We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Oasis in the Heart of Cabo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hacienda Beach Club has the perfect location in Cabo---close to the fun restaurants, bars and shops downtown, yet sufficiently removed to seem like an oasis from all of the hubbub further down Medano Beach. This is a fantastic property. The pool and beach club area are really the focal point of the resort. This is one of the most beautiful pool areas you can imagine, and it was never crowded when we were there in late January/ early February.The chaise lounges are plush, and the staff takes good care of you. The food and drink served poolside, or at the beach, come from the wonderful Hacienda Cocina. A mojito or tamarind margarita by the pool is a real treat. We used complimentary kayaks from the beach club to visit the Arch and Lovers Beach---this is highly recommended. My wife raved about her massage at the Spa. I used the spa a few times for a steam bath or sauna---it is a beautiful facility. The "resort residences" are new and have beautiful kitchens and outdoor spaces. The master bedrooms are huge, and perhaps a bit disproportionate in size to the guest bedrooms. We were only on the second floor but we had a fantastic view of the Arch.Keep in mind that the property is on busy Medano Beach, so in peak periods, you may hear some noise from the beach bars down the beach or some occasional partying from boats in the bay. Everything about this property was topnotch----highly recommended.

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and 5 are closer to pool and beach club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iowaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 240 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our first trip to Cabo San Lucas, and the HBCR was the perfect location to experience Cabo from. After much painstaking research, we booked HBCR via VRBO. The owner was great to deal with, answered all our questions promptly, we were initially hesitant to book through VRBO, as we had never heard dealt with them before (we are from Australia), but we needn't have worried, everything was smooth sailing, and the apartment exceeded all our expectations! We stayed at apartment 4/402. We were offered a full concierge service, but booked our transfers online with Victors Cabo Transportation (very efficient, friendly service).
The concierge, Paul, met us at the apartment, and had a little welcome snack ready for us (much appreciated after nearly 20 hours of flying), he showed us around the apartment, and around HRBO grounds. The apartment is beautifully decorated, there was not a single item we could have wanted that was not already there. The view from the apartment is spectacular, furnishings and bed were all very comfortable. HBCR is very secure, pedestrian gates and vehicle entrances are guarded at all hours. Do not hesitate to book this great resort, everything was fantastic, including the on site restaurant; Cocina y Cantina! We did not get a chance to use the gym, beach club, but it all looked great.
Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment 4/402;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goslats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wow, what a place. It took our breath away as we walked into the reception area and when we got to our 4th floor room we were blown away by the view. We’ve been to lots of places and found this place to be one of the best if not the best we’ve ever stayed at. Grounds were immaculate and beautifully landscaped. The pool and beach are incredible. Very few people around, it felt like this an oasis in the middle of all the action around you in town in front of you out in the bay. I could go on and on about this place. I think you can see from other reviews this is a top notch resort. Yes, it is expensive, but oh so worth it. Staff is fabulous, they will take care of everything you ask for. Extremely professional., you can tell they love working here. It really has an impact on the overall atmosphere and environment interacting with people who enjoy serving their guest. I don’t know how we could justify staying anywhere else when we come back to Cabo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MakoAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

First, this was our 2nd visit to HBCR, three years after our 1st visit. It only continued to exceed our expectations from the reliable transportation; pristine grounds; elegant residence units; well-equipped beach club; fun kids club; delicious, affordable restaurant; excellent security; and outstanding service!

The staff was quick and courteous when answering our questions via email prior to arrival. Highly recommend booking RT transportation with them: friendly driver was there to greet us at the airport, plenty of water en route, luxurious SUV, and she happily stopped at a grocery store for us before arriving at the Hacienda (pre-arrival grocery service is also offered but we chose to shop for ourselves during both visits). There is also ample underground parking with elevators, should you choose to rent a car. The same VIP treatment was waiting for us when we arrived. We were escorted to our resort residence rental while our luggage was delivered to our bedrooms and our groceries were unpacked and stored before we could blink! Again, the wifi was easy to access and very fast; the gourmet kitchen (we had a chef prepare an exquisite dinner for us during our first trip - well worth the money) fit all of our needs, and the luxurious touches throughout the residence were captivating!

Although the adults-only pool sits above the family pool, it is quiet, private, and serene with spectacular views of the sea. The beach bar is located on the family pool level across from the hot tub, near the short stairway to the beach level, and it provides exceptional service for pool and beachside drinks that are delicious and quickly delivered.

The kids club (reservations not necessary) is wonderful - located in the interior hallway behind the family pool and near the pool restrooms. It is always staffed with at least one staff member and it offers a variety of indoor hands-on activities. There is also a fooseball and ping pong table located in the hallway outside of the kids club. We only visited twice for short visits (while waiting for dinner and while we packed for our departure) but it would provide a wonderful haven during inclement weather or when children need a break from the sun.

The beach club is located on the beach level, under the restaurant (separate EXCELLENT restaurant review will be provided) that is accessed by stairs in front of the restaurant/adjacent to the family pool. Included in your stay is access to kayaks, paddleboards, and snorkel equipment. We used all three and found them to be of high quality and new.

The beach itself is consistently monitored by staff for cleanliness and to ensure the privacy of guests in the roped off area closest to the property. If you choose to move closer to the water, lounge chairs, umbrellas, and beach towels are promptly delivered to your desired spot on the beach.

Not for one second did we ever feel unsafe (either visit in summer '09 & '12) due to 24-hr security; guarded gated pedestrian and vehicle entrances; and high staff to guest ratio.

Your only sad moment during your stay will occur while you pack for your departure!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrvlLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our 5th trip to Cabo, but the first time we've stayed at the HBC. Our 2 bedroom, 2.5 bath unit was extremely well decorated and in perfect condition. The grounds are immaculate, the views outstanding and the staff first rate. There's nothing negative I can say about this place. The clincher was the Cocina y Cantina restaurant. We look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank gdm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I got married in Cabo in 2011, and we fortunate enough to find Hacienda Cocina y Cantina for our rehearsal dinner. When all of our guests arrived, they were "amazed" at the views, and the dinner was phenominal. Well, my wife and I decided that night that even though it was a little "pricey" to stay at the Hacienda Beach Club and Residences, we would try to do it every other year to celebrate our anniversary and to remind of of how wonderful the an experience we had during or rehearsal dinner. Well, this year we were lucky enought to find an owner that was renting his one bedroom condo that had a "huge" kitchen and was a short walk to the beach club. We used the spa and went to the beach club every day to lay by the pool and bask in the great weather and be reminded why the Cabo views are so special to us. So, down to the specifics...the property is well manacured and maintained, the workout center is top-notch, and pool...well it is difficult to describe the views from the pool area...but even if you don't stay at the property, try to come by one day for lunch or dinner and You will not regret it. The Location is central to everything and you can walk to the marina, into town and really never need to cab it around. Many other reviews say this place is Perfect...and we absolutely agree.

Room Tip: Building 4 or 5 is close to the beach club, pool, restuarant and spa. Building 1 and 2 are further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kjpooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the HBC in Cabo the last two weeks in October. What a fantastic experience it turned out to be and it was our first time working with VRBO.

About us - We are well traveled and typically choose luxury resorts that enable us to enjoy ocean activities like scuba, surfing, paddleboarding, etc. Our favorite resorts include One&Only (Reethi and Kanuhura), Bora Bora Nui Resort, St. Regis Bora Bora, Canouan Carenage resort, Grand Hyatt Kauai, Palm Island etc. Being able to swim from the beach in the resort is very important to us and is what lead us to discover Hacienda Beach Club. It was our first time to Cabo, and we were surprised that most locations are not on swimmable beaches due to the dangerous waves. Medano beach is promoted as swimmable but also has a reputation for being busy, crowded, noisy and chock full of roving, annoying salesmen. And it is. Until you step over the line onto the private part of Medano that is owned by Hacienda Beach Club  Once you are on the secure part of the beach you begin your experience!!

LOCATION
Location location location - this place is quite honestly in the perfect place – right in the heart of cabo. Unless you’re planning on spending time in San Jose, or La Paz, or you’re doing a lot of golfing you don’t even need a car. Most excursions leave from the Marina (which is a 5 minute walk) or they send a shuttle to pick you up.

RESTAURANT - Hacienda Cocina y Cantina
It’s rated #1 in Cabo for a reason. Don’t miss out. The restaurant manager is extremely personable, and his staff are practically mind readers. They welcome you and make you feel comfortable while serving some of the most mouthwatering creations. The view is unreal.

BEACH/POOL BAR
An extension of the restaurant and you can tell. Omar, Edwin, Carlos and so many others I feel bad about forgetting names right now because they couldn’t do enough to make sure we were happy with what we were drinking, eating or where we were sitting! Carlos loved to get creative with drinks and different tequila’s and appreciated those of us with a sense of adventure!! The servers were forever surprising us. Middle of the pool – no problem for these guys, they’d poor wine, deliver drinks wherever we were. They knew our names from day 1, asked about our lives, told us about their families and genuinely enjoyed being at work. We miss them and their smiling faces 

ACTIVITIES
Oh my gosh – what a dream. Beach sports including paddleboarding and kayaking were all included. I’m sure there was more in the sports equipment room, but we had a blast with the paddleboards and kayaks. They told us to sit in the kayak on the beach and basically pushed us in. Brought us water and towels when we returned. Really nice touches and incredibly knowledgeable fun guys more than willing to help us.
Fitness activities – located in the spa area the rooms were set up perfectly. Enjoy pilates classes, spinning classes, yoga etc. Or go into the weight room that is built with the gorgeous detail found everywhere in on the property and jump on one of multiple cardio machines. Finish up with a sauna or steam, outdoor shower or cold pool/hot tub dip. All surrounded with water features that urge you to the relaxation area for an outdoor nap that literally sucks any stress you might still have right out of you!
Offsite activities
Scuba and Ziplining – we used cabo adventures and we were very happy with them. They are a bigger outfit and it’s a bit like Disneyland dealing with the checkin processes and the numbers of people across all the activities they offer. They have dolphins in captivity which seems to be a HUGE attraction and I am against that. When I booked I didn't realize that we'd have to right past the dolphins to get our scuba equipment (like I said, DIsneyland sales tactics). Don't get me wrong, the equipment, transportation and crews were all really good, they were great for our first time in Cabo for scuba and ziplining but I know we’d go with smaller, more local companies when we go back – ones that do not keep dolphins in captivity. And that is purely a personal choice – no reflection on their service for the activities we signed up with them for.

TURTLES
I have never seen baby turtles released and this was actually pretty emotional to watch (even for the big grown men on the beach seeing it for the first time!). On the beach at dusk seeing hundreds of these baby turtles instinctively racing for the sea, knowing maybe one of them might make it back to lay her eggs on this very beach one day just stirs something in your heart and is an experience I’ll never forget.

SPA
The spa is beautiful, restful, stress zapping and luxurious. We enjoyed a couples massage and the massage therapists were top notch. The little things – like warm cloths on your feet, a knee bolster, a neck roll, incredibly comfortable massage tables and a therapist with experience that seemed to pay attention to the area’s you put on your form were bothering you. You will pay regular big city prices for the services, but it really was worth it.

GROUNDS
Even on our last day we were still marvelling at how pristine the grounds were kept. The gardeners deserve a huge pat on the back here. I felt like I was on Mustique or in Maui at the Kea Lani. Impeccably manicured from top to bottom and we were all over the property and didn’t find any area that was let go.

BEACH
It’s not that white powdery sand you find in the south pacific, but it was nicer than the beaches we experienced in other west coast Mexican vacation spots. Here the sand is a light golden colour, it does get slightly hot during the afternoon but it’s not unbearable. This is a private part of Medano beach where you can actually walk in the water and swim – no worries about salesmen or drunken antics from down the beach. It’s also important to note that several hacienda staff attend to the safety and security on the beach and they also take pride in keeping it clean.

SUITE/VILLA
Our suite was a one bedroom on the 3rd floor and it was absolutely gorgeous. The unit is outfitted with luxurious comforts and a gourmet kitchen. We didn’t use the TV or the stereo system as I travel with my own speakers for our ipods, but she had everything one could want – including a Logitech remote!! I ended up having to log in for work and the wireless worked perfectly. When it went down I emailed the owner and she had a technician at the door and within the hour all was fixed. The wonderful thing is wifi was accessible at the beach and the pool too. The owner is one of those ladies you meet and just instantly know she’s genuine. You can feel her smile and warmth through the phone 

The Hacienda Beach Club itself has been designed perfectly. I cannot think of another way to describe the thought and craftsmanship that was put into every nook and cranny. Dozens of water features dot the property to ensure privacy and create a sound barrier from the noisier marina and beach activities. You can’t believe the impact all of those water features have!! The entire pool area looks like a Frontgate advertisement. There is a community of owners that visit regularly and they are a familiar and close knit group. (There are villa’s for sale, but don’t fret – NO TIMESHARE selling going on here.) The owners that we met were incredibly friendly and interested in helping us thoroughly enjoy our time at their ‘casa’. They simply embraced us renters as long lost family and wanted to know when we’d be back.
From the concierge team to the security guards at the gates everyone was gracious and friendly and really took pride in what they were doing. The terracotta tiles in the hallway outside our suite were so polished and clean you could eat off them! I’ve never seen a resort that was so clean.

We did visit the sales office and it was a very laid back, casual, and enjoyable experience. Also informative about the history of the area! You really do leave with the sense of wanting to own a piece of this paradise.

In order to properly thank and recognize the hospitality and service we experienced, I would need a complete list with every single employee name!

So was anything off about the holiday? Hmmmm...
- The weather was as close to perfect as you could possibly get.
- We were never once worried about our safety.
- We ate at several places around town and even drank the water from coolers while zip lining and didn’t develop any worrisome washroom issues.

If we dig deep and get nitpicky for things that could be improved … here is what we came up with
- Too many cruise ships coming into the bay 3 or 4 days of the week which makes the water taxi and jet ski traffic a bit insane at times. The increased number of water vehicles over to the Arches did add noise while we were diving too. On the flip side, we spent hours on the beach watching the entertaining activity!! And, if you’re staying for an extended time, plan your own activities on days when the ships are not in port (you’ll get better service and in some cases a better price too!!)

- Biggest problem - Not enough time to do everything. Solution = GO BACK!!!

Room Tip: No bad rooms!! Just do your research ahead of time and know if you have a medano beach view or a mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BethJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
0.9 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.4 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.7 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Beach Club & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Beach Club & Residences

Address: Gomez Farias S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $619 - $1,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Beach Club & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences is located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas on Medano Beach, next to the famed marina, and footsteps from an irresistible blend of restaurants, shopping, nightlife and local culture. Embodying a dramatic new concept of seamless indoor and outdoor living, the family-friendly accommodations of the Hacienda Beach Club & Residences offer an atmosphere of grandeur and graciousness on Baja California Sur just steps from the beach. Each elegant residence at our Cabo resort features a gourmet kitchen, master suite, and fine living amenities and high-tech touches, including hardwood doors, handcrafted metalwork, natural stone finishes, and surround-sound stereo systems, flat screen televisions, and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout all residences. It’s a perfect private hideaway in the midst of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hacienda Beach Club & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Beach Club And Residences Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Beach Club & Residences Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing