We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, not excellent”
Review of El Farallon

El Farallon
Ranked #20 of 578 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $100 - $150
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: El Farallon is a Los Cabos restaurant tucked into the cliffs of The Resort at Pedregal that resembles a coastal seafood shop that has survived its share of storms. El Farallon invites guests to gather with friends to enjoy Cabo San Lucas fine dining and a casual atmosphere accentuated by the evening sunset above crashing ocean waves.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good, not excellent”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We went to El Farralon for my birthday while in Cabo. The place is beautiful... Top notch. However, the service was mediocre to slightly above. The food was also very good... But not worth the price... But combine all of it... And it was fantastic. I just wish cocktails didn't take 15 minutes to receive and wine wasn't $150+ per bottle (for the cheap). I would go back, very good experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    156
    71
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Spectacular Setting, Exceptional Seafood”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The restaurant is carved into the rock overlooking the Pacific Ocean. While you dining, you hear the water splashing of the rocks below. While the food is very good, it is the sensational setting which really makes the restaurant.

While there is a token beef rib eye on the menu, the specialty of this place is fresh seafood; I would not come here if you want anything other than seafood. Although sauces are provided on the side, the focus is on simply prepared seafood entrees. Your waiter will take you to the front of the restaurant to view that night's menu options which are written on a chalk board. The seafood was so fresh it glistened.

Entrees average about $30 and comes with a choice of two sides and a trio of appetizers for the table. Everything was delicious and the service was exceptional. They do not rush you here; diners are allowed to make an evening of this incredible dining experience if they so choose.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The view: simply breathtaking, spectacular sunset.

Ambiance: Romance for two, or festive among friends and family. soft, live acoustic jazz in the background.

The food: fresh and cooked to perfection (i ordered the seabass and prawns). both were basically seared in butter and with simple spices, which is how i like it since i'm a bit of a purist when it comes to fresh seafood.

The service was superb.

Downside: the wine was a little flat and overpriced, and they require a credit card for reservations, which i wasn't too crazy about given that I've had a bad experience with unauthorized use of my credit card in Mexico.

would definitely return and would certainly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dabugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The setting is dramatic and romantic all at the same time. The restaurant is built into the side of a cliff with waves crashing below. Add unbelievable fresh seafood and great service to that and you have a wonderful dining experience.
The fish was simple, clean and delicious and the appetizer of sea bass ceviche was awesome.
This was one of the most memorable dining experiences in cabo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mlgtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is by far one of the classiest restaurants I have ever been to. Located on cliffs overlooking the water, this is an outdoor restaurant with the freshest fish in Cabo. The service was impeccable. It was so enjoyable we returned for a second time that week. It is a great "special occasion" place. The tunnel through the mountain to get to the restaurant was a nice treat. Don't miss this place while in Cabo!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Farallon also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to El Farallon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing