We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unless you want to risk your vacation, don't stay at PB Sunset” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unless you want to risk your vacation, don't stay at PB Sunset”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were at PB Sunset Beach last month from 22nd to 28th and experienced our worst trip ever. They have good hardware and landscape, however the services and management are terrible and the food just couldn't be worse. Like other reviewers wrote here, this is a Mexican owned hotel. It seems lots of the hotelier there just couldn't understand English. They only serve Spanish speaking guests well. The hotel is built on a hill, so golf cart is the only transportation take you from your room to the hotel restaurant or front desk. It's so much inconvenience specially for senior people or little ones. The cart drivers are horrible. Sometimes they leave you in the middle of nowhere, so you have to wait for another cart to rescue you. One day, we ordered sea bass for dinner in their main restaurant and it took them 40 mins to deliver a dish which the fish already went bad and quite smelly. We complaint it to the manager on duty. The response we got from the manager was " He is not going to take any responsibility about it since he has nothing to do with this issue." That completely surprised us. We've never seen a hotel manager being so irresponsible. After back to the States, I have tried to tell all the people I knew about my terrible experience at PB Sunset Beach. My coworker's wife told me her sister had same bad experience there. I wish I talked with her before booking my trip. After all, I strongly suggest everyone don't stay in this hotel unless you want to risk your vacation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here to risk your vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,910
    2,015
    769
    347
    220
See reviews for
3,090
2,979
97
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for 1 week and were extremely satisfied. Rather than duplicate so many of the other great reviews, I will just highlight a few experiences.
1. Upon arrival at the airport, DO NOT STOP until you are OUTSIDE. You will be swarmed with slick time share sales people who represent themselves as your ground transportation. All ground transportation reps are outside.
2. All Inclusive. We did it for 7 days. I don't think that it really was all that great a deal, would not do it again. We had requested advance purchase at $89 per day per person, which is $10 a day off versus buying at the resort. They could not find anything to confirm this. I had to go to the coffee shop to access wifi and send them a copy of my email. I then had to go back to the front desk and they took care of it. (Take a printed copy with you, will save you some grief.) Our last night we ordered room service, and they charged us. I had to go down to the front desk to confirm we had all inclusive and they took it off our bill. I found that pre-tipping pool waiters helped get better service.
3. Restaurants- most at Sunset require a reservation. As we were on vacation, we didn't like planning ahead. If we called at 5pm for dinner that evening, it was always 9pm before we could eat. We were generally able to eat at Rose without reservations. We thought the food was excellent.
4. WIFI- there are only 2 places for free public wifi, the coffee shop and Manilla bar by the main pool. I found this to be inconvenient as I needed to check email often. We purchased wifi for $79 for a week which worked anywhere on the property and I was able to login at the Rose too.
5. As has been stated before, there is no access to the ocean at Sunset, the surf is very dangerous. We went to the Rose for "beach time", where you could get in the water, though it is cold! This is the unfortunate part of this side of Cabo which is on the Pacific side. I would have thought the water would be warmer.
6. Pools- we spent time at the sky pool- absolutely amazing view; the main pool- great view and lots of fun entertainment; pool 40, was too quiet and blaw for us. I thought the pools were "hot", especially the sky pool. Our last day at the main pool, the water was a little cooler. Main pool at the Rose was nice, a lot of fun too with activities.
7. Shuttle bus- This is a really nice service to the Rose property. We never made advanced reservations, were always able to get a ticket to get on. FYI- it was only about a 10 minute walk from the Rose to the Marina & shopping area so we did not take a cab.
8. Timeshare presentation- we did it and it was not bad. They offered $150 in hotel or spa credit, I asked for $200 and got it. It was not high pressure. Oh boy, do they do a lot of them.

While most staff were very friendly, fun & helpful, look out for these 3 who were exceptional!
Ivon- she checked us in, was very pleasant & helpful. When I went back to the front desk on the last day to correct the all inclusive error, she remembered checking me in and resolved the issue quickly.
Ramon- a pool bar waiter who was exceptional. He was very attentive, friendly and service was perfect. If we were not at our seat when he brought our drinks, he would find us in the pool and bring our drink to us there.
Sahara- she was the activities person at the main pool. She has a great personality, was a lot of fun and while I know it is a job for her, she seemed to really enjoy being there and had fun interacting with the guests. We made it a point to return to that pool because of her, and were disappointed that she was not there on our last day.

Cabo in general. It was very nice. I was disappointed in not really being able to hang at the beach because of the rough surf and cold water. We felt very safe, never worried at all. The G20 conference was starting a few days after we left so there was a lot of military presence.

Pueblo Bonito Sunset is a beautiful resort and I would love to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Cabo is GREAT PLACE TO GO BILL FISHING
U can just sit in boat and watch action all around u even when u dont have one on.
Saw HERDS of dolphins
Whales....
Great place.
Very comfortable accommodations at Bonita.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandivinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a large resort and we have been staying here for four years. We have two weeks and have had an excellent time. There are so many varieties of rooms we find it is best to request a room nearest to the beach and restaurants. The coaches depart for Cabo often, and require a ticket at each end. Another experience is to walk the beach toward town, cut up and over Pedrgal and the homes which brings you near the harbor area. This is a great sunrise treat before the heat makes it less desireable. Then hook up with the return coach at Blanco. A lunch or breakfast at Cilantro (PB Blanco) is a must. If you get some funny money for the time share tour then use it on Frida the restaurant.
If you like dining in your room, this is the place. They have very special and very quick service. The ubiquitous carts which are handy when you want one and are tired can be noisy and even scary. Well, the ones fit out for room service are great.
Take a trip to the sky pool and have a drink and some food.
Pick the cuisine night that suits you and give the buffet a try. Rent a car and head for Todos Santos. Have a drink at the bar in Hotel California. If you are Catholic the Sunday Mass is a tradition. If the owners family is in attendance they will be in the front left row.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach the better. Less Cart noise. More convenient to amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry and Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Vacation is perfect from the moment we arrive and are greeted by the welcoming, knowledgeable staff, to the moment we sadly have to depart. Staff are continuously attentive, and knowledgeable, and what's more, you sense that they LOVE their jobs, which says so much for a resort of this size!
We ate at La Nao Restaurant on a Wednesday, their Italian Night...a memorable meal taken outside on the patio. I thought dinner was incredible, but then I went through the dessert bar...so beautiful and delicious, I almost burst!~ Our waiter was so persistent with the relighting of the patio heater, and he also brought us handwoven ponchos to keep the slight breeze from chilling our family as we enjoyed our first vacation dinner together. We felt very well taken care of.
The pools are all lovely, but our favorite was the newer pool beyond the tennis courts, as it was so peaceful during any time of the day. We also love the massage pool, connected to the Main Pool, paddling through the bubbly water at night is heaven. It closes at 10PM, so take advantage of the effervescent experience before 10. The spa nearby, however, does not close, ever!
Sunrise Coffee in the early morning was the perfect place to connect with our devices to get news, weather, and email, when other folks are similarly up and eager to have a full day at beautiful Sunset Beach. We are excited to see the store and deli when they are completed..it looks like a huge space...what a great idea, and it says so much for the planners of this resort, who seem to consider all needs of the owners/guests.
The beach is lovely, clean, and just the right length for an early morning walk. Pedregal at Sunrise is a sight to see! The fishermen out at first light make for very nice photographic subjects. There is no swimming at this Pacific beach due to currents, but it is easy to take the complementary shuttle down to sister Hotel Rose downtown, to spend a day relaxing at the beach in their lounge chairs. You must get a 'ticket' to ride the shuttle, which is easy to do with the helpful staff who are located at their shuttle booth outside the main lobby entry. We always got a ticket for the five of us, no matter what time of day, up to 10PM.
Our family always stays at PB Sunset Beach for special occasions and reunions. Perfection cannot be bested!

Room Tip: Corner suite in Mulege building, fantastic 240 degree view of beach and resort..and sunsets!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

My second time here because I bought a time share the last trip. You can't beat the view from the skypool and the waiters, especially Carlos, are very attentive. It's a place where you can totally relax. No night life which was fine with me and no one bothering you on the beach like downtown. We did the dolphin experience and it was great. We used Transcabo for our transport from and to the airport with no problems. We did all inclusive for three days and that was enough, I felt like I had to eat and drink all the time to get my moneys worth but it's a good deal. Looking forward to my next rip back!

Room Tip: I stayed father up the hill the last time but this time we were right on the beach. It was very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanAntonioGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The pueblo bonito sunset beach resort and spa, is truly a magnificent property.We were in th executive suite with Hot tub. The grounds are well maintained and lush. the property is high end from the service to the furniture and decor.The staff is friendly and helpful. getting around was easy most of the time we walked to the pool or lobby but if you want a golf cart is never hard to get. the free shuttle to town ever hour on the hour was helpful. a couple of times we were told it was full so we waited on stand by and we always got ride. if you want to taxi it is only 12.00 we did not get the all inclusive but the prices at the resort are not outrageous. We cooked breakfast everyday and had dinners out at the marina. Someone suggested MI Casa and it was horrible, our reset was ocean view and we stayed in building 20 near the sky pool (all pools are heated). It is a quiet, relaxing place to be if you like the night life and action, I suggest you try the pueblo bonito Rose or Blanco they are on the only swimmable beach in los cabos. Very busy beach with vendors and bars, lots of fun. you can catch a boat to the los Arcos and lovers beach, or sea too, para sailing etc. Lots to do in los cabos !

Room Tip: corner suites with the jacuzzi hot tubs is the best you have a huge wrap around porch and heated hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adelinavalvano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
5.3 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Rose
Pueblo Bonito Rose
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,626 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#12 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing