We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”
Review of La Roca

La Roca
Reserve with OpenTable
La Roca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Av. Playa Grande y Av. Solmar
Description: Blends cuisine from around the world for sophisticated elegance with signature fresh dishes. Enjoy homemade baked goods, savory seafood dishes, authentic Baja cuisine as well as American and Continental fare. The restaurant will serve breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am - 12:00pm & dinner daily from 6:00pm - 10:00 pm. Dress code for dinner; Casual Formal attire. No flip flops
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Staff, Food and Service especially Roberto, Guillermo, Isidro and Chef Lucas,Claudia, Jazimine and Francisco. The breakfast buffet is great with a variety of food to choose from and of course you can order anything from the omlet station. Our granddaughter was over joyed each morning when she was greeted with a cup of hot chocolate loaded with whipped cream.

1  Thank Cathy and Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at La Roca, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Cathy and Rich

On behalf of all our restaurant staff, including Roberto, Guillermo, Isidro, our Chef Lucas, hostess Claudia & JAzmine and waiter Francisco we would like to thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast. We loved that your grand daughter like the experience every morning.

We will be waiting for you and her along with other family members to visit us and enjoy all our menú options.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

599 - 603 of 777 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Beautiful view can't be beat! As to food: Some dishes great, while others average for price. Service is very inattentive, though waiters are exceedingly pleasant. But they miss a lot of opportunities to serve tables well - and quickly. You may ask for something that will enhance your meal while it's hot and they either forget or are on "Cabo time" - not sure. No bottle list for wines, and poor by the glass selection for price. Still, if you can overlook that it's a beautiful night visually and satisfying enough that you won't be thoroughly disappointed.

1  Thank pixielegfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at La Roca, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear pixielegfiend

We wpould like to thank you for your comments, all of them very important foe us in order to improve our services, and selection of wines. We are working on this day by day to have more selections, and also to really provide the luxury experience that we want every guest to feel at the momento they visit us. It is truth that there is no better place to have some dinner (ocean front), and our food is always prepare with nice details that only our Chef Lucas and his team can do.

Thank you again for your recommendations.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The breakfast buffet at Laroca was nice. Standard fare (fruit, eggs, pancakes, etc), plus a few Mexican dishes like chilaquiles. Nothing spectacular but it was fine. We also had the breakfast buffet at the sister resort, Playa Grande, which had much much more selection.

Dinner at Laroca was quite good and nicely presented. Some of the dishes on the menu didn't translate though. The coconut shrimp, for example, was not the crispy coconut shrimp, rolled in coconut and deep-fried, that you would expect. It was more like sauteed shrimp without the crispy coconut coating, soaking in a coconut/mango type sauce. On the other hand, my husband's grilled lobster was amazing. Huge lobster grilled to perfection. The steaks were fine as well. We also liked the lobster brochette appetizer and the chocolate tamal (mmmm!) for dessert. We found that the most simple (grilled foods) were the best bet – avoid anything complicated as they may not really know how to execute in the kitchen.

1  Thank triptakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at La Roca, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear triptakers

We are very honor to welcome you to our restaurant in the morning and also at night.
MAke sure that we will sahre your comments with our Chef regarding your opinión about the coconut shrimp. It is very important to receive this feedback from one of our clients. We will also congratulate him and his staff for the magic things they did for you. I am also a big fan of the tala de chocolate. It is amazing!
We will make sure that all the staff read your comment.

will be delighted to welcome you back anytime soon.

Sincerely,

breakfast buffet at Laroca was nice. Standard fare (fruit, eggs, pancakes, etc), plus a few Mexican dishes like chilaquiles. Nothing spectacular but it was fine. We also had the breakfast buffet at the sister resort, Playa Grande, which had much much more selection.

Dinner at Laroca was quite good and nicely presented. Some of the dishes on the menu didn't translate though. The coconut shrimp, for example, was not the crispy coconut shrimp, rolled in coconut and deep-fried, that you would expect. It was more like sauteed shrimp without the crispy coconut coating, soaking in a coconut/mango type sauce. On the other hand, my husband's grilled lobster was amazing. Huge lobster grilled to perfection. The steaks were fine as well. We also liked the lobster brochette appetizer and the chocolate tamal (mmmm!) for dessert. We found that the most simple (grilled foods) were the best bet – avoid anything complicated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great place to have breakfast, right on the ocean. A little pricey for a buffet breakfast but then again you would expect it to be while vacationing within a resort.

1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at La Roca, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear KAthy

We would like to thank you for your great comments about your recent visit to our restaurant.At breakfast we offer the traditional buffete that is very complete, but also a la carte options. We will be waiting for you to keep enjoying the place.

Thank you for your comments and recommendations

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had last minute change of plans and the head chef and manager at LaRoca were so accommodating! We had a party of 45 guests for our rehearsal dinner and with only 2 hours notice they pulled off a delicious 4 course dinner. Service at the restaurant and Grand Solmar is unbelievable. Everyone is so friendly and eager to make your stay the best! Highly recommend

Thank Gschmidt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at La Roca, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Garrett

We are delighted that all your group enjoyed your dinner at our restaurant. It was our pleaseure to atendd you and fulfill your expectations even with the last minute changes. We are honor to know that everything worked fine. We will be waiting you and your friends/family group anytime soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roca also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing