We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING - Hotel is Under Major Construction for 1 Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

WARNING...Grand Solmar is under MAJOR CONSTRUCTION until the summer of 2015. If you like to hear heavy machinery, jack hammers, bulldozers and crane movement then I guess that's your idea of a peaceful vacation...NOT. The construction starts at approximately 7am and lasts until 7pm and can be heard from every building, restaurant, room and pool side. The establishment is resurrecting a new hotel tower. The construction is actually between two major hotel towers and right in front of the main pool, so expect to hear lots of loud noise while lounging at the pool(s). I was told by the front desk that the hotel was NOT under construction during the summer of 2014 (during the time I stayed) before I booked it in early spring time...needless to say that I was very disappointed. I asked to be moved a room as far away from the construction prior to my first night and was not accommodated until night 4. I imagine that this hotel would be a great place to stay once the construction is complete. Also their is no beach access from the hotel since it's situated on the pacific side. If you are looking for a hotel that has beach water access...try searching for a place on the Sea of Cortez side where the water is less choppy and accessible for swimming, snorkeling and etc. Also this resort is pro time share, since it's a 4.5 class resort thus on the pricey side to book per night, so expect to be approached by time share leeches while vacationing.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
22  Thank AGK2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,047 - 2,053 of 3,132 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I was nervous about booking this hotel as we were tossing up between other luxury resorts such as One and Only , or staying at a hotel closer to Cabo downtown. I'm glad we made the choice to stay at Grand Solmar. It's still a luxury resort but not located too far from town. (about a $12 cab ride or you can take a complimentary shuttle to its sister resort and then walk to the Marina and get a water taxi)
We were greeted by a welcome margarita and then asked whether we wanted to do the
" welcome breakfast" which is really just a timeshare presentation. We agreed to do it due to the free activities they offered which was well worth the 2 hrs spent. During the presentation you get a free buffet breakfast and I actually enjoyed seeing the resort. We got a tour of their penthouses which are absolutely amazing!
We stayed in the studio room which was absolutely beautiful. Had a small kitchen, very large bathroom and balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean and immaculate pools.
The service was amazing and everyone that worked there was so friendly. It's a little outside of the main downtown but still close enough. It's a private and quiet resort, perfect for a romantic getaway or families.
I highly recommend this hotel in Cabo. And once it's completed (some sections still under construction) im sure it will be even better. Only negative is it's located at the top of a hill so it's a bit of a hike to the marina. They should include a shuttle that takes you all the way down instead of just to the sister resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yanamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Yanamummy,

We are delighted to know that we surpass your expectations, and that you love our location, service, romos and food in general. For us is always a privilege when one guest choose us over other luxury resorts. As you mention we are privilege as we are very close to downtown, and the only reason we do not provide shuttle service to the marina, is because our TAxi union. Nevertheless we provide the shuttle service to our sister resort and also, we have 24 hours taxi service .

We would love to welcome you back once more, to our hotel.

Thank you so much!




. I'm glad we made the choice to stay at Grand Solmar. It's still a luxury resort but not located too far from town. (about a $12 cab ride or you can take a complimentary shuttle to its sister resort and then walk to the Marina and get a water taxi)
We were greeted by a welcome margarita and then asked whether we wanted to do the
" welcome breakfast" which is really just a timeshare presentation. We agreed to do it due to the free activities they offered which was well worth the 2 hrs spent. During the presentation you get a free buffet breakfast and I actually enjoyed seeing the resort. We got a tour of their penthouses which are absolutely amazing!
We stayed in the studio room which was absolutely beautiful. Had a small kitchen, very large bathroom and balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean and immaculate pools.
The service was amazing and everyone that worked there was so friendly. It's a little outside of
I highly recommend this hotel in Cabo. And once it's completed (some sections still under construction) im sure it will be even better. Only negative the main downtown but still close enough. It's a private and quiet resort, perfect for a romantic getaway or families. is it's located at the top of a hill so it's a bit of a hike to the marina. They should include a shuttle that takes you all the way down instead of just to the sister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We just returned from an awesome week at. The Grand Solmar! We travel often in Mexico and this is the BEST place we have stayed at on vacation! The service was excellent too! Manny (first person you see when you arrive) and Carlos at the pool took good care of us! The food was fabulous and I am happy we purchased the all inclusive plan! Beautiful views with a short walk or cab ride to town. It was so peaceful and relaxing! I would highly recommend the Grand Solmar for your next vacation!

Room Tip: Every room has an awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Patty

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your most recent syat and specially for mentioning Manny and Carlos as staff members that exceed your expectations.

We will also share with our Kitchen Staff your feelings about the food. I know they will be very satisfied.

We will be expecting you for your next vacation.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I just booked a return trip to this beautiful resort later this month and cant wait to return! I visited last in September and must say that the Grand Solmar Land's End truly is a resort that lives up to it's 5 star rating! My husband and I have traveled fairly extensively throughout the world and stayed in several upper end resorts in Cabo previously to our stay at GSLE. Our experience here from the minute we arrived to the time we checked out was that we were treated to an absolutely wonderful vacation that not only met but exceeded our expectations to relax, rejuvenate ,enjoy GREAT food and enjoy a beautiful setting, (which happens to be one of the most spectacular in Mexico with the blue pacific meeting the arches at the lands end) . It is a constant show as you look out from the lovely infinity edge pools to the strong pacific showing off it's power to the magnificent rock formations towering above. The staff is amazing , the grounds and setting gorgeous , fabulous food , wonderful accommodation's, truly a slice of paradise... GO ! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 805CTHEWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear 805DThe World

Yesterday i have the opportunity to share your comment in our daily meeting. All our supervisos are delighted to know that all the hard job they do each day, makes our guest really happy, like in your case.

For us it is always satisfying to read our guest comments. It was a privilege to pamper you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The location of the resort is right on the beach and has beautiful views of the ocean from each room. It is also within close walking distance to the Marina. La Roca restaurant and the pools also have outside seating with an upclose view of the beach and ocean, too. Grand Solmar is a very tier development and the rooms are very nice and comfortable. The customer service and friendliness of the staff was amazing. Especially Ignacio at the pool bar who went above and beyond. The resort didn't seem too busy or crowded, which was nice. And there is an adults pool, which is heated. I would definitely stay here again, assuming it's at a reasonable rate. A lot of places say they are 'luxury' when they're economy, but I think this place actually falls into the luxury category.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank vanillachalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear VAnillaChalk

We are extremely satisfied with your comments and review. Ignacio, along with our other staff members, really work very hard to exceed our guest expectations. We are here for you, and that you notice this, is beyond marvellous.
Our facilities in general have the best view anyone can thing of.

It will be a great honor if you decide to comeback to our resort. We will be ready with a tasteful and delicious margarita to say to you: Welcome home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

In the original movie "Planet of the Apes" there is the epic scene where Charleton Heston discovers the Statute of Liberty cut down to size and realizes he is on planet earth. He utters "Damn you..." . Next to the Statute of Liberty is this large imposing rock mountain. That rock mountain is at the end of the Grand Solmar property - Lands End- the location for that scene. That rock mountain and those adjacent to it are just magnificent in its rise and cut from the sea.

The other "cool" reason- We arrived into Cabo where the temp was in the 90s and you immediately felt it as you exited the airport and the heat did not leave you until arrived at one of the many endless pools at the GS. The breezes off the ocean provided the best natural air condition and made the setting totally delightful and pleasant. As soon as I left the resort the sweltering heat reemerged, even as we walked around the marina.
A very lovely resort where the beach massage lived up to its billings- Karen was outstanding. We did the all inclusive and found the food tasty and consistent in quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shoreman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Shoreman32

What an amazing comparission, very interesting and at the same time, shows that our arquitects and pr people did the best thing in adding this rock formation to all our presentations, as it really represents what the lands end experience means for all.
That you enjoyed our pools and facilities is very satisfying. This days as many people have witness, have been really hot and humid in Cabo, so the pools and drinks are the best friends anyone can have.

We are glad you enjoyed and we will be very happy if you comebacjk to our resort.

BEst regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

LOVE this place! We purchased our first timeshare here and will go as often as possible. One of the most beautiful resorts I have ever seen/stayed at. The rooms, pools, decor, grounds, restaurants are all beautiful. Food was excellent. We ate mostly there. My only complaint is how expensive it is. They should offer a discount for members/owners. We had la roca cook and prepare our mahi mahi we caught while fishing one night and it was outstanding. The food on Italian night was excellent too. As well as the surf and turf at don Julio. La roca's breakfast buffet was wonderful and impressive. The staff are all so friendly and kind and make you feel special. They will put messages in the sand for you too! Can't wait to go back to our "new home!"

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tiffany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Tiffany

We would like to thank you for your great comments, that you consider us one of the mos beautiful resorts you have ever stayed, is priceless to us, and encourage us to keep the good work, with all our staff members. We promess to you that we will keep an eye in our prices, i can tell you that we are in the middle checking other resorts of the same category. There is a discount for members in all the checks.

We would love to welcome you back again to keep pampering you as you deserve.

Sincerely,

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $437 - $1,088 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing