We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We are owners and it was our first time in our unit this year, staying at Playa Grande before. We have spent 3 weeks from Dec. 18th to Jan. 8th 2012 and it was nothing but a great experience. The infinity pool are great, heated and about 200 feet of Pacific Ocean. The Master Bedroom is great and the huge balcony gave us the chance to watch the everyday breathtaking sunsets.

All personnel would do anything withing their power to help you and make sure you are completely satisfy. Concierges José and Ruben were always smilling and ready to help us. Bell boys Emanuelle, Joel, Samuel, just to name a few, were always there to help us. Barmen at la Rocca Bar David, Armando, Braulio, Nunger, Juan Manual and the beautifull Estrella, were so so funny and they gave us such a good service.

I do not want to forget Ericka, sales service, who was more than there for us.

We also want to mention our Sales Representative Jill Thompson who is always available to answer any question for us. She really did a good job by selling us a Master Bedroom at Grand Solmar.

I do not want to forget Eduardo.Gonzalez, Food and Beverage Manager who invited us to have a wonderfull diner at la Rocca, compliment of the house, because couple of times our lunch took a while before served. We had a 5 services meal with good wine according each service. It was just perfect. Jonathan our waiter was such a nice guy. He was even trying to speak french to please us.

As for the construction, it was not a problem for us, we barely heard it since the unit is so closed to Pacific Ocean, the huge waves made the noise almost non existing and we were in building 6 just beside the Construction Site.

Room Tip: All units are beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinetteB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Ginette,
At Grand Solmar we all perform together as one team and are polishing this Jewel of property up to levels not seen before in hospitality. Our employees are as passionate as myself including time share sales reps and customer relations officer.
You’ll allways see smiling faces and genuine corteous staff among a state of the art personalized service par exellence.
Most cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,386
    292
    83
    28
    28
See reviews for
924
1,153
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
222 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had heard bad things about the timeshare presentation....believe them. They are accurate. A 90 min talk quickly turned into a 2 hr 30 min talk. However the room is exceptional and the construction is not too bad thus far. We do have a great view but to our right is a large crane. The lobby is beautiful and the pools are very nice....heated. Very close to large breaking waves.....we would come back to this resort. Spa isn't done yet...exercise facility not complete. You'd think they would offer complimentary passes to the gym at playa grande but no such luck $5 dollar gym fee.....free shuttle.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MEWEHR1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We very much appreciate your feedback, as our goal is to continue to improve our onsite services.
Occasionally the future owner needs it’s time to visualize him or herself enjoying this product, product that increase in market value on a daily basis.
But most importantly, we are here to pamper you 24/7 year around.
Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The poor poor Grand Solmar. Such a beautiful hotel, yet so poorly managed. When we arrived we were told our family would not have connecting rooms. With four small children, that was a huge inconvenience. Samuel, the bellboy, was very congenial but his presence is not enough to save this place. Leonardo at the front desk was very kind as situated us in a two bedroom penthouse but we were told we had to leave and check back into standard rooms after 2 nights. So we decided to make reservations at the Playa Grande which is in the same hotel group.

The next morning as we were readying to leave, we answered a pounding at our door and found a horrible little man named Antonio standing there. Antonio said he wanted us to stay at "his property." After nicely explaining to him that we had four small children, the hotel wasn't ready, we needed connecting rooms and to not have to move, blah blah blah, he still insisted we stay at his hotel. We informed him about our new reservation for a 2 bedroom penthouse at The Playa Grande, and he told us he would place us in two master suites at the Playa Grande for the same cost of what we were paying for the penthouse. Huh? Why was this an argument? We told him we were going to stick with our own reservation.

Upon checking out, we asked for a refund of our fully refundable deposit and he said he would only grant us a refund for one room because he said we booked through Expedia. We explained to him that we booked through the website and not through Expedia. Antonio argued with us about this for almost an hour. Antonio might very well be brain dead, as he said he would grant us a refund then lo and behold, when we get our billing statement a month later, ta da! no refund. We took it up with our credit card info, who opened up a fraudulent claim against the hotel and refunded our money, and that was that.

I would NEVER stay at the Grand Solmar as long as Antonio is a manager there, and I would advise anyone who is considering staying there NOT TO DO IT. The food is TERRIBLE, the hotel is not finished, and the management is abhorrent. Save yourself the headache and stay at Capella Pedregal, The Ridge, or even The Playa Grande.

The people writing good reviews for this hotel are the ones who got suckered into timeshares.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TigerlilyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Tigerlily, we would like to apologize as we had a situation with our reservations system.
We feel sorry not have had the chance to accommodate you on two same size units as requested by you during your reservation. These type of units do not exist in our inventory. We hope to have the chance to make it better next time if you would kindly give us a chance.
Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We are owners and last year traded up for the resort at Lands End, we stayed there the week of 1-1-12 through 1-8-12. We stayed on the second floor in building #6. the construction on the resort was not a problem, you could hear it from time to time, but when you are in paradise it is hard to get distracted. the check-in and out process was quick and easy and much faster than the main resort. the grounds were perfect and the pools were a perfect temperature. We asked for extra pillows and blankets, they came quick with no delay. the rooms were cleaned well each day, as well as the kitchen which we usually left as a disaster. The concierge was helpful and we book three different outings through them, they went off without a hitch, they also gave us a credit for one in our perty who could not attend the scube diving and we cancelled after the 24 hr cancellation period. LaRocca resturaunt we good food but pricey with small portions but there are many places to go in Cabo if you want good food and have a big group. One of the best parts of our trip was the interaction and friendships that we made with the attendants when you arrive at Solmar. Sam, Manny, Alvaro, Felix and Joel were helpful at all times. they gave us rides to and from the lobby, dinner recommendations, and even help when we were too intoxicated to function. Their customer service was awesome and you really felt like they loved what they were doing. keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Get a room as close as youcan to "lands end" (the big rocks)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Your beautiful comment motivate us very much so thank you for that; “BEST VACATION EVER”
We love what we do and that’s pampering you, family and friends.
Come back soon!
Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Grand Solmar has so many wonderful qualities. We arrived on New Year's Eve of 2011 for a 4 night stay. After about 1 hour there, we wanted to never leave. Service was great, food was EXCELLENT and drinks were stiff.

On our 2nd full day, we had scheduled our sales tour for the time share presentation as we were genuinely interested in buying into the resort. The presentation was wonderful, and our rep was so nice to us. After being presented with the facts and numbers, we wanted to think about it for an hour. They asked us to leave a driver's license. This is where things went bad... When my husband went back to say we decided we weren't going to do it, we were not given the license back right away. For 45 minutes, my husband felt threatened and was sent from one room to the next. They absolutely held him hostage and wouldn't give it to him. A very large man was following him around and wouldn't leave his side. He was genuinely frightened for his safety. After having to yell and make a HUGE scene, they gave it back. It was such a horrible experience that we almost called the airline to book our return to the states right away. He doesn't get threatened easily, so I knew it had to be serious. By the time we left, we were never hassled again, and decided to consider coming back sometime.

My best advice is that you should definitely go to this resort... it is one of the best places we have stayed in all of Mexico. Just DO NOT go on the sales presentation unless you are ready to commit to 50 years and about $75k. If you have the money, go to it!

Overall, a great place to spend a week if you want some peace and quiet. Even though kids are allowed, it is not overrun with them since there isn't a "kids club". There is an adult pool that's totally separate and very silent. Sergio is the waiter at the pool and he is awesome. Also you can watch the whales in the water too! Amazing.

Room Tip: If there are just 2 of you, the studio is just fine for you. There is a little kitchenette and sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Dear Shelley, we are so glad you had a great relaxing time despite the inconvenience with the sales rep as mentioned by you.
We will always give our best to indulge you and family as this is our main purpose while you are staying with us. Looking forward greeting you soon again, I remain.
I do also here by, include the apology of our time share customer relations executive;
“Please accept our apologies for the experience that you mentioned with the Sales Staff, we don't know why they decided to hold your license in that moment; we will take internal measures in order to retrain all our staff; thanks for bringing it to our attention”.
Cordiall,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My best friend and I decided to celebrate our 40th birthdays together with our wives in Cabo. We both did extensive research, mostly on TA- because of this we were aware of the ongoing construction and to avoid building 6.

I called and reserved 2 Grand suites through their reservation center. The agent told me that she couldn't guarantee that we would not be in building 6 but assured me that the resort would not be busy at this time (early December before the Christmas rush).

We were therefore disappointed to learn upon arrival that both couples were in building 6. We spent the next 20 minutes being told repeatedly that there were no other rooms available in the other buildings (even regular suites) because they were occupied by "owners". They also told us that there would be no construction until Monday (we arrived on Saturday) and that it would only be between 9-5. Since we were only staying until Tuesday we grudgingly took the rooms in building 6.

The rooms were as nice as advertised with very comfortable beds and well equipped new kitchens. The view of the waves was impressive but was overshadowed by the sound and view of massive construction about 200 feet from our room. Contrary to what we were told, the construction continued throughout Saturday and Sunday and from 7:30-6:30 on weekdays.
We had to keep the lovely balcony doors closed the majority of the time due to the construction.

We enjoyed the pools away from the construction which were near buildings 8 & 9. We began to notice that the resort was nearly empty and we didn't see any person on the balconies of building 9 or any lights on in this building's rooms at night.

The staff at the pools and the bellman were really nice and helpful. The drinks at the pool were extremely weak so not great value even during 2 for 1 Happy Hour. We ate once at La Roca and were not impressed with the food.

Upon checkout, we told the front desk that we were not happy with our stay and would like a discount on our stay. The "manager" (Antonio Vazquez Romero) was not at all apologetic and told us that the best that he could do was a $50 credit on our food and beverage charges.

Needless to say, this left us even more dissatisfied with our stay.

I'm unsure if they had just temporarily closed building 9 (it has the best views) because of low occupancy (in that case we were lied to) or if the front desk is just incredibly incompetent but either way we we did not receive the experience that we were expecting. I advise avoiding this resort.

The next time, I'll go back to Capella Pedegral!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank skinwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are very sorry not have had the chance during your stay with us, to offer to you and to your friends another accommodation on property as these where scarce.
Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Great hotel! We stayed in the 3 bedroom, 4 bathroom presidential suite and it was absolutely beautiful. Impecably prepared and cared for... although missing some minor amenities in the kitchen, like a dishwasher. Its the last resort in the cabos (so you cant go further south). Every time we have stayed here, we always see whales and dolphins. The location is great, with just a few minutes ride to downtown.

The only drawback is that the restaurants are expensive, and they share a lot of items with the more family friendly neighbor resort "Playa Grande." Other than that, the place is great! Be sure to take advantage of the 2 for 1 happy hour!

Room Tip: Opt for a room higher up in the resort to get a better view of the ocean. Also, hang by the private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totallybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Billy, it’s always like a fresh breeze for us to read you, like other guests and owners had a blast during their stay.
Come back soon.
Cordially,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
3.7 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Address: Av. Solmar #1A Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#3 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Solmar is the new standard of luxury in Cabo San Lucas. Thoughtfulness and thoroughness are the trademarks of this grand resort. Every detail was considered right down to the intricate designs in the walkways, the stone entries to the rooms and the construction of subterranean passages so the busy staff does not interrupt relaxing guests. The award-winning design combines the grace of old world architecture with carefully crafted modern style. And the location will leave you speechless. A natural cliff forms the backdrop and guides guests to a lobby complete with a spectacular view of the mighty Pacific Ocean. From here, you can see pelicans soaring over golden sands and sailboats scooting across blue waves. Just feet away is the very tip of the Baja Peninsula in all its sun-drenched glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Solmar Land`s End Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Grand Solmar Land`s End Resort And Spa
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing