We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”
Review of Villa La Estancia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa La Estancia
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Trip”
Reviewed July 3, 2006

We just returned from a week at Villa la Estancia. It was our first time in Cabo and it was unbelievable. We were very satisfied with the resort. Although we got off to a rough start when our room was not ready for a few hours, we were very pleased when we got to our pool side ocean view room. The room pics on the website are very accurate of the actual room. Everyone is very nice and helpful at the resort (especially Carla and Fernando). I would advise younger people who want a party place to go somewhere else. This is not a place where a lot of noise is tolerated.

The poolside restaurant La Parrilla is average at best, but the swim up bar is nice. I would recommend taking drinks to the pool that you purchase at Costco or Supermarket versus paying $8 for a mixed drink. This is permitted.

I would definitely recommend walking down the beach to The Office for lunch. They also serve breakfast and dinner. It is a great atmosphere, lots of action, great food and you are actually sitting on the beach. We took a water taxi to it the first day, which was nice to go out to the rock formations and see them up close, but it is not necessary for the distance. You can easily walk also! La Dolce is a great place for dinner in downtown. Good atmosphere and good Italian food. We do not recommend going to Lorenzillos, which the concierge at VLE does recommend. We did not have a good experience there at all.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience in Cabo and VLE, and definitely plan to return again!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    191
    50
    37
    25
See reviews for
683
415
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 13, 2006

Just returned from Cabo with a group of eight. Love Cabo, will always return, but Villa La Estancia is not going to be where we stay. Don't get me wrong, the property is beautiful, but you cannot unwind and have fun there. When we arrived, we put on our suits and headed for the gorgeous pool, it was 4:30 pm and we were not in the pool 15 minutes when someone bent down and said we have to keep it down. Crazy...they said someone might be sleeping! Now we are all 30-something and we are all professionals, we are not 18 and rowdy..we were at the swim up bar relaxing and laughing...too loud for the old farts that stay there I assume. Every night we were there we had a phone call, telling us to keep it down, we were sitting on our own deck at an early hour, just talking. Apparently, security walks the grounds and reports any noise to the desk and then they call....take my word for it, find somewhere else to stay...we paid a lot of money to get treated like a toddler. Cabo is a blast, but find somewhere else to enjoy your vacation!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Estancia for 1 week from May 16 - 23. We had seen comments made about the construction noise but thought we'd make the best of it. We stayed on the 2nd floor in building 3 right across from the La Parilla poolside eating establishment. The room was pretty nice, the only problem we had was, no water pressure so when you took a shower you had to hold the diverter valve on the faucet up until it built enough pressure to divert the water to the shower head. The other issue was the construction noise from the new resort that is being built right along side building 3. It went from 8:00 am to 8-9:00pm everyday. The poor workers didn't get Sunday off....There was also construction at the La Parilla so we had noise coming from both sides of our room!! The nights were so pleasant that we liked to keep our sliding door to the balcony open, however there were many nights when the other guests would be whooping and hollering around the pool until 3:00 am and the hotel staff didn't stop it. We also had an issue with the time share salesperson. They approach you with a free breakfast if you tour and listen to their speel about buying into the time share next door (the one under construction). The person who we had put pressure on us to buy and when we said we had to think about it, this person actually yelled at us! After that everytime they saw us we got the "cold stare". Not very professional.
On a good note, there were plenty of chairs to sit in around the pool, we did enjoy the food, (excellent) and the weather was perfect.
One warning...the taxi's charge $7.00 to get into town, do yourself a favor and have exact change. The driver's will tell you they don't have any change in the effort to extract more money from you.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

My wife and I just got back Sunday May the 28th from our honeymoon. Villa La Estancia is incredible. They were doing construction on the swim-up bar but were finishing up the day we left. Don't eat at the hotel. The food is good but expensive and you'll miss some of the best mexican and baja seafood you'll ever have a chance to try. You can bring you're own food and drinks to the pool just make sure they are in cans or plastic cups. Daquiris and Margaritas are $8 each. Ouch!! The rooms are awesome. Fernando will take care of you by the pool. He's a cool cat. The so called battle for chairs by the pool is a complete myth. We went to the pool at about 10:00 or 11:00 each day and never had a problem finding pool chairs. Rooms look just like in the pictures on the website.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wake'n'powder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

Just got back from a 5 day stay at Villa La Estancia. Everything is beautiful there. Did not stay on the construction side so I don't know anything about the noise! We stayed in a one bedroom villa which was plenty big for 2 adults and one child. Had a partial view of the ocean and a shared balcony. The food there is very expensive. We only ate lunch there twice during our stay. We cooked breakfast every morning in our room. They have a market, deli, and several shops across the street within walking distance. Everyone there went out of their way to make sure you were taken care of. Everyone is very friendly. Fernando is the pool guy that you need to find if you need anything! He is very helpful and speaks good English. He is known as the "pool patrol". Never really had a hard time getting chairs expect for early afternoon. People start putting items in the chairs to hold them starting around 10:00 or so. I would definately go back and stay there!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank christylep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 29, 2006

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Villa La Estancia. The place is georgous. The grounds are immaculate as well as the rooms. We booked through Expedia, the most reasonable room. I think it was called the European suite. After reading some reviews about sharing a balcony, I called them directly requesting, if possible, to get our own balcony. Well, when we got there, we were pleasantly surprised. We had a ground level room with a georgous view of the water, jacuzzi tub in the room, and our own private balcony. By the way, that is the only downfall that I saw was sharing the balconies. The resort is very quiet and romantic.

Villa La Estancia is also in the perfect location. If you need a little more action, it's just steps away. We ate breakfast next door at the Palmar, which is really reasonable and has a nice view of the ocean. You can walk along the beach and stop at the Office for shrimp tacos!!!! Delicious. You can't go wrong with shrimp in Cabo!!! Water taxis are a nice way to get downtown. It was only $3 a person for us. Taxis downtown are about $7.00 a ride too.

I thought the locals were adorable. Yeah, they come at you from every direction but they are very appreciative and happy. Especially when you go downtown, they are very creative with their approach. All you have to do is smile and say, No thanks!!!

Everywhere took dollars. Most places credit cards. Everyone spoke English. The only problem we had was when my husband got a haircut at the Palmar. She didn't speak English. It was pretty bad. But then again, who gets a haircut in Mexico??? It's something we can laugh about now!!!

There's not many places I would say I would go back to. I think there is too much to see in life, but I would definitely love to go back to the Villa La Estancia.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at the beautiful Villa La Estancia. We shared a two bedroom villa on the sixth floor with some friends from PA. The villa was immaculate and had everything we needed. We were surprised at how large it was. The only disappointing things about the villa itself were that it didn't have wireless access (apparently, due to construction that is going on near the resort) and limited TV channels. We were able to get wireless access from the lobby, however. Also, our cell phones didn't work, which meant having to make international calls - one 5-minute call was $28 USD. The only other negative thing I can think of is that natives walk up and down the beach trying to sell jewelry, hats, blankets, etc. The La Estancia appeared to have been the only resort that roped off a section of the beach for its guests in order to keep the vendors at bay; however, they will stand at the rope and yell to you to get your attention. After a few days of saying "no gracias" to the same vendors over and over again, it got rather annoying. You basically have to be rude and ignore them.

The breakfast buffet at the resort was delicious, but very expensive! ($30 USD per person) as are most things in Cabo. Fortunately, we had the Gold Card and got a 15% discount. I highly recommend trying to get a Gold Card by either sitting through a time share spiel or looking at a villa that is for sale. The Gold Card can be used at the La Estancia as well as the resort next door, including the Spa (I highly recommend getting a deep muscle tissue massage from Juliette); several restaurants in Cabo; and the shops on site at the La Estancia including the grocery store (only on Tuesdays though). The food you can order poolside or while relaxing on the beach was also very good. The drink speciality of Cabo is the Miami Vice - a combination of a strawberry daiquiri and a pina colada.

I would suggest taking a lot of small change for tips. When we got cash out of an ATM we expected USD but got pesos instead. I would also suggest that if you have a connection flight back in to the US that you give yourself plenty of time to go through customs. You will have to get your luggage and check it back in. We had a little over an hour between flights and barely made it.

Overall, the La Estancia is a wonderful place to stay while in Cabo. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank g8rnparrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#23 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#32 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,532 reviews
9.5 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Property: Villa La Estancia
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose Km 0.5 | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa La Estancia 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, an idyllic retreat awaits at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. Known for its refined elegance, sophisticated style and relaxing atmosphere right on Médano Beach, this resort creates an experience to relish. The pampering begins the moment you enter the lobby of the luxurious Villa La Estancia. Located on Médano Beach adjacent to sister properties Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa and Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, this five-star retreat prides itself on offering magnificence amidst a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel La Estancia
La Estancia Hotel
Villa La Estancia Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing