We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Noticeable Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Noticeable Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited PB Sunset Beach the first week of May and brought a friend who had never been there before and noticed much improvement over my last visit. Check-in was a breeze with Oswaldo behind the desk. He was very personable and patient with all my friend's first-timer questions. Clearly an outstanding employee. We had only a short wait for a golf cart to take us to our room. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and we didn't get hassled any further after our first "no thanks" to the owner's meeting invitation. The next morning I noticed the hair dryer was missing and one was brought to me in a short 15 minutes after calling. Same quick response when our coffee maker broke.

I did notice the menu at Le Bistro had changed a bit, and the prices have gone up considerably. Also, the pool menu prices had drastically changed since our last visit, but I suppose this is due to the all-inclusive they are trying to push. While we only ate a few meals on the property restaurants, the food was good but a bit overpriced. The pool service we received this time was so much better than my previous visit. Daniel is by far the best! He was cheerful and efficient and so very entertaining. We were never left wanting for anything as long as he was around. I noticed the main pool appeared to be repaired a bit from all the missing/loose tiles that spoiled it last time. Also, the spa jets at the end of the main pool were working again. Your activities personel did a good job getting people involved-Susie stands out as an energetic director of fun!

It was great to see your staff is now enforcing the "no chair saving" rule at the pools. Last year I watched as the "savers" would leave their stuff then disappear for hours last time and it just wasn't fair. This time your pool chair enforcer would watch in the morning and if the people didn't return in 15 minutes or so, he would take their stuff and stow it safely in the towel hut. He was very professional and very kind when the people returned and retrieved their items.

We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSN2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,082
    1,712
    672
    315
    199
See reviews for
2,560
2,542
83
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,049)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We traveled to Sunset Beach with two other couples for a much needed two week vacation. All of us purchased the all inclusive option for both weeks.

First the above average:
1. The rooms were great. Great views, Well maintained. Very comfortable.
2. The service staff at the pools and the resteraunts were, with a couple of very minor exceptions, fast, friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
3. Time Share Reps. Once we explained that we already owned a time share with Pueblo Bonito and were not interested (no matter what the incentives were) they left us alone and there were no hassles.
4. The cart service, when we used it, was very good. Fast response and very friendly drivers.

Second, the below average:
1. The food at the resort is not what should be expected for this "grade" of resort. We've had much better at their sister resorts in Mazatlan.
2. Their way of treating all inclusive guests. They demand that you sign for every guest check at every pool or restaurant before you leave and go somewhere else. This may seem picky, but at other resorts if you're all inclusive, you're all inclusive and there isn't so much paperwork.
3. All inclusive really isn't all inclusive. We knew in advance about the up charge at their best restaurants but were surprised to notice a premium upchange for several of the menu options at the La Nao. If it's going to be all inclusive, make it all inclusive.

Lastly, the down right bad. Their accounting system is so bad that it should be dumped.
1. What started out as a mild inconvience (signing slips at every place on the resort) got very bad at the start of the second week. On a daily basis, one of our group was told that our all inclusive plan was no longer valid. While this was fairly quickly fixed when we expressed a concern, it was never permanently fixed. We could be all inclusive at breakfast and at a pool but not all inclusive at dinner. Day after day.
2. The day before our check out I went to the lobby desk to make sure there were no problems with our bill. The nice young gentleman pulled up our account and said there was just one small charge for $30.00. Whe I asked what it was he couldn't, or wouldn't, explain it. He assured me he would get it resolved and things should be fine when we checked out the next morning.
3. At check out it wasn't resolved, just worse. Without telling me if there were any charges the clerk started asking how many people were in our room, then who we were traveling with and what rooms they were in. After answering, he asked who was in another room in the resort. I responded that I had no idea and had never been to that room and it wasn't a concern of mine. He asked again how many were in our room. I finally had enough and asked to speak to a manager. He said he would handle it and went into a side room off of the desk area for about 5 minutes. When he returned he said it was now all OK and gave us a check out bill that showed no balance.
4. We were not the only guests being hassled at check out. One couple that had the all inclusive plan was presented with a bill for over $2,000.00 for food and drinks for a two week stay. After much discussion it was cleared. Another couple spent almost 20 minutes going through the same hassles we experienced.

What we scheduled and paid for was a two week, stress free vacation. That isn't what we got at this resort. Management either needs to be changed or at least get a clue. With some of the great people you've got working there, it should be a five star resort. It's only because of them that I didn't give this property a lower rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortlandTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Ahhhh....Pacific Ocean - Check
Nice Resort - Check
Tequilla - Check
More drinks - Check

That said, the resort is massive. While they have Golf Carts that transport you from point A to Point B. I have to say that became the one con (and ultimately the star deduction) for this place. The room we had was at the very top of the hill (building 24) so everyday we were greeted with a magnificent view of the ocean. While the water is WAY too choppy to actually swim in, it's still a great look.

The Bistro restaurant at the hotel had really good breakfast but I found lunch and dinner at La Nao to be pretty underwhelming. Then when you factor in the prices....let's just say if it weren't for the rooms being so damn nice, I would have deducted another star and called the police for this robbery. This became even more apparent when we went into town (10 minutes away) and found MUCH better deals without any sacrifice of food quality.

Overall, the room we stayed in was marvelous and the service at the hotel was pretty good which is why I would recommend this place.

Suggestion: Make a 7 reservation for Sunset at Mona Lisa Restaurant....BEAUTIFUL view of the Arcs and the sunset and a complete photo ops.

If you're looking for a good party, mos def go to Squid Roe...and drinks lots of water because if you don't you'll have a hangover the next day.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigh220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us.
Hope to welcome you to Sunset Beach anytime soon.

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A few thoughts:

Positives:
Beautiful resort, 4-5 great pools, curious staff always willing to help
The rooms were great, spacious and very comfortable

Negatives:
Restaurants are not great to say the least, the food is pretty mediocre outside the pizza/burrito realm
It takes a long time to get a golf cart (and you really need it to get from place to place)
Pretty far from downtown Cabo and a cab is $12-15 each direction

Overall, very good experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view rooms, Villa 8 (where we stayed is close enough to all the restaurants and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RemoGlycer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wife & I are owners, bought in 2009 - Executive suite which has 2 bathrooms. Arrived April 8 after a week at PB Rose. Sunny but cool and windy. After staying at the top of the cliff, closest to the Sky Pool our first few years, last year we stayed in Building 11, closer to the beach, and we loved it. We stayed in Building 12, next door, room 1223 this year, and love this location as opposed to the hilltop. We walk everywhere so cart service is not an issue for us - the only time we got in a cart was when we arrived, and to leave with our luggage. This resort is much newer than Rose and Blanca, and is a completely different vibe - quieter, with generally an older crowd. We still love Medano beach so we catch the 10 AM shuttle every morning. Since Wife gets motion sickness, we are always at the front of the line so she can see out the windshield which helps keep her from barfing. This has the added advantage of getting to Rose's beach first to see if there are any decent spots left (at this time of year, there were). The shuttle now leaves from the new deli, and not from the main entrance. It can also get crowded and if you don't get your shuttle ticket early, you don't get a seat. The taxi union prevents (according to Sunset staff), the addition of another shuttle, and an earlier shuttle. So if you don't get your ticket, or want to get to the beach early, pay the taxi man. Last year we did three days of the all-inclusive (the minimum) and it was nice but expensive if you're not tanking down drinks, and we don't drink enough to make it worthwhile. The all-inclusive works at most restaurants of the BP resorts, but there is a premium for the high end ones like La Frida at SB. We cooked some pasta in the suite a couple nights, and ate in town a few times. We have always found the service and cleanliness to be outstanding at SB, Rose, and Blanca. If you are not an owner, you will be pressured for a time share presentation, but you can bargain for cash, golf, and other goodies. If you are headed to Cabo for the first time, (or the first time since they remodeled the airport) be aware that you will go through a gauntlet of extremely aggressive, lying time-share hustlers. Although we are experienced Cabo visitors, we got lied to about where to pick up our hotel transportation, and had to listen to a couple of time share appointment pitches. Arrange your transportation ahead of time, and just blow past the hucksters and get outside, no matter what they say. We use Cape Travel, which you can book and pay for on-line. Airport to PB Rose was $22 per person (reasonable, but up from $17 last year). It's the same price by shuttle back to the airport. All-in-all, PB Sunset Beach is a great resort with stunning views of the Pacific including whales and we look forward to our annual trip.

Room Tip: We love buildings 11 and 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Merman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We traded a two-bedroom week at Moritt’s Tortuga Club in Grand Cayman for a week at PSSB. It was quite the upgrade! We were given the two bedroom presidential suite with a Jacuzzi tub on the balcony. We had booked about 8 months in advance and had been in email contact to ensure we were given the type of room we requested.
I was very nervous about check-in, as I had read previous reviews about long lines, lost reservations and over-booking. My fears were quickly dispelled! There was absolutely no one in line (we arrived at about 4:20 PM). The woman checking us in was extremely polite and quickly informed us they were upgrading us to a suite with a hot tub on the deck for no extra charge! The whole process took about five minutes. She gave us a map and showed us where room 2351 was. She told us to get our “welcome gift” from the woman sitting by the door. The time share woman approached us and my Fiance let her know that we were only 24 (under the age limit to buy a timeshare). Even though he is 32 and I am 25 she immediately crossed our names off of her clip board and were not bothered for the duration of our trip.
Our room was absolutely beautiful and huge! Perfectly clean and with a gorgeous view of sunset beach. We liked being in walking distance to the sky pool. Sky Pool opens at 8 AM each day and we were there with towels when it opened. You must stay with your belongings or the sky pool manager will remove them! Sky pool was great because it was mostly adults. Very peaceful in the mornings and then it gets more loud and fun during the afternoon.
We spent one day at the Pacifica Pool and one at Rose’ using the free shuttle. We enjoyed both and loved that we could charge drinks/food to the room.
Angel at the main pool is such a wonderful server! He was so gracious and works so hard. I had no problems with the food at the pool or the bistro. We went to Walmart and purchased alcohol and food for all of our breakfasts/lunches. Then we took a cab to town each night for dinner. It was always $12 per way.
The maintenance and cleaning staff are wonderful. We were having issues with our safe and they arrived at our room in about ten minutes. After it was fixed we received a call from the concierge confirming that they had dealt with our issue. The cart drivers are wonderful but they definitely aren’t necessary if you like to exercise. We loved walking up the hill to burn off some of our food and alcohol.
Don’t waste your money on the internet, it doesn’t work in the rooms. Our friends could sort of get it at the sky pool.
This is the nicest resort I have ever stayed at and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NikkoCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Nikko Courtney,

We feel pleased after reading such a nice and friendly review, we are glad that you had the time to enjoy all of our facilities and that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

To sum it up in one word – excellence. We checked in on Saturday. Yes there was a line but they had plenty of people on the desk and the line moved quickly. We were given a room in bldg 24, almost at the top. We had hoped for something a little closer to the beach, with a more direct view. We asked the front desk if they had anything else available and the next morning we were moved to 311, right on the beach. The view was fantastic!

Room – very nice, well appointed. We did not use the kitchenette at all except for our morning coffee. The mattress was comfortable, the pillows slightly hard. My wife called housekeeping and within 15 minutes 2 softer pillows were delivered. As for the previous comments regarding bugs, I saw one bug no bigger than a nail head in our room during the week. Come to think of it, I saw very few bugs the entire week, inside and out.

Housekeeping – excellent. Our housekeeper was Blanca and she did a fantastic job. Every afternoon when we got back the room was spotless. Plenty of towels, washcloths, soap, etc…. They do a great job!

Restaurants – We ate in all three and La Freda is the best. Their margarita la Freda is the best drink I have ever had. Its expensive, but well worth it. Our server Yolanda was excellent as well as all the staff and the food was great. In addition, we went to 2 theme nights – Italian in La Nao and the retro barbeque nite which was great. The show was fun and the food was plentiful. Overall I thought the food was good and the service was always great.

We did the all inclusive. I’m not sure who made out better, but I like the convenience of not having to worry about the final bill at checkout. Everything is paid for up front. I did not find the drinks “watered down” and I did not see servers treat the AI guests any different from the other guests. I would like to point out that the AI does not include the tip, please remember to add the gratuity.

The staff is amazing. Everyone goes out of their way to provide great service and make you feel welcomed. I need to mention Victor and Rodolfo at the main pool. These guys are incredible and really go out of their way to make sure your taken care off.

This was our first trip to Cabo and we loved it. We will be back and will stay at PBSB again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmctear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 68 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#17 of 68 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,110 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#24 of 68 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing