We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Cascadas de Baja(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Positano Hotel(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Cabo Inn(Cabo San Lucas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,807)
Filter reviews
1,807 results
Traveler rating
1,474
208
56
39
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,474
208
56
39
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla parrillathrough vrboswim up bardesert spasister propertiesfull kitchenmedano beachwasher dryerlands endpoolside restaurantspring breakpool staffhuge balconymaster bedroomgold cardfamily vacationmeal plan
Filter
Updating list...
1,262 - 1,267 of 1,807 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Villa La Estancia is an absolutely beautiful resort in a great location on El Madano Beach in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. The grounds are immaculate, a setting that might appear in a romantic film about love in paradise. The swimming pools are pristine and the swim-up bar allows vacationers to stay cool while quenching their thirst and chatting with other vacationers. The resort offers the option of hanging around the gorgeous pool area, resting on the beach, working out in the modern gym, or enjoying one of the many hot tubs. The beach is vast, so going for long walks along the sandy shore is another option. Along the way, you may enjoy drinks or food at The Office , the Mango Deck or any of the other restaurants and bars dotting the beautiful tan sandy shoreline of El Madano Beach. You can walk all the way to the Marina and into town if you choose, where you’ll find a variety of shops, restaurants, and bars. Though we walked through town, we spent most of our time at the resort where we joined the meal plan that allowed us to dine at any of the restaurants in the three complexes that compose the Villa Group Resorts: Villa La Estancia, the diamond of the three, Villa Del Arco, and Villa del Palmer. The meal plan is a good deal, if not for drinks alone, and the restaurants provide a wide variety of choices: Italian, sushi/seafood, Mexican, a steakhouse, and poolside grills. Additionally, there are other breakfast and lunch choices throughout the three resorts. However, if you are accustomed to high quality cuisine and consider yourself a “foodie,” you might be disappointed. Some of the meals were good while others--not so much. The service at the Italian restaurant was extremely slow. We sat for nearly 30 minutes before a waitress took our order, me the seafood pasta and my wife a vegetable pizza. The pizza was adequate while the pasta dish was extremely disappointing, especially for a restaurant on the ocean. The open-air steakhouse has excellent ambiance, but the food left much to be desired. For us, the best dining spot was El Faro at Villa del Acro, but it was hit and miss there too. We had two average meals and a great one, though the sushi was consistently good. Nevertheless, all the restaurants are perfectly located for a romantic evening. The best thing about the meal plan is that is offers multiple options if you choose to stay near the resort and you can have drinks throughout all three resorts; there is even a sports bar. The price of the meal plan includes tax and tip, but it seemed as if the servers expected extra. This is a complicated issue because a tip is included, but is it adequate? That is unclear. On the other hand, the entire staff is helpful and courteous, always a pleasure to deal with. A downside is that the resort does not offer a business office and the in-room Internet service is intermittent. I work online and was, on one occasion, forced to go to the lobby to obtain access. Access for the rest of the vacation was intermittent, sometimes fast and sometimes very slow. The one bedroom suite was stayed in was absolutely amazing with multiple amenities including a large balcony that provided a breathtaking view of the sea. We couldn’t have asked for a better location. The Villa La Estancia is a terrific place, one where we plan to return. The staff, the accommodations, and the grounds are truly excellent. The restaurants, though adequate for many, did not live up to a higher standard. However, we are very picky, discerning eaters.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites in phase 3 are great. We were on the 6th floor, 3606. Simply awesome!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WritersChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear. WritersChoice :
We appreciated the time you took to share your experience with others. On behalf of Villa La Estancia we offer you our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay, your comments are highly appreciated as they assist us in our effort to improve our service. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again on your next visit to Cabo.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited the Villa La Estancia for a friend's wedding over Easter. I'll start w/ the good. The resort is beautiful, some of the rooms are amazing; with great views, sunken tubs, clean, good water pressure in shower and great natural light. The restaurant at the pool has great food and we never got sick from anything we ate/drank while on the premises. The location is also good, you can walk to the primary beach bars and it really is just a less than 5 min cab to the center of town.

THE BAD- If you get stuck w/ a horrible room (ie: the entrance is right in front of valet on the first floor where everyone walks by) you are pretty much screwed. They call these rooms "ocean view" even though you couldn't see the ocean. We complained and complained some more. Some people got lucky and were moved while others weren't. They didn't move us until the 3rd night of our 4 night stay. The staff wasn't even willing to look in the computer to see what options we had just said, "we are full" over and over again. Whoever threw the biggest fit got moved. They even tried to screw the bride w/ a first floor room where you couldn't see the ocean which is what we needed for pictures and was requested days before. She pitched a fit when they said there was nothing they could do and only after 4 hours of complaining were they magically able to find a better room for her. It's actually unbelievable the lack of customer service. My husband speaks fluent Spanish and still couldn't make it happen. I would not stay here again b/c I wouldn't want to roll the dice and keep fingers crossed that we get a nice room; it's not worth the stress or the money.

Room Tip: Do not be on the first floor or in the back of the horseshoe. Good luck trying to change rooms while there.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kjtraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear kjtraveler2008,
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel on the whole and especially the restaurants. I am sorry that you did not like the location and the view of the room we had reserved for you. The fact is that your reservation was for a garden view room and that is what we assigned. Normally, in the case that a guest does not like the location of the room and we are not full, we are able to find a room with a location and view which is more of their liking. However, on the day of your arrival the hotel was totally fully booked with all rooms occupied. Therefore, we were unable to change you to another room at that time and not until we had other guests checking out. I assure you that we always try to accommodate our guests to the best of our abilities and I sincerely hope that if you travel again to Cabo San Lucas you will give us another chance and stay with us once more.

Sincerely,
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at Villa Estancia 3 different times. I try other hotels, but keep returning to Villa Estancia! The hotel has lovely sea views and the apartments are beautifully decorated, although some are starting to show their age. The pools and grounds on the property are very well kept. This hotel has it all-it is very safe, great ocean swimming, easy to get to downtown and the restaurants are good. I recommend this property highly!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juju1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear. juju1967 :
Thank you for sharing such a delightful review from your third Villa La Estancia visit!
I definitely agree with you, our rooms need new decoration and we are working on the renovation.
I hope to have the opportunity to show you our new rooms on your future visit to Cabo.

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Absolutely no issues as such.

It is 20mins. walk to-from the shopping-center/downtown. So just be aware of that. Cab one-way is $7 (Up to 4 people can travel for a total of $7. so fairly inexpensive.) but it adds up if you need to make couple of trips in the same day.

It is a little on the pricey side. Casa Dorado - just next door and closer to downtown area - may be less pricey and equally good. Try that one too.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3302. This was just overlooking the ocean and had a fabulous view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aks G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear. Aks G :
We thank you for your kind review. Your comments have been forwarded to those involved. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in a near future.

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay. It is a short walk into downtown Cabo but far enough to feel that you are on a more secluded beach. I walked and drove pretty much the whole town and looked at most of the hotels and this was the best choice. The price was great and the resort was beautiful. The best part is the beach in front of the hotel. It's a lot less crowded than the beaches closer to downtown but you can still walk the beach right to the town center. You get the best of both worlds. This is a clear choice next time I stay there too.

Room Tip: See if they can get you an ocean facing room because the view is phenomenol.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tubetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvanbalderen, Gerente at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear. Tubetop:
We thank you for choose Villa La Estancia as your best option in Cabo, thank you for letting us hear about your amazing visit. Please do come see us again soon!

Cordially
Rene Van Balderen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews