We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabo San Lucas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portofino de Cabo Resort
Ranked #5 of 27 Cabo San Lucas B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We just got back from a week at Portofino. This was our first visit to the area and we were looking for a base to explore the area. This resort was perfect. Yes there are stairs so definitely not for those with mobility challenges. But we looked at it as a way to burn off the beer and cheese! It is really a great location to explore - near the center but away from the hustle and bustle of the marina area. We stayed in 1B which is lower but still had amazing views and a fantastic breeze - we only had the air on one night. The additional touches of the ride to Walmart to stock up on essentials, the fantastic bbq dinner and the farewell cocktail hour was wonderful. Our hosts, as well as all the staff truly made us feel welcome. And the resort is small enough that you get to meet your fellow travellers. But with so much to do in the area, the pool area was never busy either. We will definitely stay here again when we visit Cabo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peaches2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

We have been to Portofino a few times and always look forward to our next visit. There have been so many improvements in the complex over the last year or two. The rooms themselves are being upgraded each year to try and get them all to an excellent level of practicality and usefulness with full kitchens and living areas, but in all honesty you don't spend much time in the unit but more on the balconies and common areas.There are stairs to climb and we have done them many times but the good thing is that there is a pool to stop at for a refreshment if you feel the need, as well as a second BBQ station for a visiting spot if needed. The helpfulness of the staff, maid service, and overall efforts to make ones stay the best possible is amazing. The views from the balconies of almost all units are spectacular with glorious shots of the morning sunrises. There are numerous restaurants and bars in the area where you can choose from almost any kind of food you would want. Due to the location right downtown there is no need for a car and when we do want to go some place we have a great time traveling with the locals on the transit buses. Cabs from outside of the downtown area back are much cheaper than those in town! We have always felt very safe in the complex and downtown Cabo as a whole. One of our favorite parts of visiting Portofino are the visits around the pool as it does not take long to get to know the other visitors. We have gotten together with these new friends to go deep sea fishing, shopping, drinks, potluck dinners, share daily adventures, etc. The anticipation of the next visit is partly looking forward to meeting new friends as it does not take long to become acquainted.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the Portofino Resort.
A great one bed room condo, with a nice kitchen, Living room & a huge patio on top of the resort. A fresh fruit basket was on the kitchen countertop when we arrived.
We had a couple steps to take, but it was worth the spectacular view and the beautiful sunrises every morning.
The Resort is close to many restaurants and harbor. We could buy fresh fish from the pier and grilled it on the grill next to our Condo. Every Day was a cleaning day and we got fresh bottled water when we needed.
all overall it was fantastic and we have come back for sure.

Room Tip: Every Condo is special and beautiful in décor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine110613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I can't say enough about this resort. The small staff was awesome and our unit and view were spectacular. They treated us to a free trip to Walmart for groceries as well as as a BBQ and cocktail party. The 5 gallon container of bottled water, fresh fruit basket and coffee were on the counter. I'd go back in a minute - besides it's great exercise.

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs don't go. It is on the mountain side afterall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our stay at the Portofino occurred a week following a stay at a "mega-resort" on the Los Cabos corridor, closer to San Jose de Cabo. That resort had included a number of pools and hot tubs, luxurious features and on-site restaurants. The Portofino, from its reviews, sounded much smaller, and older. As it turned out, we were much happier with our Portofino stay!
Portofino has less than 20 units, and it is up a rather steep hill. Because we're active seniors, we stated on check-in that we'd take the highest unit possible, as long as it had a great view. Unit 5A, which we were assigned, was up the steps, but ascending them every day reminded us of the old Tuscan or Spanish hill-towns that we'd seen in Europe. The staff helped us with our suitcases, and were available all week to assist us with trip plans, suggestions for transportation to the airport, and even gave us extra clothes hangers - immediately! The cleaning and maintenance staff were dedicated to the resort, always visible, and the units were cleaned daily. And, yes, the view of the harbor below was awesome! In addition:
• On arrival on Friday, the manager greeted us personally and warmly, and gave us sandwiches and beverage. No such treat at the mega-resort, unless you wanted to sit through a time-share presentation. A basket of fruit and a week's worth of coffee were delivered in the afternoon. The "mega" provided just one small packet of coffee, and the rest were at a cost.
• Every who wanted was given a free van ride to the Walmart on Saturday, to grocery shop. There is also a small grocery store nearby, for food staples. The staff prepared a wonderful Mexican buffet for all of the guests on Tuesday night, and a cocktail party on Thursday. Once again, no time-share session to sit through!
• Wi-fi was free, and available in the office and at the pool. The cost was $50/week for a slow connection at the "mega" and the log-on covered only one computer at a time. At Portofino we printed our boarding passes for free - it had cost us an hour of computer time ($7.00) at the mega
• Phone calls to the US and Canada were free from the office. At the "mega" don't even think about it!
Yes, the unit could have been more "modern" but for the minor inconvenience of older bathrooms and just one pool and hot tub, we were treated like special guests, and were able to get to know the other guests there, because the resort was so small. The morning view of the fishing boats leaving the harbor, and a short walk to all of the fun at Cabo San Lucas was worth everything!

Room Tip: If in doubt, call Andrea, the manager, ahead of time, and she'll give you honest, helpful inform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 745Librariantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Portofino Resort for 8 days in early February, 2014. This was our style of condo complex which we prefer. With only a few units, you can get quite familiar with the staff and management, as well as other guests. The location is perfect to downtown interests, with an abundance of shops and restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Our condo was 4B, the second highest unit, with probably the best view of the city, and harbour. Andrea and her staff do an excellent job of making you feel at home. Some of the extra touches we appreciated were the orientation meeting on Saturday morning, followed by a trip to Walmart for groceries, the bbq put on for the guests on Tuesday night, and the cocktail party on Thursday afternoon. Our condo was excellent, and the staff kept it immaculate. Being in our mid-60's, in average condition, we found climbing the numerous steps to our unit well worth it for the magnificent view. You do hear more street noise in the higher units, but again the view was worth it. We did spend a night in the studio unit, which was quite cute. There are 3 bbq grills in different levels of the complex available for the use of guests, which we enjoyed and took full advantage of. Getting to the beach is a fair walk, but you can take a water taxi for about $10 return. If we decide to vacation again in Baja the Portofino Resort would definitely be a place we would return to. Thumbs up to Andrea and the gang for helping to make our vacation memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My Sister and I stayed here for one week, in 2013 and I recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Cabo San Lucas. The resort is very clean, and our 2 bedroom condo was excellent . The management and staff was very professional and helpful. As my self a business owner in the hospitality industry I only can recommend it to anyone. Thank you again for the warm and professional service . Christina / Manitoba / Canada

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#38 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,157 reviews
4.2 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
0.5 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino de Cabo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino de Cabo Resort

Address: Ave. Cabo San Lucas Y Aquilles Serdan, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino de Cabo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Portofino De Cabo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Portofino De Cabo Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing