We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful property”
Review of Villa La Estancia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa La Estancia
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just got back from our Cabo trip and stayed at La Estancia after booking thru VRBO.Booking process went without a hitch and Humberto the manager called us here in Australia to verify details and answer our questions. The property was beautifully maintained, fantastic pool, numerous hot tubs, staff bent over backwards to make our stay effortless, there was a great gym lovely spa facilities,and various restaurants. We booked room 1401 and our friends booked 1201, identical rooms ocean front on the corner in building 1. Great rooms all day sun on the balcony and uninterrupted views of lands end and the beach. Room 1401 had a larger balcony, but other than that they were identical. king size bed dvd and tv in room [although i thought there would be a flat screen tv not the outdated model provided. There was satellite tv but stations limited in English. Rooms had air conditioning coffee maker, fridge and some complimentary drinks, beer, vodka sprite coke. The water in Cabo is safe to drink, my husband and I only drank the tap water and it was fine, we did not get sick. I had researched this prior to our trip.
The hotel had an inclusive package for food which was $89 US dollars per day per person, which we did not take up.There is a small cafe in the front of the hotel where you can buy breakfast and coffees etc which is cheaper than the hotel. There are beach restaurants 5 mins walk down towards town and we loved sitting looking out at the ocean. The cost for 2 of us there was about $15, and that included hot breakfast, drinks fruit and toast, so good value. We ate once at the hotel next door which is part of Estancia (you can use their facilities and also the facilities of the other hotel on the other side) but a buffet breakfast there was $55 which was too expensive. There is a small general store at the front of the hotel which is pretty pricey.
We ate at the pool restaurant for lunch each day which was not too bad...roughly $18 for us both with drinks and really nice food.
At night plenty of restaurants in town to pick from, and the food was great, places very clean and people really friendly. We loved it.
There are beach sellers on the Medano beach, which i loved, and they were never pushy and very friendly. If you said no gracias they moved on and did not persist.
The hotel is about 20-30 minute walk to town,either along the beach or the road, but when we were there it was so hot even at 830 in the morning, that a walk into town was uncomfortable so we just caught cabs which the staff called for us and came to the door to pick us up. You can walk down to the road and there are heaps waiting for you there, and the cost is a standard 70 pesos (7 dollars) There is also a local bus which costs 10 pesos and this goes vial Walmart then to town.
Walmart is within walking distance if you are keen, but we caught the bus...too hot. You can pick up snacks and drinks there, and also there is a small plaza there and a couple of banks.
All in all a lovely place to stay, a little bit out of town, but walkable if you don't mind some exercise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank living4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,611)
There are newer reviews for Villa La Estancia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We've been going to VLE for several years now, and it's hard to think about staying anywhere else because our entire family just LOVES La Estancia! From the friendly greetings on arrival to the sincere wishes to "come back soon!" the entire staff makes you feel that you're staying at your home away from home. Being right there on Medano beach has it's perks too....a short walk to the Office, and you can rent waverunners or go parasailing from right there on the beach! From start to finish it's a great experience...can't recommend it any more highly!

Room Tip: It's more convenient to stay on the lower floors...but then the upper floors have the better vie...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tyler h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

booked a getaway through estanciavacations.com where you can essentially sublet one of a wide selection of condos at Villa la Estancia. The site lets you select the unit and view the individual floor plans, decor, amenities, etc. The site coordinators, Malcolm and Vicki were extremely easy to work with and helpful in setting up not only a great price and unit (3704 penthouse - amazing views from the huge rooftop terrace), but they also can arrange transportation , excursions and recommend local dining. I think overall you get a much enhanced experience and can get some amazing units.

the property makes it easy to relax with a beautiful pool and grounds. You can stock up at Walmart/costco or use the convenient and well supplied on-site store. The fitness center is clean cool and has plenty of machines. I highly recommend some spa treatments at the large Desert spa that is also on site. Check for the ongoing specials. Dining on site is easy with great food - la Casona is more expensive than the other restaurants but the service and food were excellent. Look for the tasting menus and wine dinners to sample some intriguing Mexican wines. The Kobe beef was perfection. If you want more of a local dining experience town is just a short walk/ride/water taxi away. Safe and clean distance but not too far like palmilla or on the windier pacific.The view of lands end is amazing, even when one of the big cruise ships pulls in.

Overall Estancia is an amazing home base for exploring the area, or just relaxing and being pampered.

Room Tip: booking through laestanciavacations.com allows you to personalize your entire trip from picking a sp...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_007_NC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We (2 ladies) used Bookit & got a a "Deluxe Room" for $100 per person per nite.. Non-inclusive. Yes unlike all the other Bookit deals we had read which were priced per nite, we didn't notice this one was per person until we booked. We could have easily canceled but the location was on the beach so we kept it. So here's what we got for $200 a nite: the room was fine, 2 queen beds, but they were not comfortable. We asked for a free upgrade since during this time of year... Read HOT &HUMID, we thought they could at least give us a kitchen but they couldn't. We begged for at least a microwave but it took a day and 3 more reminders to get one. The "upgrade" they gave us was a room near the pool so I could have free wi-fi. That worked if I sat practically on the balcony railing, but not more than a foot back from it, so it wasn't very comfortable. We joked about being on the Walmart Plan & went there for food only to be helped by an over-anxious employee who turned out to be a timeshare rep! We had already succumbed to one at the airport even tho we were warned not to. They are very deceptive & when I asked for my airport transfer, I was led to a guy pretending to be from the company. We got a few discount tours but others we met got FREE tours, car rentals, etc, so hold out for more! Anyway the pools & landscaping are beautiful at this property but they are condos, and ours wasn't owner- occupied so the management company didn't invest much in it (cheap plastic toilet seat & towel ring which kept falling off). On the plus side, our male concierge took pity on us & gave us 2 place settings & the 3 in.remains of a huge Kirkland Vodka bottle for our Walmart Tonic & limes. Based on what I heard while there, you can get all-inclusive at a nice beach-front property for what we paid. We spent more on cab fares into town & the marina than on food. Most of all, they should pay us to go there in summer! It's like being in a constant sauna! But I did enjoy the Dolphin Swim! camel Ride, & submarine tours. I could have passed on the Todos Santos tour.

Room Tip: See above.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bgmoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family stayed at the Villa Estancia for one week in March of 2012. I will begin with the positives:

The property is lovely. Our villa was large and well-furnished. The pool area was very nice. We enjoyed the swim up bar and the cocktails. Overall the food was quite good. We had purchased the all-inclusive package so we ate almost all of our meals at the resort. We had a fabulous time on the whale-watching boat cruise we took and we saw some awesome whales.

Now for the "mixed" part. The service was good but not great. Everyone was nice, but they did not attend to all of the details that a fine hotel takes care of. Most importantly, my daughter became very ill on our third day despite having eaten all of our meals in the all-inclusive plan. I will spare you the details, but she had typical symptoms that one hears about in Mexico. She had such severe abdominal cramps she could not stand up. We went to the hotel doctor who sees patients on the resort property and he recommended she be taken by taxi to a "clinic" in Cabo. Upon entering the clinic, we were required to pay $2000 in cash/credit card. They do not accept American insurance. My daughter was so miserable we gave them a credit card. No one in the clinic spoke much English. They wanted to keep her overnight, but after hydrating her and giving her an anit-emetic she began to feel better. I refused to let her stay overnight. The clinic did not even have a working soap dispenser in her bathroom. With GI illness hand-washing is very important. She was finally discharged, but only after I insisted she leave. We were charged another $900 plus on discharge. This was in addition to the $2000 that we already paid. They diagnosed her with "amoeba" (basically, Montezuma's revenge). We really felt taken advantage of by the hotel doctor and the clinic. Fortunately, our insurance reimbursed us $1700 of the nearly $3000 that we paid.

The other negative experience took place the final night of our visit. We had called the concierge the previous day to book the upscale seafood restaurant at the sister resort. I can't recall the name of the restaurant, but we had saved the best for last. The concierge accepted our reservation. We put on our nice clothes and headed next door for what we hoped to be a fabulous meal (my daughter's appetite had finally returned) only to find out that the restaurant was closed!! We were pretty disappointed. We couldn't fathom that they had booked us for a night the restaurant was closed. Keep in mind that this restaurant is part of the Villa Estancia complex. When we complained to the management about the concierge booking us for a night that the restaurant was closed a weak apology was all we received. We ended up dining in the same restaurant where we had dined at least twice before.

We also had a negative experience with the sales staff. We signed up for a whale watching boat trip upon arrival in the airport (newly arrived visitors are besieged by sales people). We agreed to listen to a time-share pitch in order to receive this boat trip. Well, the sales pitch started out fine, but after a while when we clearly voiced that we were not interested in purchasing a time share things changed and it became very unpleasant. We had to speak to at least three different people before we were permitted to leave.

We have traveled quite a bit around the world, and this is a place that we will NOT return to. Anyone can get sick in Mexico, even at the best resorts. But the Villa Estancia needs to evaluate their relationship with the doctor and clinic that they are affiliated with. They also need to lighten up on the sales pitch. The last hour was unpleasant. We will not return to Cabo or the Villa Estancia after this experience.

I would also like to add that I remember posting this review back in March or April after our return, and for some reason I am unable to find it on the Trip Advisor web site.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank cellapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We just returned from a 5 day trip to La Estancia! All I can say is Awesome! Property is beautiful, impeccably maintained and a true home away from home. Make sure you visit Juan at the pool bar and tell him his friends from Texas sent you and don't forget to order a "swimming pool" cocktail.. The ONLY drawback was the gentleman at the tour desk, felt like we were being taken advantage of by being asked to pay a certain amount in credit card and the rest in cash.. Never mind anyone making a living but the tactic was less than desirable. Other than that, we learned a lesson.... Looking forward to the next time..

The MItchell's from Houston, TX.

Room Tip: Make sure and pay the extra for an ocean view, you wont be disappointed. We recommend Villa #3504
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

La Estancia was perfect for our family which consisted of 17 parents, teenagers, and a toddler. The suites are simply amazing... 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a very large living/dining/kitchen area, and a big balcony with grill and separate sink. The property is beautiful... includes a private beach and extremely nice pool, while not very big, was composed of different gradients and sections that make it interesting. There's a little super-market that has a good variety of basic needs, but outrageously expensive (a box of wheat thins was $9 US), a good ice cream counter, and a deli/cafe with surprisingly good sandwiches. My 3-year old daughter loved the pool, and riding on the free trolley that circled the properties. The only watch-outs are swimming in the ocean (the waves nearly killed my 3-year old and husband), and the concierge, which gave us dubiously-reliable information. Overall I would come back to la estancia any day.

Room Tip: 3708 was awesome! even a pantry full of food & drinks.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whereisnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.5 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
1.5 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
2,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#33 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
6,700 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Estancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Estancia

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose Km 0.5 | Col. El Medano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $349 - $948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa La Estancia 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, an idyllic retreat awaits at Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa, Los Cabos. Known for its refined elegance, sophisticated style and relaxing atmosphere right on Médano Beach, this resort creates an experience to relish. The pampering begins the moment you enter the lobby of the luxurious Villa La Estancia. Located on Médano Beach adjacent to sister properties Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa and Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos, this five-star retreat prides itself on offering magnificence amidst a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa La Estancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Estancia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel La Estancia
La Estancia Hotel
Villa La Estancia Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing