We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week with "family"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We are learning as we go about this time share experience, but one thing we are sure of is the way we have been treated......excellently (is that a word?) Immediately Sammy and Manny make us feel quite at home again...especially paying attention to 3-year old grandson, as did Jacob. Javiar, Roberto, Jose and Alberto were equally attentive concerning our drinking (love the mango margaritas) and eating experiences. Alana and Vanessa helped us out with day trips and activities that enhanced our vacation. Looking forward to October. Linda

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

It is so rewarding to read that our cordial staff exceeded your expectations.
We have great pride accommodating all of your needs.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,474 - 2,480 of 3,028 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is our fourth year of coming to Cabo and our first staying at the new Grand Solmar. It is fabulous. Every room has a breath taking view. Being on the ground level we see the exquisite landscaping of palm trees, waterfalls, infinity pool and on to the ocean. We took our coffee this morning , walked 30 seconds and were in lounge chairs watching the huge Pacific waves crashing , the fishing boats heading up the coast and two whales playing just off shore. It is quiet and peaceful here even though we came during Spring Break.

Room Tip: Ground level so you can walk right to the swim up bars or third floor or higher for an unobstructed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lkenn1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Our team at Grand Solmar is here to help you unwind and relax, making sure you have a wonderful and memorable vacation experience with us.
Cordially,
Jean Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The hotel was good during the day, the pools were great and happy hour was great. Our room was fantastic and overall the hotel amenities were new and up to date. Our only gripe was that the hotel lacked a little atmosphere, the restaurants and bars close at 10pm so you have no choice but to go to bed or go out in town. Also there was construction happening but this wasn't overtly disturbing.

Room Tip: We got a pool room with 1 bedroom suite and it was a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your honeymoon with us highlighting Grand Solmar service and attention to detail.
It is true that all the hassle is down town.
Cordially,
Jean Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Grand solmar is a truly remarkable destination with impecable attention to detail for each guest. You really feel welcomed and the service is quite refreshing. We have been coming to GS for four years and we've never had a bad meal nor bad experience. I must say each of the staff members are quite special and a big thank you to Sergio at the las olas bar who always accomated any request, given the special requests from our 2 small children almost daily. Sammy, Manny, Felix, Antionio, and a whole other list of names i cant recall deserve a real thank you for their sincere dedication to their work and making everyone feel quite special.

Management is present on the site daily and although there is some construction happening we have never felt it to be a nuissance whatsoever. We have travelled to several destinations in Mexico and other carribean locations and have never seen a resort as wonderful as the Grand Solmar. Every room has a fantastic view and are spacious and make you feel right at home.

Meals had were on site at LaRoca as well as other local spots The office, Alexanders, la dolce, Romeo and Juliet, Salvatores and not a single complaint in any of the restaturants. One of the beauties of this location is the proximity to the downtown area and the marina to break up the day. Spent some days at Medano Beach as the GS is a non-swimable ocean and the kids loved the change of scenary. Bought some remarkable jewelry at Casnova near laDolce and given my 2 year old touching every peice of jewelry the owner was so kind and understanding. i must admit the Mexicans really adore children and make them feel welcomed.

Overall another wonderful vacation and although you read some reviews concerning the Timeshare salespeople we have met most and i have never found them to be pushy. Our original salesperson Cheryl is still on site and not only has always remained in contact throughout the experience (we bought pre-construction and were quite nervous) she also was extremely helpful when our young daughter got sick this trip and offered her help on her personal time off.

Anyway, if you are considering to visit i would encourage you to visit the GS as you will not find a location or level of service that will exceed your expecations.

Luisa Anthony luke and lily

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views however i've been to several floors and every room has an ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citygal2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We always create a romantic environment for all of our guests and owners.
Attention to detail is our daily bread and we love to see you smile.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had an amazing time staying at the Grand Sol Mar. We stayed on the sunset pool and had amazing service from Arturo and Carlos! All the staff new us by name and strived to make sure we had everything we needed. Our cleaning lady did an amazing job everyday cleaning our room. We ate at Laroca Restaurant on our last night and they cooked the fish we caught and it was amazing. The waitstaff at Laroca was very good. We have no complaints and would come back in a heartbeat. We can't wait to see once they have the last building done and how everything comes together. I recommend anyone to stay here because of the friendly and helpful staff!

Room Tip: The room on the bottom level on the sunset pool is amazing. Makes it convenient to just walk out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Service and attention to detail plus a picture perfect Sunset including whales, is a perfect combination.
We wish you good health, many happy moments and a promt return to GS.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My family has been going to Cabo for well over 20 years. We have been staying on Playa Grande for years. My parents first started at the Finisterra (they have since used up their 20 years of timeshare there), They added a week at Playa Grande as it was being built even after they were mad "their beach was being taken away." They/we have progressed from a small studio to a penthouse on the ridge. Each time we have purchased before anything was built, and have never been disappointed with the results or rooms. The same with the Grand Solmar. We have now stayed I think 3 years at the Grand Solmar as well. Maybe it is 4 years, can't remember, time fly's. We now enjoy our presidential suite in building B on the beach with a view from sunrise to sunset and we could easily hit the ocean with a paper airplane from our deck. We have watched the friendly staff move from starting positions at the Playa Grande to heads of staff at Grand Solmar. One of the most consistent things has been the attention to detail, impeccable staff, friendly, helpful, even when they are very busy, and sad to say a few people are just rude and would be unhappy anywhere no matter what. Even with that type of person I have watched them be polite and helpful. We have even had one of the wait staff (Moises) help us downtown find a bus stop/proper bus. He was dressed in his civilian clothes and just helped us /walked us to the stop. It was only the next day we saw each other at the Don Luis restaurant at the Grand Solmar when we both realized he worked at the same place we were staying (small world, genuinely nice and helpful, he did not know where we were staying) . I could tell you numerous stories over the years of the extra effort and attention of all the staff has done. Manny, Chuey, Jesus, Andres, Sergio, and the wonderful house keepers. So many wonderful people I hate to write any down for fear of missing any of the names. The front desk staff is awesome, welcoming, and accommodating.

The facilities at the Grand Solmar are amazing. The rooms are all well appointed, quiet, and comfortable. The food is great, the drinks well made, They have wonderful pools, great walks on the beach (can't swim pacific side because of rip-tides and rogue waves). Far enough from town yet close enough to walk if you so choose to leave the Serenity of the waves and view. The views of the whales are great, we had one about 50' off the shore this year just watching from the pool. Awesome. The only gripe I have was the poor/slow internet connection. I have been using Playa Grande's and Grand Solmar's internet access for years and this by far was the worst year. When we we staying the first week on the "Ridge" I saw them working on the wireless antennas. I hope it was due to the repairs, although people who had been there for weeks had reported how slow it had become for them as well. The connection for years was fast. I am sure the number of people using it has greatly increased. That said for me the access was very important and was the only frustration downside of our stay

We loved the "old solmar" but love the new Grand Solmar. We have had different friends join us over the years. The ones who joined us this year were equally impressed, they travel all over the world. They bought as well. They have never bought anywhere else. They said this was the only place they ever felt like they wanted to buy at. The staff say "Welcome Home" on arrival. We continue to feel that way. The Playa Grande, and Grand Solmar each have there own culture, but the consistency in great staff, wonderful accommodation, great views, good food, and great pools to swim in and sit around. We see numerous families with children coming and enjoying both resorts. There are adult only pools if you so desire, but the fact the staff helps families feel at home or better says a lot. While not cheap, the spa massages are some of the best we have had anywhere. We splurge each year a couple times. No we are not related or have any ties to the resorts, this is an honest review covering the last 10-12 years of Playa Grande, Solmar, and Grand Solmar. For my family and my now elderly parents, it is like going home. My parents now in their 80s continue to stay 3-4 weeks a year. My family and I join them for 2 weeks each year. We have made so many friends here over the years. That includes staff and timeshare owners. I am pleased to say that has continued to be the case at the Grand Solmar. Well done, please keep it up.

Room Tip: While there maybe rooms with better views, I have not seen a "bad" room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DB W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We are delighted that we made your stay with us a memorable one.
All of us eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Cordially,
Jean Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wow! We have a timeshare at Grand Solmar. We are in a suite on the top floor and the views are breathtaking! We were grandfathered into this suite from a hotel suite in the old Solmar, and did we luck out!
We were able to see whales from our unit almost daily. The last day we were lucky to see a huge pod of dolphins go by. You cannot beat the view!
No expense was spared in building this resort. Our suite was perfect for 2, 4 would be a little tight.
There was plenty of room at the pools not having to rush to get a lounge chair.
Service is beyond excellent. Lucia our housekeeper was fantastic. Everything is very clean.
Any suite on any floor would be good.
They were building phase 2 while we were there but we hardly noticed the noise. The crash of the waves seemed to drown it out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funmom5girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Louis_Magron, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

I would like to thank you for your compliments. We are thrilled to read your extraordinary experience with us.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,231 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
951 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $466 - $926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing