We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pueblp Bonito Sunset Beach is a magnificant Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband and I were there in a one bedroom executive for one week. The facilities are excellent and the property maintenance is excellent. Suites well furnished and maintained. Food in the restaurants was great. I had the best massage I have ever had at the spa, it was heaven. One day my husband stayed at the resort while I went shopping and housekeeping spent over an hour in the suite. That is the kind of attention the staff pays to the property. We were with 28 from our area and everyone loved it. We are going back for two weeks next year. Looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Ask for units above the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank orbeajad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,155 - 8,161 of 9,644 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2011

My friend and I just spent 4 nights and it is a beautiful resort. The staff can be a little overbearing to get you to do the "tour" but we declined and were not bugged again. The food at the buffet was very average and we only ate there once. We opted to go into town and bring back fantastic food to enjoy on the deck. The deli/wine shop is great and reasonably priced..this worked out perfectly as we grabbed coffee, fruit etc for breakfast in the mornings on our walks. The place is on a rather steep hill which may concern some - they provide golf cart pick ups within minutes so the hills can be avoided. The grounds are well manicured..Would stay here again if the price was right, but prefer swimming in the ocean so next time maybe the P.B. Rose or Blanco.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank renoliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

My wife and I are seasoned travellers and have enjoyed stays at many highly regarded properties. We thought this would be so here, but will not return nor recommend.

Our experience and opinions are nicely expressed by TA reviewer ' skiparkcity!' so I won't repeat the pros and cons she precisely detailed.

However I will amplify two points :

For 2 professional people simply wanting to get away and relax for a week, the CONTINUOUS and INCESSANT angling and pitching of timeshare promotions put a MAJOR damper on our enjoyment. It got to the point where we would hesitate to simply wish someone a pleasant 'Buenos Dios' for fear of them launching into a pitch. EVERYONE ( except our charming room attendant) seems to be on commission here.

Secondly, the food quality was at best average and the value disappointingly poor. Overpriced is an understatement no matter how many wait staff scurry around. More than one owner bragged about going into town to buy groceries or to dine vs eat on the property.

With the amount of new construction continuing in several directions, its clear this property has lost whatever focus charmed original owners who now rue the day they bought.

Room Tip: Don't waste your 'time'
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Malkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

It´s a Beautiful hotel with a great view of the ocean, no matter where you´re standing.
The room was super clean and spaceful.
We just love that hotel and will keep going back as much as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EMongrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We knew going in that this resort was a short drive to get to town. This was not a problem for us as we had rented a car for our trip to Cabo. We used the valet parking and tipped once a day when we left for the day. Yes, after spending our first full day at the resort upon arrival, we found we had more fun going to the swimming beach, Medano Beach, where there was more action, people watching and the ability to swim in the ocean. Although PBSB is everything and more as far as beauty of the grounds, the views, the ocean view, etc., we did not want to spend every day at a quiet pool or beach. But if that is your thing, you will love it here. We ate a total of two meals at the resort, once at the Bistro and one meal at the Milano Bar where they had a pizza and beer dinner one night. Both meals were good. We also ordered room service for breakfast one morning and it was good as well. Our routine became to arise early, dress and pack for the day, then go into town to one of the local restaurants for breakfast. After breakfast we would make our way to Medano beach, spending time laying on beach chairs in front of Pueblo Bonito Blanco and using their pool. By the end of the week, we had made our way to some of the beach clubs on Medano Beach (Baja Beach Club, Mango Deck, etc.), where we enjoyed a lot more people watching. After lounging on the beach all day, we would refresh and make our way to another local downtown restaurant for dinner. Then we would make the drive back to PBSB, which was a nice place to retreat to after a long day in the sun. We used the paid internet at PBSB for a 24 hour period at a cost of $16 for the 24 hours. I checked at the internet cafe on the property site near the deli and they charged 30 cents a minute, which came out to $18/hour. I also used an hour of time at the internet cafe at the Pueblo Bonito Blanco for a rate of $6/hour....much better, but better even yet, I found an internet cafe on a back street downtown that charged only $1.50 an hour to use their computers. I will remember this place and use them when we return in the future. PBSB was everything and more that all others here have posted...the people and service were great, the grounds were beautiful, the ocean views were breathtaking, the sounds of the constant, thunderous crashing waves was indescribable. I saw some of the most amazing sunrises and sunsets from my balcony each day. Like others here, we slept with the doors open and slept like babies all night, every night. I will add that we were there the first week in April and it was a bit windy most days, getting windier in the evenings. Because of the cool evening winds, we only went to the sky pool one of the days we were there...hoping to catch a sunset from there. We did see a beautiful sunset, but it was pretty uncomfortable there with all the cool wind blowing. Also, our room was amazing...we had an executive suite. I believe this was an upgrade as I was expecting a Jr. Suite. But the one bedroom, two bathroom suite, with a separate living area and full kitchen was very nice. It also had two patio door entries to a large, double patio (one from the living room and one from the bedroom). The maid came daily while we were out all day and it was nice to return every day to a clean kitchen, bathrooms and bedroom. Our room was in a lower building, the second row up from the beach...room 1232 on the third floor with a fantastic, unobstructed, close view of the beach and waves. I believe it was a prime location and felt like we won the jackpot with the room we were given. We made use of the golf cart service for transport to the Lobby area when we left each day. Once we called for a cart, we never had to wait more than a few minutes for them to arrive to pick us up. I found the carts to be efficient and easy to use and was glad to have them at our service. I have no complaints at all about our stay at PBSB and would highly recommend this place to anyone considering a stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anwblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We just returned from a one week trip to Cabo San Lucas, staying at the Pueblo Bonito Sunset. What an incredible place! Everything was first class, from the luxurious room, excellent customer service, wonderful meals and beautiful landscaping. The room was spotless, with gorgeous tile floors and granite countertops, beautifully presented and decorated, and the daily maid service was like nothing I've ever experienced. The bathrooms were huge, with a deep tub and luxurious towels folded into swans and beautiful designs. We were in a king suite with a balcony overlooking the ocean and we saw whales right off the shore every day.
This is an incredible resort with outstanding customer service and great restaurants. We enjoyed the Bistro (great American breakfasts and takeout) and La Nao - very elegant (didn't try La Freda - above our budget but we heard good things about it).
Seven swimming pools with an atmosphere for every taste, whether it's the peace and quiet of the adult pool, the main pool with lots of children and activity, or the Sky Pool, our favorite and the "in" place to be. Get there early in the day to get a chair/umbrella. Do not hesitate to order the food from any of the pool grills - it was great!! Don't forget happy hour from noon to 1:00 every day at the pools - two for one drinks. Watch those margaritas - they're potent!
The only negative part of the trip was the bombardment we got from the time share folks at the airport. Nothing, but NOTHING, can prepare you for this onslaught! We read all of the warnings before we went but we still were "trapped". We had rented a car in advance and were looking for our car rental rep as soon as we arrived, and we were cornered by a time share rep who would just not leave us alone, no matter how many times we said no. We finally listened a few minutes and when he asked for $20 to hold our place in the time share presentation, we finally said an emphatic "NO" and he got angry and tore up the information he had written and threw it on the floor. (By the way, we found out later that this fee is standard for time shares and is required by the government.) When we left this guy, two other guys cornered us before we even left the airport. One grabbed my arm and tried to drag me to his booth and my husband really got angry! You will find that people will come up to you during your stay, whether at Pueblo Bonito or just walking along the streets in Cabo, and start a conversation with you. You think they're being nice and friendly but it always ends up the same: they're trying to sell you a time share!
We did end up going to the time share presentation at the Pueblo Bonito because we wanted to get the $200 off our bill and we also wanted to see what the other units looked like. It came with a nice breakfast, a couple of free drink coupons, a credit towards the spa (which was elegant and wonderful!) and a bottle of tequila. Our sales rep, Jim (Jaime) has been there 30+ years and was very nice, not hard sell, and didn't try to talk us into anything as soon as we told him at the beginning that we weren't interested in buying. He still took us on the tour and was very informative.
We drove to San Juan Del Cabo, a lovely little town about 1/2 hour away, and also went to the sister resorts (Pacifico and the Rose) which are also lovely but not any nicer than the Sunset. Also did a snorkeling trip where we saw even more whales, this time closer up. What an incredible sight!
Do NOT hesitate to go to this resort - you won't be sorry!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JMWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We just returned from Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach and simply did not want to come home. Everything about this resort is 5 star. We were able to go via a timeshare exchange and consented to the sales presentation. It was not high pressure and while we are not in the market for additional timeshares at this time, we might just consider in the future. There are several pools and vary from lots of peole to very quiet. Our room was next to one of the quieter pools and we enjoyed it every day. The food and drinks are great at the pool. We also went to two of the on site restaurants and they were very good as well, albeit a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Curtis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
3.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.9 mi away
Montecristo Estates Pueblo Bonito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande
The Ridge at Playa Grande
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
466 reviews
3.1 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,016 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Predio Paraiso Escondido, Cabo San Lucas 2345, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $273 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western side of the tip of Baja, overlooking the Pacific. The resort's 50-acre site and expansive private beach provides guests with a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. As you pass through its gates and gaze upon the endless stretch of pristine coastline, you will know that something special lies ahead. Bathed in light from sunrise to sunset, this refuge of luxury is the ultimate destination for romance and seclusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Sunset Beach
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Resort
Pueblo Bonito Cabo
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing