We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is not your usual condominium project. The architectural design and layout provides ocean and pool views for many units. The construction is high quality. We never heard a noise from another unit. We had a single room with a terrace and enough seating to qualify it as a junior suite.
The service is thoughtful and delivered by a staff that cares about the clients. The rooms are very comfortable. The property is beautiful. The pool is wonderful and has a non-slip bottom unlike any other I have seen. It was heated to around 100 degrees. The beach is lovely with great views toward "Lands End." The food at breakfast and lunch was very good quality. The property was close to town (but a $10 taxi ride). The one serious shortcoming was the totally unreliable wi-fi. None is most units. The wi-fi at the pool and in the lobby were totally unreliable--very frustrating.

Room Tip: We asked for and received a king bed and an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROBERT I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear. ROBERT I :

We are glad to know that you found at Villa La Estancia a beautiful property and thoughtful service. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenient with the wi-fi, we are working on that, we hope that you give us the opportunity to host you once again in a near future and provide you the level of service you deserve.

Cordially,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

983 - 989 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our family of 7 (2 seniors, 2 adults, 1 young teen) returned from a week at Villa La Estancia, just outside of Cabo San Lucas. We shared a very large 3 bedroom, 4 bath villa that was perfect in every way. This was on the first floor and at first I thought it was a bad idea, but the "broker" assured me that it was in wonderful shape, nicely furnished and up to date...better than another 3 bedroom on the 4th floor. She was right! This couldn't have been nicer - well decorated, well maintained and exceptionally roomy, inside and out. Being on the first floor did not mean a lack of privacy as the unit was set back from the paths that led to the pool(s) and beach. We never felt conspicious, even as we ate out on our terrace or relaxed, playing games on the outdoor table (which seated 8 comfortably). The layout inside also gave all of us privacy when needed - bedrooms separated from each other and living area far enough away to keep the kitchen chaos away from those seeking quiet.
Kitchen was reasonably equipped; all appliances up to date, with a refrigerator that made filtered ice and water quickly and quietly.
These beautiful villas DO NOT include some basics, which I knew ahead of time. But it is still too bad that paper towel, coffee filters, dish soap and dishwashing soap are not included for a weeks stay. We love to cook and eat in for some of our meals; so this meant buying all these things, knowing they'd be left behind. Hopefully the next renters will find them there. I had brought little baggies with spices, salt, pepper and small containers of mustard, ketsup, mayonnaise. This is easy to bring in a cooler bag that can be checked with luggage. No issue with bringing it into Mexico. We bought everything else we needed at the local MegaMart - a well stocked grocery store on the way in from the airport (near San Jose del Cabo). There is also a small market on the grounds which sells smaller sized basics like dish soap, plastic wrap, etc. It was very convenient for filling in during the week.
The pool(s) are lovely - swimming up to a cafe/bar for a quesedilla and a drink was a delightful thing to do - they also had servers out at the lovely and large beach area (with lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas). Plenty of large beach towels available too. From the beach one can grab a water taxi and go into town or out to the beautiful arch and other rock formations on quiet, sandy beaches. You can be left behind and then hours later, catch another water taxi back to the resort....they run frequently (remember to hold onto your receipt and not swim with it in your pocket or you'll pay twice). The sea lions are smelly and fun to watch on that same outing, but for $8 us dollars a person, this is a nice adventure that can last the whole day. (negotiate with the water taxi service).
On our last night, we hired a private chef to come to our villa and make dinner for our family. They did everything, including bringing a wonderful musician to entertain us after the meal. And of course, they left the kitchen spotless with the dishwasher running.
The location of the Villa La Estancia is perfect....our longest drive was 2 hours to La Paz to swim and snorkel with the whale sharks - not to be missed!! Other adventures were not so far afield - perhaps 35-40 minutes. Try to get to Los Tarmindos for a cooking class and wonderful meal that we helped prepare. The restaurant is in a lovely spot - you'd think you were in Tuscany - and the food is wonderful, whether you cook it yourself or not!
The kids played tennis at the resort - after a half hour of playing, a staff person arrived at the court with ice water and wet towels for a refreshing of the body and soul. Who Knew? It was such a nice treat. And that is the way the week went....kindness after kindness from the entire staff. We'd call ahead for our car and when we went out front, there it was. Also there is NO charge for car parking. You can even park it yourself and not use the valet.
This was such a wonderful place for all of us to be together, out of the cold of Chicago, Buffalo and Seattle. We always go someplace warm in Feb. but we've never been at a large resort before. This was such a wonderful surprise - easy, covenient, lovely and with the feel of our own private home, without the snow and ice!!!

Room Tip: Ask lots of questions about the unit! We didn't have a room up high and I thought i'd miss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingBubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear. TravelingBubs:

We appreciate the time you took to share you experience with others. We are so happy to know than Villa La Estancia has facilities, services and privacy that you and your family needed,
We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Best Regards
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great property! Lovely, swimmable beach. Awesome staff.
Great food and service at the pool bar (La Padrilla) and the restaurant (La Casona). All are very well managed.
Next door at Villa del Arco is a fantastic spa called the Desert Spa with top notch staff. We had fantastic massages, excellent facials and pedicures. I've been to many spas and this is one of the best. The manager, Francois Kingsley, makes sure that the spa and the attached gym are both excellent.
If you stay at Villa la Estancia, be sure to travel next door for a spa treatment.

Room Tip: Get a view of lover's beach if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear. L A:

Our satisfaction is that you enjoy your vacation, we are so happy to know that this was not the exception, thanks so much for share this friendly comment.
See you very soon.

Best Regards
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

we stayed at villa group hotels before and love them. this one is very nice and we will come back at some time. we did not go thru the hotel in the booking and so i wanna make it clear im not sure where the problem is. we used a company in florida that rents via owners. checking in was easy and fast. room looked great. but then we had issues. the villa needs work{1806} the floors need to be redone. tiles are broken. the beds need to be changes. they are just old. the wicker couches are just out of date. the pool is nice. the crew is okay but not as friendly as at other villa hotels. food in the hotel was okay but you got plenty of restaurants around. since my partner fell ill while in cabo i have to give extra credit to the hotel and doc on call. every thing was done to help us and without asking for it. the cabo med center and there staff took very well care. if you have to get sick, glad it was in cabo. thanks to all of you. yes we had some things that did not work out. will not hold it against the hotel. but in august im going to villa la estancia in p.v.

Room Tip: if you like to get the morning sun get a room in the 3 phase of hotel.top floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobby95409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear. bobby95409:

We thank you for bringing this valuable information to our attention; do believe your comments will not go unnoticed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again on your next vacations.

Cordially,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have stayed in Cabo three times and this has been our absolute best choice for accommodations. Our two bedroom Vila was just outstanding and included all the amenities that make a home away from home very comfortable and enjoyable. The service was excellent and the grounds were impeccable. We loved the location, which is away from the craziness but within easy walking distance. We will definitely return ti this beautiful resort on our next trip to Cabo.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPIIIShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear. CPIIIShasta:

Is good to know that you found in Villa La Estancia the best choice for accommodations, Thanks you for choosing us.
We look forward to welcoming you soon, on your next vacations.

Sincerely,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We recently stayed one week at the Villa la Estancia to celebrate my birthday. From the moment you enter the reception the service is outstanding. We were escorted to our room and when we walked through the entrance gates to our rooms, ... our mouths dropped open as this was indeed the most beautiful place we have ever stayed at!!! We were on the 5th floor and had a magnificent view specially at sunrise. The rooms are very large and spacious and beautifully furnished.
Every day the staff would be out early wiping down the beach chairs and attending to the magnificent gardens. Cleanliness in this resort is superb..
Villa la Estancia is located within waking distance to town and there are buses right outside the gate to take you to Walmart if you need groceries for $1.00 as opposed to the $9 cab fare.
There are two pools here with the upper pool being slightly warmer. There was an abundance of chaise lounges around the pool and they provided you with head cushions plus towels.
This is an Owner owned residence but you can find rentals on VRBO. It is a quiet resort so if you want activities you can walk next door for water aerobics or two yoga classes which are free. Villa Estancia has a spa facility and a well appointed weight room that was very busy in the mornings.
The yoga instructor we had was Theresa and she was amazing. We did the stretch class on the grass at 10:00 am so it was a great way to start your day. For a more regimented yoga class, you can pay $12 and attend the Villa Arco resort next door in an air conditioned room.
The drinks at La Estancia were overpriced in my mind at $12.50 and they do not offer a Happy Hour or 2 for 1 but again this is a very high end resort and caters to that crowd. We just went up to our room and mixed our own drinks and enjoyed them on the patio.
The balconies are very, very spacious and we had a large barbecue so enjoyed cooking up chicken and prawns one night for dinner.

Oh I should also mention that on our last night, they placed flowers all around the jacuzzi tub, spelled out Happy Birthday to me in colourful stones and flowers on the bed and then brought a piece of delicious cake up to the room for me!!! What an amazing and thoughtful gesture and one that I sincerely appreciated.
I look forward to returning here and this is definitely a 5 star plus resort.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor of building 3. Our side was very quiet and had a magnificent view. Try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeGustaMexico07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear. MeGustaMexico07:

Thanks very much for giving us the opportunity to celebrate this special day with you!! Happy Birthday!! , and thanks one more time for your splendid description of Villa La Estancia , all our team will be waiting for you in your next visit to Cabo.
Se you soon, we like that you like Mexico.

Sincerely,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

What can I say, the minute we walked through the door, we were enchanted. Wonderful place to spend in Cabo. So glad we did this rather than book a normal hotel room. It was wonderful having a 2000' place all to ourselves. The view was incredible and we felt pampered. The resort is small, but is close enough to town that you can easily get a taxi or walk. We walked most days or took a bus and took a taxi back. Walmart is an easy bus or taxi ride away as well for stocking up. Well worth the price!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzeyq2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadelpalmar1, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear. Suzeyq2u:

We thank you for your kind review, Villa La Estancia is your Home, will be a pleasure to host you again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.5 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,016 reviews
3.0 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
1.4 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose Km 0.5 | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $327 - $959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, an idyllic retreat awaits at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. Known for its refined elegance, sophisticated style and relaxing atmosphere right on Médano Beach, this resort creates an experience to relish. The pampering begins the moment you enter the lobby of the luxurious Villa La Estancia. Located on Médano Beach adjacent to sister properties Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa and Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, this five-star retreat prides itself on offering magnificence amidst a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel La Estancia
La Estancia Hotel
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing