We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Spacious rooms with living room and full kitchen. Great situation for families with picky eaters. Great network of pools on property. Beach is on Pacific Ocean and therefore cannot swim; must head to Sea of Cortez for beach time. For families who like to hit the road and do things this is a great place to stay, much nicer than many of the other Cabo properties. You do sacrifice proximity to downtown but worth it to watch whales from the comfort of your deck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atc664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us.
Hope to welcome you to Sunset Beach anytime soon.

Best,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,250 - 7,256 of 9,635 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is incredible for the money spent on decorations, rooms and layout. The pool was stunning and the views were breathtaking of the Pacific. However, I would plan on taking kids here, due to the ocean, which depending on where your room is located, is one heck of a long trip to get to, and cant be swum in due to riptides. You need to go around Lands End to the other side to go swimming. Also, this complex is massive. You need to have the constantly available golf carts to get to your room and even with this, it can take 10 minutes of driving to go from the lobby to your room. It is about a 15 minute drive from town and is not even close to the main road. It is built on the entire side of the mountain and spreads from top to bottom. The rooms were magnificent, both in design and views. The staff was always available and helpful. Honestly, I would not take my family here if we had kids. I would go to one of thier sister properties. But for couples and all adults, it is the perfect setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandbreezliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have been traveling to Cabo San Lucas since 2007, first staying at PB Pacifica, and at PB Sunset Beach and Montecristo. Everyone has preferences and opinions that differ - some not liking the location on the Pacific side. We actually see this is a great positive for Sunset Beach. While you can't swim in the Pacific, you can still walk the beautiful secluded beach, and not be hassled by vendors. We enjoy the secluded setting and beautiful scenery of Sunset Beach, and are able to see whales from the balcony of our suite. You would be hard pressed to find a more beautiful location or better overall service for the price. If you want to swim at the beach, all you have to do is reserve a spot on the complimentary bus shuttle, or drive your rental car to the sister Pueblo Bonito resorts on Medano Beach.

The few negatives we have experienced have come from other guests, not from the resort. We had a noisy crowd adjacent to our suite on our first night, however, the hotel must have warned them, because they were quiet after 10pm the rest of the week. And I applaud the resort for taking action on the problem of people reserving pool chairs and then not showing up for hours. When we were there Spring Break week, the pool staff would put a note on a chair that was reserved, and if the party was absent from the pool area for more than an hour, the staff would collect their belongings, hold them in the towel booth, and free up chairs for guests who actually were present at the pool. We appreciated the effort on the part of the resort, because we saw some of the pool staff taking verbal abuse from some of the guests.

We do not participate in the all-inclusive since we enjoy so many great restaurants in Cabo for dinner. We buy groceries and have breakfast in our room, and typically eat lunch at the pools since we find the food to be very good and reasonably priced.

We walked a great deal for exercise on the hills and enjoyed it. We didn't experience any issues with the cart drivers when we walked. Whenever we did use a cart, we found them to be courteous and we never had a long wait.

I have to mention Carlos at the Sky Pool gave absolutely top notch and always friendly service, even when he was swamped at Happy Hour. He went out of his way to make our days at the Sky Pool enjoyable. He has a great sense of humor, and seems to love his work and has great people skills.

A few years ago, we felt that a few things at PB Sunset Beach had slipped (service, golf carts, quality of restaurants), however, we were pleased with our most recent stay, and are looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Most room locations are great. I would stay away from Building 24, since some of the rooms are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SailChicago2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank for being such a loyal guest to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, we are very happy to hear that you had a really nice time during your stay with us, we appreciate your positive attitude and we're already waiting to welcome you next year.

Sincerely,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This side of the mountain is solid rock leading down to an ocean you can't swim because of the rip-tide. The developer has spent a substantial fortune putting lipstick on this pig and he did an amazing job. No matter how much one spends they cannot overcome the wind, rip-tide, and constant noise from those inferno gas powered carts going up and down the steep hillside spewing out fumes. Walk you say; good luck with that as between the steep hills and golf carts running you over – you will change your mind. Eat those fumes.

The food is average especially since going to the all-inclusive concept.

This is a five star resort minus four stars for location and average food. Proof is their constant line of buses taking Sunset guests to the beach at their sister resorts Rose and Blanco all day long. In the evening people get off those buses to go into town for dinner. Sunset food; I’ve had better on cruise ships. If you don’t go all-inclusive bring your wallet.

I give one star back for; the people working here are nothing less than amazing and they are constantly going out of their way to make it better. The rooms and views are amazing. Worth a trip over for the timeshare tour just to see this place physically. The developer used the best lipstick he could find. One final note; the golf course they have promised for 10 years now is NOT there yet!

Taxi rides into the Village are expensive.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views. Try to get close to a pool as the beach and ocean are a total bust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valhala95014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our stay here was amazing.
We came at the end of October, it wasn't too too busy but it was busy.
It is quiet a drive to get to the resort only because it is very private, which is GREAT!
The entry is GORGOUS!! The pink flowers lining the ENTIRE driveway was amazing.
The large fountain was also nice.
The Resort was nicely decorated and beautiful.

The rooms are in i would say layers? (because it is on a hill)
So you can to catch a golf cart to get to your room, not a huge pain at all. For the most part they are always there when you call them.
The view is gorgous.
The pool is great.
I love the private beach.
Spa was AMAZING! be sure to make your appointmet tho!


Be sure to try the FRESH orange juice they make there. Oh my goodness I had to have a cup every morning!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MeGabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Gabriela R,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us.
Hope to welcome you to Sunset Beach anytime soon.

Best,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The review is at 3 out of 5 because of all the trouble we had when arriving initially, to an all-inclusive resort that was still learning what "all-inclusive" meant. Additionally, the rooms at the hotel had been oversold, so we were relocated to a "house", which was nice, but far away from the "all-inclusive" part of the resort. Due to the sprawling nature of the resort, golf carts are required for much travel. Thanks to Luis at the front desk, a room was located for us where we could walk to most of the "all-inclusive" part. He was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and able to accomplish what most others on the property were unable to provide. The hotel was ok, but I wouldn't go back. However, Luis deserves kudos for saving what could have been a really bad experience. It is also a time-share, so watch out for the sales as the pitch is longer than promised and it's challenging to get what you were promised for attending.

Room Tip: check out the entire resort "town" because it is vast, and hard to know where you'd li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stefani c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just returned from a week at Sunset beach in cabo - second time and enjoyed it. Service was excellent and everyone helpful and friendly. Taking the golf cart transportation easy, never had to wait. They changed our room to another easily when we asked - due to a slight handicap situation. Had a lovely unit and beautiful view - a bit noisy occasionally when other guests used their hot tubs . Did take their free bus to their other 2 resorts on Medana beach where it was warmer and less windy. Food very good both places. Would more than likely stay closer in town next time as more places to go and things to see and do without having to take a taxi. Prices in the deli store ridiculous - $9 for a box of crackers so went to Walmart near Rose property easily by local bus. Glass of house wine in Freida's $20, or $40 for a bottle in their deli - too much. Did receive $300 from going to their presentation which offset most of our restaurant food and beverages. Airport transportation thru Cape Travel very organized. Would return to Cabo but want to try another place next time or maybe San Jose.

Room Tip: high up w/elevator is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank inthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
3.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.9 mi away
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
465 reviews
3.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,015 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $270 - $720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing