We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good spot for a drink”
Review of Cabo Blue

Cabo Blue
Ranked #37 of 572 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cabo Blue is a fun outside bar featuring a friendly staff, great drink specials, fresh made American/Mexican food and live bands 7 days a week!!! Watch all your favorite American, Canadian and Mexican sports on our 14 HiDef TV's! Ladies night Mondays, $1.50 beer Tuesdays and different specials every day of the week!! Try our special "Blue" drinks and famous shots like the Rainbow or a Baby Guiness! Hungry? We specialize in fresh food for great prices! Our regulars say we have the best burger and fries in Cabo along with the best fish tacos around! Check us out and you'll see why!!
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good spot for a drink”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stopped here one night for a nightcap (or two), the bartender was really friendly and the prices reasonable. Its outside in the shopping center, so we just came at night since it was so hot during our stay. Overall a good experience

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboBlueBar, Owner at Cabo Blue, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Rachel,

Thank you for the taking the time to write us a nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed our bar! If you were there late you probably met our head bartender Juan, he is amazing, friendly and extremely attentive, we are proud to have him and the rest of our staff, Tony, Magda and Ivan.

You are correct, September is a very hot and muggy month in Cabo, so I certainly understand not wanting to come down town during the day, but if you do I promise you won't be disappointed as we have some great drink specials, food and some good local characters you could meet. We also have live music in the evenings everyday but Sunday.

I'm so glad you had a good experience and I hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again,
Amanda, Scott, Juan and the gang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    178
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I don't get it”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It's a palapa bar in the middle of a shopping center, that's it. Nothing special. Prices were not great for drinks. We did not eat though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboBlueBar, Owner at Cabo Blue, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi newtravelors,

Thanks for writing a review of our bar. I'm not really sure what you don't get. We are not trying to be Cabo Wabo or a fancy nightclub. There are plenty of those in Cabo. We modeled our bar after the bars we loved in Key West Florida so we created this laid back, small palapa bar where you can relax, people watch, enjoy some great drinks, food and sports.

You mention our bar is in the middle of a shopping center. As most bar and restaurants in Cabo we are surrounded by shopping, on the marina and even Cabo Wabo. We feel we have a great location as we are in the front of a small plaza directly on the sidewalk in the middle of the busiest street downtown. I'm not sure what you were expecting but I've never heard anyone who wasn't impressed with our little palapa bar and it's location.

I also don't know what you were expecting for drink prices as we feel we have the best around. Everyday our beers are $2 and on Tuesdays they are only $1. All of our tequilas, liquor and specialty drinks are priced at LEAST $1 below all of the other bars on this street and FAR below the beach bars, Cabo Wabo and all the clubs. Besides the lowest every day prices we offer great specials every day like 2x1 margaritas on Mondays and Ladies Night 9pm-12 where ladies drink absolutely free, $1 Beer Tuesdays, 1/2 price Premium Liquor Wednesdays, 2x1 Margaritas & Mojitos and $1.25 beer special on Thursdays, $1 Tacos and 2x1 Jack Daniels on Fridays, 2x1 House Vodka Saturdays and $8 bucket of Beers on Sundays (as well as any other time football is on).

I wish you would have tried the food. We feel we have the freshest bar food in Cabo! Perfect for all the sports we always feature on our 10 tvs and 10ft projection screen during big events. We specialize in homemade burgers and fresh cut fries, nothing frozen! We also have the best sandwiches, wings, salads, tacos, fajitas and other great items as well!

If you find your way back to Cabo please stop by and give us another try. I know you will change your mind.

Thanks,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great chicken tacos!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Just had a chinken taco and it was really good. Staff is awesome and fun! A lot of cool locals to hang out with! Even the English chick is cool! You can find Capt. Mike and the most popular dog in town, his name is Cabo. You will have a blast!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marucpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboBlueBar, Owner at Cabo Blue, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Marucpm!!

I wanted to thank you personally for the wonderful review!! Im so glad you enjoyed your chicken taco, we pride ourselves on trying to serve the freshest food at our bar!

Thank you for pointing out our staff, we agree with you, they are awesome!

It's always a pleasure to see you and we hope to see more of you!

Capt Mike and the gang are always there ready to have a good time!

Thank you again!
Amanda, Scott and the Cabo Blue gang!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, sc
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not Great Not Horrible”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place was middle of the road for us. The bar tries hard to make it a good time but it just hasn't QUITE clicked yet. It is sort of a melting pot with the bar being in the middle of a courtyard type area, the kitchen in a different spot, seating at the bar but then scattered chairs and tables around. It was just kind of awkward and didn't flow as well as Rips. The drinks were fine but I didn't try any food. They were playing all of the NFL games so those wanting to watch football can come here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboBlueBar, Owner at Cabo Blue, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Andyllc,

So sorry you didn't find our establishment great but thanks for taking the time to write a review non the less. It's too bad you didn't try our food however as you are reviewing us in the restaurant category. You mentioned Rips and they are a great bar, one of my personal favorites yet they don't serve food. They do a lot of things good and we feel we do too but we are a different bar. We are a relaxed, Mexican style palapa bar in a open courtyard right on the main strip, perfect for people watching and simply enjoying some great music, sports & food. Besides the 21 seats at the bar under the palapa we also have tables and chairs under umbrellas. On the other side of the tables is our full kitchen where we make the freshest, all homemade American/Mexican food. We don't try to be a fancy gourmet restaurant but we do try to provide the best bar food in Cabo. Next time please try our food, I'm sure you'll see why we are one of the top bars in Cabo.

Thanks for mentioning the NFL games on tv. We do actually have every sport package available with 10 TVs and a 10ft projection screen for big events so any sports fan will be in their glory!

We also have live music every night of the week except Sundays. It sounds like you might not have visited us only during the day.

Thanks for giving us a try and I hope we will get another chance in the future.

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hang out!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is the place to go to hang out and have a drink and meet cool people! The people are awesome and I love playing the bean bag toss!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaboBlueBar, Owner at Cabo Blue, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Paula J,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We really appreciate you mentioning the great people we have at our bar. Scott and I are by fortunate as we get to meet new people all the time and they always end becoming return customers and some of them great friends!

We brought the bean bag toss with us as a different game and it is very popular!

Hope we get to see you again very soon.

Thank you again
Amanda, Scott and the Cabo Blue gang!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabo Blue also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Cabo Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing