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We randomly picked this resort in Cabo and could not have gotten a better experience. We selected a one bedroon, two bath unit with the all inclusive and would MOST DEFINATELY pick the same on our next trip there. This was our first experience to a Mexican Resort and it will not be our last.
The unit was clean and the grounds around the complex were extremely clean and beautiful as well. We met one of the gardners Israel and he made our trip extra special. He worked around Building 26 and my wife mentioned how much she liked all the flowers which lead to him making her a little bouquet on a number of days. We made a point to find him after breakfast every day so we could practice a little Spanish and he could practice his English - however his English was much better than our Spanish!!! He really made our day and our trip!
We loved our building location, we had a pool below our balcony which of course overlooked the Pacific Ocean, were less than 3 minute walk to the Adult Pool and about a 15 minute walk up to the Sky Pool. We had about a 7 - 10 minute walk to the La Nao buffet restaurant, beach and Main Pool and a 3 minute walk to the LaBistro restaurant, lobby and lobby bar. We made a point to walk as much as we could as we ate so much good food we still put on pounds - great problem. We used the cart service on the day we arrived to haul our luggage, one the day we left and one time when we went to the wrong location for the Mexican Buffet and Show. (Our error did not read the information we were given) Our longest wait for the cart was 2 minutes so no complaints there.
Our room was not ready when we checked in, but we were early so we ducked down to the LaBistro restaurant to have a late lunch wondering if we made the right decision on the "all inclusive" well let's just say were were there one hour and already eating wonderful sashimi, great salads, perfectly grilled sea bass in lemon butter sauce and yummy deserts. That started our patern of having sashimi or excellent spicy tuna sushi for every meal in LaBistro I think we did not eat anything but excellent sea bass, excellent coconut crusted shrimp and great salads and deserts for every meal. I'm sure the rest of the items were great as well but when you can have this why eat what you can get at home??? By the way try it for breakfast at least once the Pueblo Bonito Eggs come with the best refried beans either my wife or I have ever eaten!!!
We found for lunch the fish, shrimp and aquachile ceviche at the pool swim up bar was wonderful. Watch out the aquachile is only available at the Sky Pool and it is SPICY. We mixed it with the fish and shrimp ceviche and turned it into an absolutely deliteful lunch on most days. I think Zenon and Jesus must of thought we were crazy at the Sky Pool but this combination with the Baily Special and Pina Colata drinks made for an outstanding afternoon - bring sunblock as once you get in the pools you really don't want to get out. They provided great towel service, great food and beverage service and even had bathrooms at every pool so there was not a reason in the world not to spend lots of time enjoying the pools. You can actually swim a little at the Adult Pool the rest are more set up for lounging around.
In the evening Wednesdays thru Saturday just off the lobby bar they had live music so you could have a few drinks and dance on the open air balcony. We missed the Sunday evening wine and cheese with live music but next time...
The seafood buffet had extra good appetizers like ceviche with octopus, scallops, fish, shrimp and clams. The entres were just average but the appetizers, salads and deserts more than made up for that. Next time we spring for the extra cost grilled lobsters!!
One night we ate at the extra cost LaFrida restaurant. By all means spend the extra money and have an outstanding meal. Be sure to order the Mexican Carmel for desert - a souflee with melted carmel in the middle with a little scoop of ice cream. Everything form the appitizers to the salad to the entre and the desert was great. We really enjoyed ourselves and considered going a second time but we just ran out of time.
When you go turn off the cell phone not too good reception anyway, forget about the "free" internet not worth the hassle and just relax.
If you take any of the "free" offerings to listen to the sales pitch do not expect much from the Sunset Dinner Cruise. Got to see the Cabo Arch from the Bay but the drinks and expecially the food really sucked big time. We threw ours away and went back to the LaBistro for an excellent late dinner.
Also the night before you check out order a box lunch for the next morning. We had a great turkey sandwich, apple and water to take on the plane with us to eat on the way home. What a great way to extend a wonderful week.
I did keep track of my receipts - we arrived Tuesday afternoon and by Saturday morning we had already spent more on food and drinks than what we paid for the all inclusive. Great value and we truly enjoyed our meals. Don't get in a rush relax and enjoy yourself!!!!!
We absolutely cannot wait to get back to Publo Bonito Sunset Beach. Maybe we should stay for two weeks instead!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 26 fourth floor - kind of a central location with pools nearby, great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wacotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Management has let the resort facilities slide a bit. There were tile gaps in the pools, problems with the spa equipment, the pool water was dirty (all except one), and there was an insufficient amount of staff. After the poor feedback I received from my fellow vacationers I am glad that I didn't pay for the all inclusive package this time around. Hopefully by my next visit Sunset will live up to its once pristine reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CJVasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, regarding the pool's condition, we are aware of the repairment that has to be made in order for our guests to feel more comfortable and satisfied in our pools, but due to the high occupancy that we've had for the last months we haven't been able to get the work done, we will be making these repairments this upcoming September.

Please check your personal messages for more details.

Best Regards,
Jose Ernseto Coppel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My fiance and I just returned from our wonderful vacation at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. We had booked this resort through our vacation club exchange and didn't know what to fully expect. Located on the Pacific Coast, with every room hosting an ocean view, we were able to listen to the sound of the waves every evening while we slept. The staff were truly helpful and friendly. La Frida offered a romantic dinner with a minimal upcharge from our all-inclusive purchase. The Spa services were incredible and the pool service amazing. The housekeeping service was professional and on-point and we never had to wait longer than 5 minutes for our golf cart that provided us "door to door" service to some of the resort's out of walking distance destinations. The Sunday Brunch at La Nao offered a romantic atmosphere as well as beautiful views from their floor to ceiling windows. We have never experienced such a wonderful vacation and decided to become time-share owners. What I can tell you is that sales staff did not pressure us at all. They provided us the information and it made sense to us to have Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach become our annual reset button. The presentation was truly 90 minutes including the tour of their beautiful property. We also received great discounts on our all-inclusive rate as well as 50% off our excursions. Special tips: When arriving to the airport as you exit customs head directly to the right to exit the airport. If you are escorted to the left through the other "exit doors" you enter time share presentation recruiters from various resorts. It was frustrating to say the least. Lastly, have a stack of ones with you. Tipping the golf cart drivers as well as the housekeeping staff went a long way in making the day of people who truly work hard for their money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I just returned from PBSB this past Friday. Our initial experience with hotel staff was with a staff member, who I believe was named "Christina". After checking in, Christina offered us our "Welcome Package". This package is nothing more than several pamphlets and brochures for tours and excursions, i.e. swim with the dolphins. Christina, the supposed "Welcomer" uses this welcome package, as leverage by offering discounts on these tours, as long as you agree to attend their sales breakfast. I politely declined in SPANISH, and this clearly aggravated Christina. She went on to tell me (very rudely), "Well then pay full price!" We surely felt welcomed after that experience.
As far as the "All Inclusive" option is concerned. If you don't mind mediocre food and planning your dinners in advance, because even for dinner buffets reservations are REQUIRED, then I guess it's worth it. We've been to other resorts, where All Inclusive truly means ALL Inclusive. No additional charges for certain restaurants and/ or menu items, and especially no reservations for the dinner buffets. Apparently, even The Bistro requires reservations for dinner, even though that is not noted on the list of restaurants included with the All Inclusive plan. Much of the wait at the restaurants is due to the obvious lack of staff. There are several tables available however, they remain empty because they are not cleaned, due to the shortage of bussing staff.
Also, the main pool appears to not get daily maintenance. The first few days of our trip, the pool was very murky. The upper portion of the pool remained closed on Tuesday for maintenance. Again, something that we've never experienced at other resorts.
Finally, check your invoice when checking out. I discovered a charge for 50 pesos for an apparent "tip" at The Bistro. Two problems, first, any tip I left was in CASH, and secondly, the tip was charged on an evening we did not eat at The Bistro.
Needless to say, we will not be returning to this so called resort. We are members of RCI and will be definitely reviewing PBSB on their website also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We truly appreciate your comments and taking the time to review us, regarding Cristina our person in charge of the welcome desk, we extend our most sincere apology and can assure you that we will take action based on the feedback you are giving us, that is not the attitude we agree to give to our guests and we feel really sorry that you had this experience. Regarding the rest of your experience with us, we are already working on those areas that will help us improve the quality of the service we strive to provide each day.

Please check your personal messages for more details.

Best Regards,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Beautiful resort,excellent service.Roberto was an amazing server at the main pool.We also had a great experience with Israel,Peublo Bonito beaches greatest groundskeeper! Would highly recommend this vacation destination!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sluggerson03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed and had an AMAZING time!!! We traveled with a 4yr & 2yr old and enjoyed ourselves greatly. The location is beautiful, the views were lovely, the property overall was excellent, the pools were good, the top sunset pool was amazing, pool bars in every one, the service was friendly and accommodating, the atmosphere of the entire resort was relaxed and casual, but overall a very elegant, beautiful resort. The spa is a must, the massages were so good! The food was good too, plenty of options on the all inclusive, we felt no restrictions at all, (would def advise to book into restaurants the night prior though), the strawberry daiquiris were delicious!! Even the gym was the best I'd seen in any other hotel. Our room was spacious and really good for the four of us, clean and tidy, it had kitchenette, 2 bathrooms, 2 beds, lounge, balcony...it was excellent, they also put us overlooking the kids pool which was handy.

Overall we had a great time, the resort is on a private, picturesque beach, not ideal for swimming, but pretty to look at and walk on, so it is secluded to a point, but in a good location, but not too far from town (free shuttle bus to sister hotels was handy too), built up on mountain face but handy little golf carts drive you around, it is a lovely resort, I am so glad we stayed here:))))

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Troyanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
3.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.9 mi away
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#24 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
468 reviews
2 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $278 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing