We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great resort, really petty treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Fruitland, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great resort, really petty treatment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We just spent two weeks at this resort, which we had visited last year on a "presentation" and at which we purchased a "membership" at $10,000+. This year we reserved two weeks, paid $1220 in maintenance fees for the two weeks, and also paid $9.90 in "reservation fees." The resort is beautiful, the people friendly, the infinity pools delightful--so far, just great. During the stay I dropped a glass in the bathroom sink and removed the pieces and left them on the sink, rather than throwing them in the trash, hoping to prevent the maid from getting cut. At checkout I was astounded to find that I was charged $5 for a broken glass--seems to me that one broken glass is normal wear and tear at a timeshare resort. When I objected, I was told "sorry, you break it you pay for it." What a petty attitude towards someone who has shelled out plenty to the resort. Left us feeling very unappreciated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,344
    290
    83
    27
    27
See reviews for
908
1,131
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (932)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beamsville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have stayed at many timshares across North America over the last 10 years and loved Grand Solmar so much we bought a week at this resort. Leaving Toronto Canda at 4am on the windiest day of the year and travelling for 10 hours that day to get there, I said to my wife "sell it why did we buy here". Once we pulled in to Grand Solmar, was greeted by Manny and Sammy, got checked into our room with cocktail in hand, I then said to my wife "NOW I remember why we bought here" the peace and tranquility was second to none that I have ever experienced. I am also in construction so the building of phase 2 was relaxing to watch. Beautiful nights, georgeous mornings with the ocean crashing on the beach. This resort is for people like me looking for a week or two or 3 to just relax and smell the ocean. If you want activites, rides and a place for the kids to love go to Disney it covers all these things.

Room Tip: We book our vacations as soon as we get home from the last one. Gives us something to look forward t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 815lutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear 815 Lutz, here you will find the perfect location to unwind and relax, this last while we slightly caress your senses with personalized service.
Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

My spouse & I were invited to take a tour and offered to sit-in for a presentation. We were paired up w/SHELLEY BLAIS, Sales Assoc. She was just AMAZING. Very fun, honest, charming, friendly, understanding, and sincere sales person I've ever met. She was NOT your typical honor story "time-share" sales person. She made up feel very comfortable and let us know from the start that she wasn't going to be pushy. She knew that the Grand Solmar @ Lands End would speak for itself...
It's a BEAUTIFUL PLACE. You have your own private beach w/NO vendors, hip-skip n' jump to Lovers Beach and famous arch @ lands end. We will be returning in 2013 to enjoy our new purchase.

THANKS SHELLEY FOR NOT BEING A PUSHY SALES PERSON, BUT RATHER TREATING US LONGTIME FRIENDS OFFERING US A GREAT OPPORTUNITY...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norms72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MembersSOL, The Management at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear “norms72”:

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments

We are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience with Shelley Blais and we will share your comments with her.

Please let me tell you that you have made a great decision for both you and your family, one that will enhance your future vacations for years to come.
We also want to thank you on behalf of the entire Solmar Group, for your confidence in our Resort.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Warmest regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We got lucky trading in a timeshare through Interval only 2 weeks before our hoped-for vacation, and wound out at Grand Solmar Land's End. There is construction going on, and yes, you can see the crane from the pool area, but it was never bothersome, and any noise was no match for the sounds of the ocean.

Everything about this place is stunning, from the beautiful natural scenery to the cultured grounds of the resort itself. We stayed in a Master suite in building B (the newest building--I think it's B?) with an amazing view of the ocean. We fell asleep every night to the sound of the waves crashing onto the beach, and we woke up every morning to watch whales and sea lions from our balcony.

The food at the resort was delicious, and each meal a dining experience. The food is somewhat resort-priced, but is also excellent quality and well worth it, and the servers are phenomenal. The marina is only a short walk down the hill, if you don't want to eat at the resort every night, and never did I feel unsafe walking into town.

The pool bars were a definite favorite of mine, and David especially was wonderful with poolside food and drink service, remembering our names and favorite drinks and chatting with us about our local adventures. We were totally pampered!

Anna at the front desk was always happy and helpful, and Joel, Sammy, and Manny also made our stay so much more pleasant and personal. It's a great feeling to be greeted by name when you return from a day out on the town. We enjoyed our stay so much, we got rid of the original timeshare we traded to get to here so we could be owners at Grand Solmar instead!

I have only two things I would change: First, as someone else mentioned, moving the chairs/table in the dining room for the Murphy bed is painfully loud--perhaps felt bottoms for the chair/table legs? And second, either better TV options or perhaps some pay-per-view movies...just an option for relaxing during a late evening in.

This is the best resort I've been to, and it's still under construction--I can't imagine how amazing it'll be when completed if it's this fantastic now. I can't wait to return next year, and am intending to take some girlfriends down for a week as well!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Colleen, it was a great honor hosting you. Your happyness and satisfaction is our success. This exclusive property is just another echelon of the World's Elite.
Most cordially,
Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Solmar Lands End Resort from March 10th thru 17th and had a GRAND time. Yes there was construction going on but it didn't bother us. The Staff was amazing from beginning to end. Thanks to Alberto, Sergio, Eben, Samuel, Emanuel, Leonardo, and Karla. You all made are stay fun and very memorable.
A quick note maybe you could offer a nice breakfast buffet at either La Rocha or Don Luis. The food at La Rocha is fabulous but a bit steep in price.
Also when the people above us were getting ready for bed and pulling the murphy bed down they would slide their table over and it made a loud screech accross the floor, also when we pulled our murphy bed down it was very squeaky, maybe it needs a little oil.
A great place!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahOttawaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Leah,
We all down here love to be of service to you and Family.
It’s very rewarding to read that you had a great time with us.
Once again thank you for letting us pamper you.
Most cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We upgraded from a studio in the old Solmar to our spacious 1 bedroom, 2 bath with a huge veranda and spectacular view of the Pacific. We sleep with the doors wide open to hear the surf. But, returning yearly we have come to regard Solmar as a second home not because of the buildings, pools, or restaurants, but because of the great staff. We want to compliment their friendly dispositions knowing full well many of them are working dawn to dusk six days a week. So kudos to bellmen Immanuel, Felix, and Samuel. Armando, the bartender. Freddy, the waiter. Jose, the concierge. You really make us feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tophatpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Dear Kelly,
The whole idea here is that you as an owner or guest feel yourself at home and also you don’t have to lift a finger to do anything as we’ll do it for you. Please allow us to indulge you and family every time you stay with us.
Most cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was the 2nd time that we got to stay at the Grand Solmar Resort, our others were at Playa Grande & The Ridge. The bell boys are always friendly and take very good care of us, and remember us every time we return, thanks Joel, Sam, Felix and others that I can't remember their names. The pool and food servers do an excellent job of taking care of us, as we sit back, relax and soak up the sun rays, thanks David and the lady server and others. The house keeping staff do an awesome job of keeping our room spotless. You truely don't have to lift a finger if you don't want too.

We believe we have the best of both worlds at the Grand Solmar, as we have the quiet beach to roam about from one rock formation to the other and not get hassled by vendors, there's four pools to relax at on the property, one is an adults only pool or you can leave the resort and its a "safe" short walk anywhere, either to the harbor or the main city area to either shop or try a wide variety of different foods. If you want to go to the public beach and swim in the ocean its a short water taxi ride over and there are loads of activities going on there all day.

Something that would be nice to see in the future is some lighter/snacky foods on the lunch menu, i .e. chicken and fish fingers, onion rings, calamari. I'm sure to come as construction is completed would be some pool and/or beach activities.

Would definitely recommend using the arranged taxi through the resort, it makes the arrival at the airport a lot nicer. No matter what they tell you as your walking through the airport, just keep walking your ride will be waiting for you "outside" with your name on a sign, for whatever reason they can't come into the building, thank you, thank you, concierge service! For our group we hated the airport, so this was the "best" discovery ever!!
(Unless, you want to wheel and deal and try and get the best deal on an excursion or certain activity, then don't set this up, however, you can get all the same activities through the resort.)
Can't wait until next year!

Room Tip: A suite is nice for a couple or a family of four, there's no bedroom for privacy and one bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We trully appreciate your nice comments as they do reflect how passionate our entire team is.
It's a privilege to be of service to you and family.
Come back soon and do not forget to bring some friends with you.
Thank you.
Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing