We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”

La Palapa Fine Eatery & Saloon
Ranked #208 of 571 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Toledo
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

On first glance you might think twice about going in, but Gus and his staff are the best. My 17 year old wanted to eat every meal there but had to settle for 2 times during the week we were there. He seems to be losing reviews to another La Palapa at a hotel, make no mistake this is the one to go to. Flaming Bananas foster prepared table side is a must. My family ate fish both times and raved about it and I had the enchiladas and tamales both excellent. Remember to order the pecan dressing salad or lobster bisque, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank badflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    31
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Every time I go to Cabo, which has been 4 times in the last 16 months, I eat at Gus' at least once. The food is outstanding and Gus aims to please. He will custom make a meal, or do an "all you can eat". His staff takes their lead from him--- very outgoing and friendly. It is a relaxed, warm environment, with great people and outstanding food. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodville, Ohio
2 reviews
“Hearty, flavorful fun”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Five of us visited Gus' on May 25.

Steaks were very good, but shrimp "filet" was unusual, expected a beef filet with shrimp, got a filet made from shrimp - very nice.

Combo plate of small lobster tail and many scallops very tasty.

Gus was not there in the early evening but I understand he livens the place up.

He also can hook you up with a day of fishing and prepare your catch that evening - wow!

We recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bclabaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Colorful little place with character, great food and service”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Went to La Palapa by the suggestion of a girlfriend who had been there before a few months earlier. Gus remembered her and gave us outstanding attention. We were on a girls trip to Cabo and just had the best time with Gus and his staff. The decor was colorful and rustic-felt very much like Mexico. All the the food was excellent and good value. You can do combo plates which is a great way to try different entrees. Shrimp is offered several ways! Would highly recommend going there for a great experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suett1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacheco,CA
1 review
“"Restaurant behind Squid Roe"”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Gus is the best. We first met him at Playa Grande. Followed him to his own restaurant. He treats you like family. The food is excellent. He'll fix you something special if you ask. Just a great place to hang out in the afternoon and pass the time. He has a beautiful wife and 3 handsome boys.I tell everyone who visits Cabo to go and check him out. They won't be disappointed! His salad with pecan dressing and Seafood Chili Relleno are my favorites. You have to check it out. We just got back and can't wait till next year.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa Fine Eatery & Saloon also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Palapa Fine Eatery & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing