We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Solmar - a daily joy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

This February, we stayed in the Grand Solmar for the first time since our lovely (old) Solmar Hotel was torn down. Despite our initial misgivings about giving up the quiet isolation of the two-story, end-of-the world room at beach level, we had a wonderful time (and now forgive the owner for his dastardly deed :-)  The rooms are modern and elegant, from the latest electronics that shut of the AC when the patio door is open to the most modern furnishings (flat-screen TVs and top of the line kitchen appliances and granite countertops (in bathrooms as well as kitchen).  The service staff is both friendly and educated; their collective command of English was admirable. Although construction of the 2nd half of the complex is ongoing, the noise was kept to a minimum.  Despite its size, the Grand Solmar is gorgeously integrated into its surroundings, both physically and aesthetically: a waterfall spills from a tall rock into a pool surrounded by a cactus garden just a few feet outside to lobby; stairways open to the gorgeous weathered granite pockmarked with erosion holes during the emergence millions of years ago of the 'the just-formed Baja California; boulders and cobblestones, which were once part of the rugged Sierra de la Laguna mountains to the north, now surround the lobby, walkways and pools.  Sunrises and sunsets, from patios and adjacent beach, are still as beautiful as anywhere on earth. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irwin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Mr. Irwin, it was a pleasure to be of Service to you and spouse.
We did enjoy immensely your company and the feedback on our onsite cactus gardens and rock formations.
Looking forward pampering you again, I remain.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,926 - 2,932 of 3,125 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

We have visited Cabo for several years and this past year were fortunate to find Grand Solmar. We have spent four weeks here over the past year and have 3 weeks scheduled for this year and it isn't enough. The service of the crew is outstanding. They have fun in serving everyone and make everyone feel welcomed. The aminities of the resort and ambience of the rooms are amazing. The pools are the best anywhere. Very clean and perfect temperatures at all times. Plus when you are in the pool it seems you are in the ocean.

The resort is world class!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cabogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Dear Cabogey, it is such a privilege for us here to be of Service to you and Family.
Come back soon and bring some friends with you.
Happy Valentines!
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This was our first stay at the new Grand Solmar Resort and we were in awe. The buildings are beautiful and the appointments in the rooms are the best. The staff, in every category, are highly professional and deliver expert service with a warm friendly attitude that is always provided with a genuine smile - to a person. The sales staff, particularly Poppy Rondeau, provided complete information and made every effort to accommodate our needs and to respect our financial limitations. The in-house restaurants served delicious meals in a wonderful setting with service fit for royalty. There is nothing about our stay at Grand Solmar that I could not gush about.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2012

Dear William H.,
Thank you very much for allowing us to show our sincere appreciation to you and family.
Come back soon and bring some friends with you on your next trip with us.
Happy Valentine's.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is our second time at the Grand Solmar and it gets better each time. We are in a 2bedroom presidential suite that is simply stunning. Service has been impeccable; everyone is so gracious and accommodating. This is the most beautiful resort with the best service I have ever had the pleasure to stay at. I've stayed in some of the best resorts around the world including Four Seasons Maui and Paris.

I have to say, the only down side to this trip have been some really obnoxious americans. I'm embarrassed that we are from the same country. They are beyond rude to staff, extremely loud when recapping their drunken nights and they act like entitled children. I really believe people like that are the ones writing negative reviews. Fortunately, there are only a few people like that so far. They are definitely the minority.

We are in the middle of our trip and it is terrific. It is a far cry from rainy, windy, cold Seattle!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welove2travelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Dear gig harbor, you deserve only the very best.
We love to see you smile and have fun.
Thank you for allowing us to indulge you and family.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were excited to check into our "home" resort for the first time, however, were very disappointed that "owners" were not given a better room.
We were in building 6 on the third floor.
After complaining 3 times about the location due to construction noise that began as early as 630am and going each weekday night until 7pm, the manager finally talked to us. However, to no avail.
Sorry, we are completely booked was our only response.
The property will be very nice when completed but unless you can get into building 8 or 9 do not plan to sleep in.
Overall a good vacation, just disappointed that we were not compensated in anyway at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jettaset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Jettaset, we are glad you had a nice stay with us.
We desperately wanted to give you a free upgrade but we were fully booked during your stay.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

James booked our stay online and having 3 homes to decorate already were never in need of a new place. To say the staff was wonderful is a understatement. Loved it, never took a tour and were very clear we were not interested. Our room was to die for and I can't say that enough. Yes you have construction around the resort but I really feel that the staff accommodate for it. Note to self if you are in building 6 sleep with the patio door shut! Building 9 don't worry. This was not a economy trip for us.

You will not be anywhere like this in Cabo. Walking to the city center is just too easy. The margarita at the swim up bar great.....tartare was great also!

Again this was a fabulous place and the staff are to die for. Good luck at the Wyndham or any place else.

We hired a car at the hotel. Went to all of his favorites. Best food. The jewelry stores wonderful and the glass shop out of town....bough a bag so we could get it home. If you are going and want more on our driver let us know. Again loved our trip and will go again!

Room Tip: Building 6 is over the construction. They work long and hard. The others aren't. This is a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear Toni B., by all means you must be a connoisseur.
Bring some friends and more family with you next time.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We recently booked this resort and didn't know what to expect. We have been going to Cabo for the past 10+ years and have stayed at about 1/2 of the resorts there. Being a bit of a hotel snob, I have done my share of hotel hoping in Cabo over the years. I was beyond pleased with the Grand Solmar. Our room was beautiful with an amazing ocean view, the food at La Roca was excellent and the entire staff was friendly and helpful. They have several different pools (two with swimup bars), all set at different temperatures (one was like bath water and was wonderful). The pool temp was important to us, as we had just left another resort in Cabo a few days early because of its really cold pools.
Thank you Sam, Karla, Freddy, Juan and Armando for going out of your way to make our stay here fantastic. I can't thank Rocio and Jason enough for everything they did for us during our stay and for treating us like family. I have never felt so welcome at any other resort in my life. A huge thank you to both of them, as our trip wouldn't have been the same without either of them. We loved the Grand Solmar so much, we booked four more trips here before the end of this year. We finally found our home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

Dear Stacey, we had great pleasure providing state of the art & personalized attention to you and Family.
You are our main reason for being here so don’t expect less.
We look forward greeting you again.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - Auberge Resorts Collection
1.4 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $435 - $1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing