We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November 2012”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabo San Lucas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portofino de Cabo Resort
Ranked #8 of 27 Cabo San Lucas B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our stay at Portofino was lovely. Everything else you read is accurate in my opinion. The only thing I would mention is the beaches because I wish I had known. I was disappointed in Medano Beach. It was full of boats and seadoos and smelt of gas and fumes, it wasn't an ideal place to hang out for the day. Not to mention the constant folks trying to sell you stuff. I don't mind it usually but it was over the top the day we were there, every 20 seconds and often same people every 5 minutes. My recommendation is to skip Medano and head straight to Lover's Beach on the water taxi! We were regretful we didn't spend more time there. Pack food and drinks and head for the day. We traveled with a 9 month old and a 2.5 year old. The resort was suitable for these ages. We stayed in the suite closest and were thankful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zolarpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 56 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's truly a home away from home but in a tropical location, great amenities, clean, huge patio with the best views in Cabo.

Just came back from a trip a week ago, with three other people and it was a hoot. We wish we could have stayed longer. Everything you wanted in a vacation home is here. Full kitchen, BBQ, swimming pool, security, free 5 gallon water topped every second day, towel service, and cleaning service every other day. Free trip to Walmart and a Manager's bbq to welcome your stay.

The staff are awesome. If you need anything, just ask them and they won't hesitate. Very accommodating and helping. Don't hesitate to ask for recommendations for restaurants and trips.

Location is muy perfecto. Close to buses, marina, stores, restaurants, hospital, beach. I also like that because it's a small hotel and of its location away from the big all inclusive hotels by the beach, it makes you feel like you're experiencing the real Mexico yet you're not far away from the comforts of home.

We came here during Dia de los Muertos and witnessed the celebrations at the plaza right across from the hotel. It was a truly memorable experience.

Our room is on the 3rd floor with the best views of the city and the ocean. Unless you're in a wheelchair, who cares if there are a few stairs?

A few cons, don't expect a phone or wireless internet in your rooms. Phone (free to US and Canada) Wi-Fi and computer with internet are located in the main office on the ground floor.

Also, the jacuzzi was not working when we were there but no biggie.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelB1tch25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had a 1br all to myself--the steps weren't too bad to navigate, as long as I took my time. The view was amazing all day(but there is no marina view, at least not from my unit), even the lights of the city at night were nice. Sunrise from the deck was a great treat for me every morning--took tons of pix. Deck was huge--had 2 chaises, 4 cushioned chairs, and a table with chairs! Plenty of room and all shaded for part of the day--got morning sun, so I could still tan from my own deck if I wished. .Weather was great, never even turned on the air, fans were sufficient.
It was very clean, and the mattress was best I've ever had in a Mexican resort. Housekeepers came every day and did a really good job. The pool had sun all afternoon at least til 4pm. It was quiet and very peaceful. It is just 1/2 block to the town square, and just a little farther to many restaurants and shopping, plus a small local grocery just a few blocks away. There were free phone calls to the US from the office, plus a computer so I could check my mail every few days. THe book exchange was great--made good use of that! Kitchen was very well-stocked with dishes, utensils, pans, toaster, blender, coffee maker, filters, coffee. Office staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room as far up as you're able to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOANNE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel is in a great location: close to many restaurants, the marina, dolfins and a large flea market. Once a week artists set up in a park across the street. This is wonderful because they have items they made temselves, not the same kitsch found in the flea markets.

We agree with everyone else: Miguel and Esther are friendly and helpful. They can also help link you up to someone else going back to the airport at the same time so you can share the cost. You can take a bus TO the hotel but not back to the airport so it can be pricey.

I noticed another review says you can watch the sunset from your balcony This is NOT TRUE... the hotel is not facing the right direction for that. In fact I talked to Miguel before we left home to see if we could get a room for that purpose and he told me none of the rooms face that direction. We took a sunset dinner cruise to see the sunset and it was worth it. The whales were in the area for mating so we also saw a few of them.
That same review also says there is a "grea view of the marina". That is not quite true either. From the top level you can see some cruise ships in the harbour but not the marina. The view is fabulous in any case.
We planned our trips well to avoid having to do the stairs any more that nevessary because we were at the very top.
We wondered if the trip to wal-mart stopped at the pottery shop because someone was getting a commission, but as a group we could decide to skip it if we wanted to.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the better your view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grammasue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Really nice and well maintained resort. Fantastic views of the town and marina. Close to everything in town. Esther and Miguel are so welcoming and helpful and friendly. Very clean good sized pool with view over town. Fully equipped kitchens.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rammer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at the Portofino from Nov 11 to the 18th. We had our own transport so were able to avoid the scammers and time share hawks at the airport. It's about a 35 minute ride to the Portofino. The suites are within short walking distance to anything in downtown Cabo and nicely setback from the noise and commotion that sometimes happens in a vacation town.
A few things to concider about the property.

The Pros.

The portofino has a great view of the harbour, marina and downtown core. (gets better with the higher placed suites) It is comfortably small being limited to 5 double room suites, 5 single room suites and two motel type rooms for overstay or overflow. They are fully equipped with all the amenities of home, having microwave, full fridge, oven and gas stove, flat screen tv with some satellite english channels. Comfy futon and rattan sofa and chairs. Large kitchen with bar type stools. Each suite has a huge patio with loungers and patio table and chairs to sit at watching the sun go down.
There are a couple of great restaurants close by should you not want to cook every night and there is a superb coffee shop with homemade pies and treats a short block away.
Esther and Miguel are very competent and helpful at the front desk able to assist any in making tour arrangments or just giving directions. David is very very important to all of us who are out of shape nord americanos. (More said in a minute)
The office has a small library of loaner books, dvd's and family type games as well as coffee on in the morning.
The room is cleaned daily and they supply clean drinking water in big 5 gallon jugs as you need them. As a welcome gift they have a fruit basket ready in your room as well.
A nice touch they also provide is three seperate BBQ's for our use on three levels to help limit the distance to the rooms. We took advantage of this several times.
One other great thing they do for us is a free trip to walmart for groceries. (Beware tour operators offering you deals in the store. They are time share fronts and not good deals.) They also stop at a pottery shop for about a half hour. If you are in the market for any pottery or blown glass we found the prices here were very good comparitively. (Don't know if they barter though)

The Cons.

Not many, but one of the show stoppers for many is the stairs. Remember David? David will help you carry your luggage to your room. The shortest stretch is around 50 steps up. The furthest away is about 150. There are a couple of rest stops along the way which the first few times we used until we became used to the steep stairs. Anyone with a bad back, knees, hips etc should consider this point.
The second consideration is that the suites are on the wrong side of the mountain to get afternoon sun. Morning sun is on the pool from sunrise to about 1pm then its shade. Still warm but not hot. The pool temperature was 81 degrees for our stay and felt quite cold compared to the ambient temperature.

Room Tip: When making reservations the trick is the lower the number the less steps. ie 1a which is a double s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Cory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We selected this small resort mainly so we could sequence another week with another place we have here in Cabo, not really knowing much about what to expect other than what we saw on the Internet and here at TripAdvisor. We found other TripAdvisor commentaries to be accurate. There were 99 stone stairs to our unit which concerned us at first, but we got used to them and the view from our unit was really fabulous, which mitigated the climb. It overlooked downtown and all the activity that allowed us to feel right in the middle of things yet "hovering" well above them. We appreciated the exceptional personal touch from Ester and Miguel. Both went out of their way to give us attention when we requested it. The resort provides for a shopping trip to Wal-Mart for groceries and even hosted all resort visitors to a BBQ on evening. Staff are available to pack luggage up and down the stairs. Free telephone service to the USA is available in the lobby, but there are no phones in the units. One of us thought the mattress was fine; the other thought it a little hard. All rooms have spacious decks. The pool loses its afternoon Sun fairly early, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. We will definitely look forward to booking here again!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 3B or higher if you can stand the stairs. Otherwise ask for the best view possible. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El_Gringo_Hombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tesoro Los Cabos
Tesoro Los Cabos
#38 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
2,116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.8 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino de Cabo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino de Cabo Resort

Address: Ave. Cabo San Lucas Y Aquilles Serdan, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino de Cabo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Portofino De Cabo Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Portofino De Cabo Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing