We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Grand Solmar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER DEAL BOOK NOW
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Grand Solmar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had the privilege of spending three wonderful weeks at my home away from home. The staff is outstanding, beginning with the bellman, Manny, Sammy, Felix , and the others whose names i forget. They are the best welcoming committee.. Then I was greeted by the efficient front desk crew. Leonardo, Juan and the girls. Their hospitality and margarita is a welcome gift after a long flight.

I especially enjoyed the Tamarindo Margaritas this trip. My favorite dish was eaten at the Brisas, chicken fajitas, I had them several times and they were consistent everytime. Omar who works at the Brisas is exceptional. He is so eager to please and is constantly moving.

I compliment your servers: Omar,Braulilo, Carlos, Daisy, Freddy, Sergio. Victor makes the best tamarindo margaritas. I know I have omitted some but that is only because I cannot remember their names.
The room service was excellent. I used room service several times and all the orders were complete and hot.

I participated in the yoga classes next door at Solmar Beach. Patty is a great instructor and perfect for beginners. She makes everyone feel comfortable. She has a sunny disposition and a positive outlook. Also the sushi chef Octavio gave a wonderful display on 'how to make sushi'

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NolaRigsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Service is an art that must be reinvented every day and we love to share it with you at Grand Solmar.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    254
    78
    25
    25
See reviews for
738
923
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been in 5 hotels in Cabo and Crand Solmar is by far the nicest. This hotel is more for the older crowd, and not the young. They have multiple pools with swim up bars, the pool is a never ending pool sitting right on the beach with amazing views of the ocean. The beach has very little traffic as you can not swim off this beach as there is a strong out current. The rooms are amazing with granite floors, counters, soft beds.

The staff is very nice and friendly and always helps you find what you are looking for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_Brawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are delighted to read your great review post your stay with us, also it gives us great pleasure to know that we could fulfill your vacation expectations. We all wish you and family many happy moments.
Warmest regards,
Jean Louis and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been to Cabo 5 times and this place takes the cake for luxury and beauty. We had the two bedroom penthouse suite and it was amazing! The staff was great and other than some language barriers need no improvement! Drinks and food are expensive! Be prepared to open your wallet if you stay here! Great for families and Kids! Very beautiful! Huge waves! No swimming on this beach! If you shore fish this is the place to go! The La Rocca Restaurant is wonderful had the lobster one night and it was great! Had the Sea Bass on night it was a bit over done but still good.

I would stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view! You really cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It is our pleasure always being of service.
Hope you had a relaxing journey back home.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just returned from 5 days at the Grand Solmar and had a wonderful time. The grounds at the Solmar are just beautiful. You CAN NOT beat the pool area! The water is always warm and there are plenty of lounge chairs. The views are breath taking. We ate lunch at the pool every day. Do not miss the spicy tuna rolls and the fish tacos! The pool side service was fantastic. My only suggestion would be for the hotel to have some music at the pool....especially with the construction going on. I think it would have added to the ambiance.

We were very happy with our room. It was clean, nicely decorated, and spacious. It was so nice to have a kitchen and separate sitting area. Next time I go, I will stop at a store on the way from the airport and buy some water and snacks. Although I should add that the hotel does not over-charge for these items in the store.....in fact the prices are very reasonable. It's just that the hotel is still under construction and the store on site is VERY small with a limited selection. Oh....and bring conditioner as they only have shampoo in the bathroom.

If you are looking for a dinner spot outside the resort......do not miss the sunset at Mona Lisa's! The restaurant is basically built into a side of a rock. I was blown away by the setting and the views.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Grand Solmar! Service is top notch and it's a beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanneCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
It is inspirational to read that the service and attention to detail was the highlight of your stay at Grand Solmar Land’s End Resort and SPA.
We wish you good health and many happy moments.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

When you arrive, and they say "welcome home", they mean it. We were "older adults," younger adults and an infant( 8 months). Everyone was treated to a wonderful week. The entire staff, from the gracious lobby and golf cart assistance, to the dining staff was wonderful--especially Omar and Luis whom the baby adored! The accommodations were lovely, as you can see from the pictures, the pools were delightful, especially the infinity pool closest to the beach, from where we saw whales, Pedro the pelican, and a young sea lion basking in the sun,.
There is no one who doesn't greet you, who doesn't offer assistance should you need it, and who doesn't have a smile. Food was delicious, which was no surprise since we had been there before. There were everything from babies to seniors, and everyone was having a lovely time.
Definitely recommended--BUT avoid the time-share sales people. The 90 minutes turns into high sell, and a lot longer wasted time than you expect. That's the only negative.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. There is some walking involved between the restaurant, pools and buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Our staff is very happy to read that their service is so well appreciated by you and family.
I am certain that the intention to invite you to join this Exclusive Resort’s Club Membership, was merely a suggestion in order for you to increment your portfolio.
Cordially yours,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although, many of the units at the Grand Solmar are time shares, we stayed as a hotel guest. And although they wanted us to attend a time share presentation, when we declined they did not bother us further. The rooms were immaculate and very well appointed. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Many of them knew our names by the second day! Service was top-notch.

On the down side, the only fitness center is a shuttle ride away at the Playa Grande. Reading the information on the website, it was difficult to tell how WiFi is handled. WiFi is free in your room for as many devices as you want. Around the pool and common areas, they give you a code which will allow 2 devices access to the WiFi.

It is a short walk into town or a $6 taxi ride. The ocean is too rough to swim in front of the hotel, but that's OK because the water is colder than you expect anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
All of our service ambassadors where honored with your visit.
We all look forward for your next year’s vacation with us.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Once again the folks at Grand Solmar delivered an incredible vacation experience. It had been a year and a half since we last visited and the greeting crew Sammy, Manny, Christian, and the others started our week with a warm and exceptional welcome. The resort is amazing and the staff is outstanding. The Las Brisas crew was the best. Isaac and Edgar have an incredible team in Roberto, Ramundo, Jose, Mario, Freddy, Daisy, the ladies at the register, and last but not least the chefs! We had a delicious lunch everyday by the pool! Marco, the Senor Daniels Sea Bass Nachos were the best! Can't wait to go back! Thank you Grand Solmar Team!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandyDPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are delighted to read your great review post your stay at Grand Solmar. Also we are pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting your suite, personalized service and your culinary experience. It will be a honor greeting you soon again.
Cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#3 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#6 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av Solmar No 1 - A | Col Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing