We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Algonquin, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Cabo for several years and have a timeshare at a local resort in town. We bank our points with RCI and every year try a new hotel. Sunset Beach has always been on our list to try and we finally did this past week. I will say this it is an absolutely beautiful place!! All of the staff is super great and friendly. Our favorite staff member is Abraham he is at the lobby door and greets all the guests with a great smile and friendly service. Our rental car battery died and Abraham had it jumped and started in a few hours for us we just handed him the key and trusted it would get done. Roberto at the main pool was great too!! Friendly and ready to serve you when you needed him.

I will say even though we had a nice time here there are a few tips I will tell you to watch for and to think about before booking this hotel.

#1 Its far from town and unless you want to pay at least a 15 dollar cab ride everytime you want to go into town this place is far.
#2 the food is pricey and I am not sure if the all inclusive is worth it!
#3 The property is huge and on a hill so you have to take golf carts everywhere you go or walk
my husband and I had to wait for the golf carts sometimes they would come within 5 minutes other times it would take a lot longer
#4 Don't go to Cabo in January its cold it never got higher then 75 degrees and at night it went down into the 40's!!

Our favorite place to stay in Cabo is Playa Grande which is also an RCI hotel. Its also beautiful and right across the street from town. The rooms are gorgous and you can walk everywhere!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 23 which is right by the sky pool and sunrise cafe for coffee and sweets. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannabisaillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,510
    2,139
    817
    363
    240
See reviews for
3,496
3,147
103
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,611)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have just returned from a trip at Sunset Beach and absolutely loved it. This place was recommended by our travel agent Michael McHugh at Dream Makers Vacation Services and everything he said was absolutely spot on. Service and scenery make this resort. We went with the all inclusive package and found it very reasonable considering the good food that was available. The rooms were huge with great views.
The gentleman who man the "carritos" to get around are so pleasant and informative that they became our tour guides for Cabo.
Looking forward to Mike's further recommendations for the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Loida_a_kjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach continues to be our family's favourite Christmas destination. We go every year as owners and stay in the same suite for two weeks. As always, the grounds were spectacular, well maintained, and the staff were stellar. But we are concerned that this resort doesn't know what it wants to be. For years it was quiet and a true getaway. Now, with all-inclusive introduced (and a huge push to force even owners to come onboard), the result has been much more power drinking poolside, food running out at even the most elegant restaurant (Frida's -- a $20 surcharge to all-inclusive people). We had looked forward to our Christmas dinner as every year at Frida's and arrived to find a delay with our 8:30 seating, and then few entrees to choose from as the all-inclusive diners had eaten them up earlier. Staff told us to come at 6:00 next time! Hardly a good solution for a first class restaurant!) Most upsetting was the fact that if you weren't out by 8:30 to 'save' your chair poolside, you were out of luck for a good chair. We counted one morning at 9:00 that 23 seats had been saved and many of the people didn't come to claim them until at least 1-2 hours later. Maybe this is just Christmas time .. but this is the time WE come, and so this is a problem for us and for many others who found it stressful and unfair. It's a management problem, not a poolside employee problem.. and we hope it changes for next year as it was hard to hear new people disparage our favourite hotel and say they'd never come back. As always, positives still outweigh negatives (setting, service, sun and the whales were sublime), but the noise, lack of food, fickleness of the Internet, old TVs, and wear and tear on the rooms that aren't the new ones high up on the hill will hopefully be addressed by next year to ensure this stays the five star destination it has been. We are still huge fans, but want Management to know we are concerned -- maybe it's just a Christmas problem? Would love to know from others.

Room Tip: There is a big difference between the wear and tear of the older buildings than the new ones. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful set up. Very clean & well kept.

This review is for the amenities only, but they were outstanding. The Bistro was a great mix of salads, wood fired pizzas & entrees. Beautiful patio with ocean view.

La Frieda is also a nice restaurant. We opted for the chef to send his own tasting menu & it didn't disappoint. He came to the table to talk on several occasions. Very endearing young chef who is doing a great job.

Pools were clean and beautiful. Staff very attentive & friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Ashley,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, we thank you for your comments that were already a matter of recognition for our chefs of these two restaurants.

Sincerely,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our first time in Cabo. The resort treated us like VIP's. The grounds, facilities, rooms, were clean, well kept. The restruants were wonderful, great food and excellent service by all staff. We enjoyed the Sunrise coffee shop and the Bistro for the good food and casual atmosphere. Each pool we visited was well kept, and the pool side service was great. I loved the carts that pick you up and take you where ever on the property you need to go, if you don't feel like walking. I had a massage and enjoyed the luxury of the spa area. There are so many wonderful areas in this resort! The only small dissappointment is that you can not swim off the beach and there is no "wait service" in the cabanas, but with the great walking areas on the beach and the wonderful pools, it didn't really matter! I have recommended this resort to all my friends.

Room Tip: The views from the top buildings were spectacular, but we stayed lower which is closer to more pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Babe-Gizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort for 10 days and we both thought it was magnificent!! The most outstanding part of our stay was the "service". The staff were all very attentive yet not intrusive. We're hoping this review gets shared with the resort's management because below we've named some of the staff that we believe were standouts.
Benito; usually worked during breakfast at the La Nau
Antonio; usually worked during breakfast at the La Nau
Daniel; Main Pool
Jose; worked dinner at the La Nau
Martha Chilapa; room housekeeper
Most Outstanding was Roberto Castro; worked at the Main Pool
As for the value, we would like to see different options made available under the all-inclusive plan. While we very much enjoyed the meals and different restaurants available, we do not drink alcohol which we believe should be the considered in the pricing that is offered under the all-inclusive plan(s). We would also like to see improvements made to the gym/spa area (i.e. equipment variety and space).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned home last night from a weeks stay. I have never written a review before but we had SUCH AN EXTRAORDINARY TIME I honestly couldn't wait to write this review! Our room (section 22) sat high up on the hills. From our balcony we watched stunning sunrises and sunsets daily. As if this wasn't enough to thoroughly impress us whales (and entire pods of them) could be watched on the horizon surfacing and spouting even jumping out of the water. The grounds were impeccable, the gardens meticulous, the staff very hospitable. We visited Pacifica next door and were even more impressed. The architecture there combined with the holistic ambiance was sublime! I would love to return!

All guests should know this property is not at all walker friendly. A golf cart must be used to get everywhere and anywhere making strollers and wheelchairs a disaster. Lock your balcony, we HEARD reports of break-ins from other guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DGarland516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for your review about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the views and that you had a wonderful time with us. It will be our pleasure to have you and your husband back again anytime soon.

Sincerely,

Jose Ernesto Coppel, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4,002 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
7.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing