We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful venue / Poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a long review but we'd like to share our experience with others who might be planning to visit this hotel.

We stayed at the Sunset Beach the first week in July. We don’t know if it was because of the holidays but the service was not as good as expected. In any case, if they expect to be full they should hire more people. They were understaffed.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, it’s quiet, has nice views, an outstanding landscaping. The food is good but their menu doesn’t vary that much. The waitresses and other staff were polite and provided an amazing service, but the hotel has serious management issues.

Shuttle from/to Airport -.
When we reserved our week on the phone two weeks before our trip, they told us there was a shuttle service available at the airport. They forgot to mention that the hotel does not provide this service and you have to reserve it through private transportation companies at the airport, at $20 - $22 per person each way.

Check-in.
We had reserved our week at the Pacifica and when we arrived there at 4:30 pm, we were told they had moved us to Sunset Beach. No explanation. They never told us why the change. They were good at confirming our reservations at the Pacifica via e-mail but neglected to notify us about the change to Sunset Beach.
They didn’t give us a map of the hotel.
They forgot to open a credit line at check-in. We had dinner at the Bistro and around midnight the waiter woke us up to say we had no credit and needed to go downstairs to fix it. Took me 15 minutes to connect with the Reception Desk to open our credit.

Next day we decided to visit Rose in downtown. We went to the lobby to take the shuttle and were asked for our ticket. Again, they forgot to mention that you have to “reserve” a seat way ahead of time because they fill quickly and depending on the time of the day you have to wait an hour or two. They also forgot to tell us that their shuttle does not leave from the lobby and you have to take a golf cart to the Sunrise Café. We almost missed our bus the first day.

We did the all inclusive four days only. We had a color band put on our wrists in Sunset Beach and went for lunch at Pacifica. When we got there the waiter said we couldn’t have the all-inclusive because we were coming from Sunset Beach. We had to explain (this time and a few other times during our stay) that our original reservation was at Pacifica but they moved us to Sunset Beach and we were allowed to eat/drink at any of the hotels. He checked with the administration, apologized to us and changed our wrist bands. If you book a rooms at Pacifica the all-inclusive is good for any of the others hotels. But if you reserve at any of the other hotels, Pacifica is not part of the all-inclusive.

Internet
Unacceptable. There is no internet connection in the room. They offer Wi-Fi at two locations only. There are computers available for those who do not bring their own at $5.00 for 30 minutes. Print outs cost $1.00 per page. We are in total disagreement with this. Timeshare owners should have this service for free.

Restaurants
Food in general is good but limited. They offer the same menu for breakfast every day.
Breakfast in La Nao was good. The only problem is that is so packed that you have to wait in line between 15-30 minutes to get a table, plus other 10-15 to order, and another 10-15 to get served. At dinner time you have to make reservations in advance, better the night before or you won’t get a chance.

On our last day we went to The Bistro for breakfast. We got there at 9:15 am and our transportation to the Airport was leaving at 10:45. By 10:20 we were still waiting for our breakfast. In the end, we had to take it with us and eat it at the airport! Totally unacceptable. We ordered pizza and they didn’t have it because the oven had caught on fire two weeks prior and they didn’t know when would be working again. They should take this option out of their menus or let patrons know in advance.

Room Service
My husband got sick one day and stayed in our room. When he woke up at night we ordered something to eat. They said the kitchen was quite busy and it would take them 45 minutes to deliver – actually, our food arrived two hours later, almost at midnight.

Pools
If you want to spend a day by the pool you have to get there by 9 am at the latest or you’ll be on your own. Not enough chairs available and the pools are overcrowded. Food service is good.

Weddings
If Pueblo Bonito wants to rent their hotel for weddings, they should keep it out of the recreation areas that we owners pay for. It’s okay to have them at the beach but the Sky Pool should not be closed all day for a wedding reception. This causes overcrowding in the other pools, considering that weddings are usually on Fridays and Saturdays.

All-inclusive
Way too expensive. Not all of their restaurants are in the all-inclusive plan. You have to pay a $20 fee for their top-notch restaurants and in general the food is always the same and over-priced. Better go and enjoy what they offer in town. You’ll save a lot.

Check-out
Make sure to review your bill before you pay. We were charged almost $100.00 extra for food at the Sunrise Café. We never ate there. They pulled out the ticket and someone else had signed using our room number.

If Pueblo Bonito wants to maintain their status as a **** hotel, they need to address these administrative issues, the sooner the better. The staff tried their hardest, they were polite, courteous, friendly, but they are overwhelmed with problems they cannot solve. Thanks to them our vacation was not a total disaster.

The resort is beautiful but until they change it for the best we are not sure we will want to come back. And if we do we will definitely stay out of the all-inclusive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Irma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Irma B,

We truly appreciate your comments and feedback about your stay with us, we would like to thank you for letting us know all these details, this is what helps us to know we our weaknesses are. I'm attaching you our official notice regarding some issues you mentioned above;

We are actually aware of some of the issues that you are mentioning and that are also mentioned by other guests on TripAdvisor. During our Meetings, we read and analyze the TripAdvisor comments and we establish action plans based on many of the feedback we find on forums like TripAdvisor, our social media channels as well as our guest surveys.
We believe that some of the mentioned issues such as the shuttle service, the internal transportation system and some of our food & beverage outlets have been generated after the internal restructuring of our company. Since we ventured into the all inclusive and meal plan modes, we have had an increase of guests per room and more and more of our owners are purchasing these great deals too. This in itself causes the demand of the services to sometimes be superior to what we have been offering in our various areas.

Of course, we were pleasantly surprised by the increase in demand, but it has also required that we make some improvements in certain areas to meet this demand. We have already taken immediate action to make these improvements and to enhance the services that you are going to receive from now on, which include the following:
- creation of an Italian restaurant in the chapel terrace / Monasterio Salon, set to open November 2013;
- an outdoor Japanese restaurant located in the villa 40 pool that will serve lunch and dinner, set to open by November 2013;
- the remodeling and expansion of our La Nao restaurant, set to be ready by October 2013;
- an addition of two ceviche bars in the main pool and the adult pool located in the villa 17;

On top of increasing and improving the food & beverage outlets we are also working on the relocation of the suite service kitchen, the purchasing of more service carts and the hiring of more staff. All of these improvements are currently in the works and I am sure that this will address a lot of the issues.

Also, regarding the internal and inter-hotel transportation, we are acquiring more golf carts and we are negotiating with the taxi union so that we can add an additional shuttle bus. We believe that these additions will sufficiently improve the transportation services.

We really hope to welcome you anytime in the future.

Best Regards,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,899 - 6,905 of 9,436 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed at Sunset 5 times over the last 8 years. Part of the time the economy was bad so the resort was not sold out and the last 7 years have been great. This year not so much. I did NOT do the all-inclusive because I eat at various locations in town but, in general the pool service was horribly slow and they needed more staff. Food was okay.

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I went here with my family for a relative's wedding (which was amazing- they built seating in the sand around a bonfire for us!). The place is beautiful but here are the problems we had:
1. Communication is impossible. The place is HUGE and you need to catch a ride on a golf cart to get from one side to the other. There are also a bunch of different pools and places to eat and bars. Since we couldn't use our cell phones meeting up with people when were all trying to relax and be on our own schedule was impossible. You can call from room to room, but once someone has left their room for breakfast, it is impossible to find/meet up with anyone.
2. Everything took SO LONG to get. You wait in line for a half hour to get breakfast then you sit for 20 min at dinner before they take your order. One night it took us over an hour to get our main course. You just feel like you dont even want to eat because it take so long.
3. The food wasn't good. It was bland and at the big Sunday breakfast they serve leftovers from the week.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank karensatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Karesatkins,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, we feel very happy to hear that you had an amazing time during your relative's wedding. We would also like to let you know that there is nothing we can do with the cell phone signal, it all depends on your cell phone provider, specially when it's a foreign provider that doesn't work with Telcel, the mexican cell phone company.
Regarding the restaurants issue, I'm attaching you a part of our official notice that states important information about it;

Since we ventured into the all inclusive and meal plan modes, we have had an increase of guests per room and more and more of our owners are purchasing these great deals too. This in itself causes the demand of the services to sometimes be superior to what we have been offering in our various areas.

Of course, we were pleasantly surprised by the increase in demand, but it has also required that we make some improvements in certain areas to meet this demand. We have already taken immediate action to make these improvements and to enhance the services that you are going to receive from now on, which include the following:
- creation of an Italian restaurant in the chapel terrace / Monasterio Salon, set to open November 2013;
- an outdoor Japanese restaurant located in the villa 40 pool that will serve lunch and dinner, set to open by November 2013;
- the remodeling and expansion of our La Nao restaurant, set to be ready by October 2013;
- an addition of two ceviche bars in the main pool and the adult pool located in the villa 17;

On top of increasing and improving the food & beverage outlets we are also working on the relocation of the suite service kitchen, the purchasing of more service carts and the hiring of more staff. All of these improvements are currently in the works and I am sure that this will address a lot of the issues.

We really hope to welcome you and your family anytime in the future.

Best,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been to sunset Beach for the last 10 years. It is by far my most relaxing vacation. There are at least 5 pools,2 of which are adult pools. Do not take the all inclusive plan. The bistro restaurant is excellent for breakfast or lunch

Room Tip: Get a room near the adult pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank legalbeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The grounds of this resort looks five star, when we were there in June 2013. However, the service each and every day very poor- on the level of a 3 star hotel. The front desk, restaurant & pool staff and spa experience- were all very under par. It is not at all what I would expect from a place that boasts the ratings they've received over the years from reputable travel experts.

The place has potential to improve, but the management needs help. We fought over ridiculous things with them each and every day. Made for a stressful time when we were trying to relax and enjoy our vacation. All of the restaurants get booked up, so you have to make reservations for dinner every night, before you arrive. Otherwise, you'll have to wait around and eat dinner at 10pm. The quality of the food is very poor too. The only restaurant we enjoyed was Frida and it is very pricey. Room service takes 2 hours too! Overall, not what you expect by looking at the pictures!!

Even though my husband owns a place there, we would never want to go back.

Room Tip: The suites with the private hot tubs on the deck are very nice- great ocean views too!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Traveled to PBSB the week of July 1. We have been timeshare owners there for the last 5 years. I read the reviews before leaving and was surprised to read the negative comments. Had things really changed that much since our last visit 2 years ago? Unfortunately, yes. Service was bad and waits were long. The workers were kind but there just weren’t enough of them to serve all the guests. The resort recently started offering the all-inclusive option but they are not able to meet the demand. There aren’t enough restaurant options on property or enough servers/cooks at the existing restaurants. All I can say is make all of your dinner reservations for the week when you arrive if you plan to eat dinner there. Things book up fast. We won’t be taking the AI option in the future. We’ll have dinner off site.

Some of the workers from years ago are still there like our guy Carlos at the sky pool. He is the best. The sky pool…another sore subject. It was closed for 3 days in a row for weddings. Bummer. There are other pool options but the sky pool has the best view.

WiFi is also an issue. They don’t even have it available in the lobby and I heard it was slow. We didn’t even bother.

The resort is still beautiful even with all the disappointments.

Room Tip: All rooms have full or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NativeTexan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

1. Beautiful scenery and facilities are excellent.
2. My dining experience was horrible, the waiters were not attentive, it took an hour to get any kind of food. My waffles were cold. They ran out of water????!!!!, the food was bland. I got the all inclusive package but service was horrible. The servers were rude.
3. At check out I was charged $3.00 for a non-profit organization. Would not have known if I did not ask..that is called stealling.
4. Rude receptionist, pushy people trying to sell vacation share.
5. 5 Stare = Great Expectation...it was not there.

Room Tip: Room in building 29 has your own private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
3.1 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#11 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,069 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4,269 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $272 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing