We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$389
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos Beach Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$248
$202
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$655
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$398
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$427
$325
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$607
$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$473
$344
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,725)
Filter reviews
10,726 results
Traveler rating
6,773
2,380
890
400
283
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,773
2,380
890
400
283
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky poolmain poolla naopueblo bonitomanila barcart driverspresidential suitefree shuttletime shareall inclusive planasian restaurantadult poolthe pacific oceanall inclusive packagetimeshare presentationour waiterbeautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
9,088 - 9,093 of 10,726 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We own a week at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan but wanted to check out Cabo so we traded on RCI to stay at this resort. The trade on RCI got us a nice upgrade to a Presidential Suite. These are a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, full kitchen with a balcony and private hot tub. This resort is built on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We were on the 2nd floor of one of the upper buildings and the view was to die for! All we wanted to do most of the trip was sit out on the balcony and take it in. The resort was spotless, smelled wonderful and in good repair. The pools were wonderful...we went to both the main pool and the sky pool above our building. Again...gorgeous views. Oh...and there were whales jumping and spouting all day long every day we were there. They had small roads and golf cart type vehicles going all over the resort, so it was easy to get where you were going or if you wanted the exercise...a somewhat challenging walk. The staff was very quick at bringing a cart if you called for one.

All that being said, my only complaints about this resort were the restaurants...the food was VERY expensive and for the most part, not very good. This was not what I would have expected from a resort of this caliber. The food in town was half the price and ten times better...but then you had to pay cab fare to go where you wanted or take the resort bus and then walk. Also, the internet was a fiasco. They had just changed ISP's and service was spotty at best. They could not get a solid signal out so one day it would be free then the next they would tell you they were charging for it but then after everyone complaining all day it would be free again. Then I was told that wired internet was free but you had to either buy or rent a cable from them. After much frustration with trying to get the cable, the lady in the gift shop quietly loaned me one. Again very spotty service but much better than the wireless.

We did do their timeshare presentation which was actually fun since we got to see all the new villas they were building. We ended up converting our week into points so we can return to Cabo or stay at any PB we want in the future and we joined the Premiere Club which was a free bonus with our conversion. I think we got about $200 in resort credits for doing the tour...well worth it.

We took a couple of tours...one was the ATV tour to this little town up in the mountains (Candalaria) which was just a blast! Not much there at the town and our guide spoke absolutely NO English...but with a lot of smiling, nodding and gestering...we made it work. When we got back down from Candalaria, we rode out to the beach and they brought us a sack lunch with a deli sandwich, some snacks and cold sodas. Also took the Land's End tour...but that is something I would recommend for the beginning of your stay as opposed to the end like we did it. We had already been shopping and seen the town and all of that is part of the tour.

Overall our trip to Cabo was a great experience and we would definitely go back to PB Sunset Beach!

Room Tip: We were in the building just below the Sky pool. Very quiet, great view and beautiful suites.
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My girlfriends and I take an annual spring trip to Mexico ... we used to try different cities but when we found Pueblo Bonito Sunset, we haven't strayed. Our first year there, we stayed at ME by Melia (the whole place is MTV Spring break, yuck) and got totally sucked into a time share meeting for Sunset (more on working the system later!). Thank goodness, we switched immediately.

The Sunset has everything you could want in Cabo. The rooms are spectacular, all of the pools are beautiful (we favor the one just beyond the tennis courts, never crowded and an amazing view of the water front), the amazing restaurants and spa, any favorite part is when you walk in, the entire main building smells of lavender!

The resort is like a compound, it is huge. They do have a shuttle system with little bus stops which helps, but we mostly walk for the exercise on the hills. There is also a bus system to take you to the other Pueblo Bonito resorts in Cabo (especially helpful if you want to go into town, the PB Rose is downtown and any attractions are just a few blocks walk from there, much better than getting a taxi).

The beach front is pristine, though you can't swim in the Ocean, but we don't mind, but you can walk a good distance south which is nice in the evenings or for a pool break. (There is no swimming on the Pacific side of Cabo). Go out on your balcony for breakfast and you can see the whales off the shore. It's amazing, especially if you bring binoculars (which we did just for that reason).

Our first room there was a ridiculous suite (comped during our timeshare meeting), with a bedroom, two bathrooms, a sitting room, kitchen and XL patio with hot tub. Our next room was just a 2-queen suite, but still lovely. The balconies are always a good size and their bathrooms are always spacious, which is nice for 4 girls.

Our favorite restaurant is La Frida. It's the most upscale of the ones on the premises, but definitely worth it for a special dinner. Get a table on the terrace for the sunset - we always do this on our last night there.

Last time we were there, they were building a large grocery store on the grounds, which means you really don't have to leave now! I can't say anything bad about the resort, I've traveled a lot and it really is one of the best large-scale resorts I've stayed at.

A few notes on Cabo ...
A soon as you exit the terminal to get a cab to your destination, the timeshare people will be on you like crazy, yelling to get your attention and trying to get you to commit to a meeting during your stay. I had encountered this many times and knew to keep walking and ignore them. One friend who is just too nice started chatting up one of the guys, as he promised her free jet skiing and boat rides and the like. As annoying as it was, it ended up taking us to PB Sunset, but from then on, she knew to ignore them. When we go now, we know to use it to our advantage. You will get asked to attend a meeting at Sunset, it's not that long and they feed you. They will try to lure you with the promise of free activities or spa .. we always ask for free spa services for all 4 of us, or drink coupons or paragliding or anything you want. You can customize it :) Most of the people are really nice, and while they will give you the real hard sell, just continue to say no ... then you walk away that afternoon with spa certificates in hand and head to the pool. Perfect.

One of our favorite restaurants downtown is in the marina. There are tons of places, and like the timeshare peeps, they all want your business. Captain's is an amazing spot - open air, good food and if you've gone fishing, bring it in and they will clean and prepare it for you.

Crazy Lobster is another great spot. It's about a block off the main street, looks like a complete dive, but the food is really good and super cheap.

The beach vendors are vultures. They wait just beyond resort properties (since they can't cross the (and as soon as you're on the beach they are throwing goods in your face and trying to make a deal). They will lean over the ropes to interrupt your beachfront meal or if you're laying on beach chairs, they are crazy. Mostly annoying, but you can bargain a good deal if you want. We've come away with simple mexican dresses or sunglasses for a fraction of what they ask, just name your price and if they say no, start to leave, they rarely pass on a sale.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ecnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a beautiful property, but it is truly not for everyone. Many reviewers mentioned the need for golf carts to get to your room. However, I wanted to clarify that you need golf carts to pretty much get anywhere including some restaurants, the main pool and sky pool. This is not a system that my family really likes. So truly be aware that this is what you will be in for at this property. Also, please note that in addition to the beach not being swimmable, the property does not even have palapas or lounge chairs on the beach if you would like to sit there. So, the beach is almost totally useless in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank TravelWiseChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I did a ton of research as to where we wanted to stay on our trip to Cabo. After reading a ton of reviews and research we decided on Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach. It was much nicer than the pictures showed! It was beautifully kept and the staff did a wonderful job of keeping you happy and taking care of your wants.

We had a small issue with a leak on a pipe fitting that was leaking a little bit of water. Within 10 minutes we had somewhere there to look at it and get it fixed. Within 1 hour we had another call following up to make sure that it was fixed to our liking. They followed up again another time to make sure we got the right pillows that ordered.

The food was very good. Le Bistro was our favorite. Very good food and pretty cheap. All the restaurants had great views! The pools were all great as well. We did spend a number of days at the Rose in town, just relaxing and reading. The Sunset is by far a nicer resort and worth the stay.

Thanks Again for making this a wonderful trip. FYI, reviews are based on personal opinion. If you have a bad attitude, you will only see negative things. Trust me, have a great attitude and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank utahrealestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The place is lovely. The outside property is well kept. We stay in a beach front small villa. It was a one bedroom, livingroom/dining room and kitchen. The problems we had were the furniture was so outdated. The couch had holes and it made me not want to sit on it. The living room chair was uncomfortable. The kitchen appliances were old and rusted. I complain to the front desk people and was sent to speak to someone else which said I'll take care of it but nothing was ever done. Another problem was that the place is built on a hill.(Lobby, some pools, most restaurants and bars.) To get to them you need to ride a little cart. The ride is fast I mean fast and some curves that had some of the guest including us asking, if any accidents have ever occur. We even put our hands up in the air as if we were riding a roller coaster. As lovely as the place is we won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has been recently renovated
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tirvia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews