We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$463
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$389
$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$440
$361
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Grande Resort(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ME Cabo by Melia(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$248
$202
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Resort at Pedregal(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$675
$631
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$398
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences(Cabo San Lucas)(Great Value!)
$607
$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,429)
Filter reviews
3,429 results
Traveler rating
2,933
349
87
29
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,933
349
87
29
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla rocasports bardon luisconstruction noisemurphy bedlands endthe pacific oceanmaster suiteinfinity pooltime sharemeal planfitness centercrashing waveswelcome homebell staffrooms are beautifulspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
3,245 - 3,250 of 3,429 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The poor poor Grand Solmar. Such a beautiful hotel, yet so poorly managed. When we arrived we were told our family would not have connecting rooms. With four small children, that was a huge inconvenience. Samuel, the bellboy, was very congenial but his presence is not enough to save this place. Leonardo at the front desk was very kind as situated us in a two bedroom penthouse but we were told we had to leave and check back into standard rooms after 2 nights. So we decided to make reservations at the Playa Grande which is in the same hotel group.

The next morning as we were readying to leave, we answered a pounding at our door and found a horrible little man named Antonio standing there. Antonio said he wanted us to stay at "his property." After nicely explaining to him that we had four small children, the hotel wasn't ready, we needed connecting rooms and to not have to move, blah blah blah, he still insisted we stay at his hotel. We informed him about our new reservation for a 2 bedroom penthouse at The Playa Grande, and he told us he would place us in two master suites at the Playa Grande for the same cost of what we were paying for the penthouse. Huh? Why was this an argument? We told him we were going to stick with our own reservation.

Upon checking out, we asked for a refund of our fully refundable deposit and he said he would only grant us a refund for one room because he said we booked through Expedia. We explained to him that we booked through the website and not through Expedia. Antonio argued with us about this for almost an hour. Antonio might very well be brain dead, as he said he would grant us a refund then lo and behold, when we get our billing statement a month later, ta da! no refund. We took it up with our credit card info, who opened up a fraudulent claim against the hotel and refunded our money, and that was that.

I would NEVER stay at the Grand Solmar as long as Antonio is a manager there, and I would advise anyone who is considering staying there NOT TO DO IT. The food is TERRIBLE, the hotel is not finished, and the management is abhorrent. Save yourself the headache and stay at Capella Pedregal, The Ridge, or even The Playa Grande.

The people writing good reviews for this hotel are the ones who got suckered into timeshares.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TigerlilyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Dear Tigerlily, we would like to apologize as we had a situation with our reservations system.
We feel sorry not have had the chance to accommodate you on two same size units as requested by you during your reservation. These type of units do not exist in our inventory. We hope to have the chance to make it better next time if you would kindly give us a chance.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We are owners and last year traded up for the resort at Lands End, we stayed there the week of 1-1-12 through 1-8-12. We stayed on the second floor in building #6. the construction on the resort was not a problem, you could hear it from time to time, but when you are in paradise it is hard to get distracted. the check-in and out process was quick and easy and much faster than the main resort. the grounds were perfect and the pools were a perfect temperature. We asked for extra pillows and blankets, they came quick with no delay. the rooms were cleaned well each day, as well as the kitchen which we usually left as a disaster. The concierge was helpful and we book three different outings through them, they went off without a hitch, they also gave us a credit for one in our perty who could not attend the scube diving and we cancelled after the 24 hr cancellation period. LaRocca resturaunt we good food but pricey with small portions but there are many places to go in Cabo if you want good food and have a big group. One of the best parts of our trip was the interaction and friendships that we made with the attendants when you arrive at Solmar. Sam, Manny, Alvaro, Felix and Joel were helpful at all times. they gave us rides to and from the lobby, dinner recommendations, and even help when we were too intoxicated to function. Their customer service was awesome and you really felt like they loved what they were doing. keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Get a room as close as youcan to "lands end" (the big rocks)
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, General Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Your beautiful comment motivate us very much so thank you for that; “BEST VACATION EVER”
We love what we do and that’s pampering you, family and friends.
Come back soon!
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Grand Solmar has so many wonderful qualities. We arrived on New Year's Eve of 2011 for a 4 night stay. After about 1 hour there, we wanted to never leave. Service was great, food was EXCELLENT and drinks were stiff.

On our 2nd full day, we had scheduled our sales tour for the time share presentation as we were genuinely interested in buying into the resort. The presentation was wonderful, and our rep was so nice to us. After being presented with the facts and numbers, we wanted to think about it for an hour. They asked us to leave a driver's license. This is where things went bad... When my husband went back to say we decided we weren't going to do it, we were not given the license back right away. For 45 minutes, my husband felt threatened and was sent from one room to the next. They absolutely held him hostage and wouldn't give it to him. A very large man was following him around and wouldn't leave his side. He was genuinely frightened for his safety. After having to yell and make a HUGE scene, they gave it back. It was such a horrible experience that we almost called the airline to book our return to the states right away. He doesn't get threatened easily, so I knew it had to be serious. By the time we left, we were never hassled again, and decided to consider coming back sometime.

My best advice is that you should definitely go to this resort... it is one of the best places we have stayed in all of Mexico. Just DO NOT go on the sales presentation unless you are ready to commit to 50 years and about $75k. If you have the money, go to it!

Overall, a great place to spend a week if you want some peace and quiet. Even though kids are allowed, it is not overrun with them since there isn't a "kids club". There is an adult pool that's totally separate and very silent. Sergio is the waiter at the pool and he is awesome. Also you can watch the whales in the water too! Amazing.

Room Tip: If there are just 2 of you, the studio is just fine for you. There is a little kitchenette and sitting area. The large 1 bedroom, 2 bath is not necessary for just 2 people. That one could be used for 2 couples since the murphy-bed is separated from the master.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear Shelley, we are so glad you had a great relaxing time despite the inconvenience with the sales rep as mentioned by you.
We will always give our best to indulge you and family as this is our main purpose while you are staying with us. Looking forward greeting you soon again, I remain.
I do also here by, include the apology of our time share customer relations executive;
“Please accept our apologies for the experience that you mentioned with the Sales Staff, we don't know why they decided to hold your license in that moment; we will take internal measures in order to retrain all our staff; thanks for bringing it to our attention”.
Cordiall,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My best friend and I decided to celebrate our 40th birthdays together with our wives in Cabo. We both did extensive research, mostly on TA- because of this we were aware of the ongoing construction and to avoid building 6.

I called and reserved 2 Grand suites through their reservation center. The agent told me that she couldn't guarantee that we would not be in building 6 but assured me that the resort would not be busy at this time (early December before the Christmas rush).

We were therefore disappointed to learn upon arrival that both couples were in building 6. We spent the next 20 minutes being told repeatedly that there were no other rooms available in the other buildings (even regular suites) because they were occupied by "owners". They also told us that there would be no construction until Monday (we arrived on Saturday) and that it would only be between 9-5. Since we were only staying until Tuesday we grudgingly took the rooms in building 6.

The rooms were as nice as advertised with very comfortable beds and well equipped new kitchens. The view of the waves was impressive but was overshadowed by the sound and view of massive construction about 200 feet from our room. Contrary to what we were told, the construction continued throughout Saturday and Sunday and from 7:30-6:30 on weekdays.
We had to keep the lovely balcony doors closed the majority of the time due to the construction.

We enjoyed the pools away from the construction which were near buildings 8 & 9. We began to notice that the resort was nearly empty and we didn't see any person on the balconies of building 9 or any lights on in this building's rooms at night.

The staff at the pools and the bellman were really nice and helpful. The drinks at the pool were extremely weak so not great value even during 2 for 1 Happy Hour. We ate once at La Roca and were not impressed with the food.

Upon checkout, we told the front desk that we were not happy with our stay and would like a discount on our stay. The "manager" (Antonio Vazquez Romero) was not at all apologetic and told us that the best that he could do was a $50 credit on our food and beverage charges.

Needless to say, this left us even more dissatisfied with our stay.

I'm unsure if they had just temporarily closed building 9 (it has the best views) because of low occupancy (in that case we were lied to) or if the front desk is just incredibly incompetent but either way we we did not receive the experience that we were expecting. I advise avoiding this resort.

The next time, I'll go back to Capella Pedegral!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank skinwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are very sorry not have had the chance during your stay with us, to offer to you and to your friends another accommodation on property as these where scarce.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Great hotel! We stayed in the 3 bedroom, 4 bathroom presidential suite and it was absolutely beautiful. Impecably prepared and cared for... although missing some minor amenities in the kitchen, like a dishwasher. Its the last resort in the cabos (so you cant go further south). Every time we have stayed here, we always see whales and dolphins. The location is great, with just a few minutes ride to downtown.

The only drawback is that the restaurants are expensive, and they share a lot of items with the more family friendly neighbor resort "Playa Grande." Other than that, the place is great! Be sure to take advantage of the 2 for 1 happy hour!

Room Tip: Opt for a room higher up in the resort to get a better view of the ocean. Also, hang by the private pool by the very end of the resort to avoid construction noise.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totallybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mil081, Manager at Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear Billy, it’s always like a fresh breeze for us to read you, like other guests and owners had a blast during their stay.
Come back soon.
Cordially,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews