We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful water and swimming...Relaxing beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cannery Beaches

Cannery Beaches
Ranked #55 of 104 things to do in Cabo San Lucas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locals enjoy these beaches to swim as well as fish.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful water and swimming...Relaxing beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were staying over on Solmar beach, just a short distance from Cannery Beach (about a 5-10 minute walk). I really wanted a chance to swim in the ocean so we ventured down the road past the naval base one morning. When we got there we found only 2-3 Mexican families enjoying the beach. We easily found an unoccupied palapa and headed into the water. It was FREEZING cold, but that didn't stop us. Around noonish a bunch of locals arrived and I heard them yelling "Frío! Frío!" about the water temperature. I had been in the water for about 1/2 an hour by this time and was quite used to it and having fun in the waves!

This beach is a fun place to go for a swim in a place that doesn't offer much safe swimming options. The only downfall is that it may not be considered the prettiest views - the old cannery is sitting there and does have some graffiti - but hey, it's Mexico. I would definitely recommend checking it out for a change of pace!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nidu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Go here if you want an emptier beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

To get here, go all the way counterclockwise around the marina, then go past the entrance to the Finisterra, past the navy, and you will find the old abandoned cannery. Keep going around it and you will find a pretty empty beach used mostly by locals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank spokanetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“'The locals beach'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Travel along the marina around the naval base. You will find this free beach where all the locals go with their families. My family of six loved it. There was NO selling of trinkets, etc... My only complaint was the amount of trash noted in areas.... :-(

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank cowbuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Cannery beaches are a series of coves - rocky and surf-washed, filled with locals and families. Great for beach walking at low tide. Check the web for tide charts and plan your hike - it's amazing that you can walk from the Naval station by Gali plaza (Solmar end of marina) all the way to Lover's Beach. now the decsion - to turn around and walk back - sometimes over rock outcrops, sometimes inwater, always aware of the beauty and the boats - or to continue around to the Pacific side? Walk through Lover's beach onto the long stretch of Divorce beach (maybe get a beer or a water from the cooler guy) toward the rocks. Now - to get over. a boulder scramble is advised over runnign around the rocks during waves.. into the pirate cove and up the rock hill, go left over more boulders - laugh at how impossible it looks and voila, you've just dropped onto Solmar beach! Quite a hike, that you'll never forget and always love... you just walked around Land's end and behind the arch. Grab a golf cart ride from the hotel lobby and go back down to the marina by walking the road/driveway. or call it a day at Lover's beach by negotiating a water taxi ride one way back to the marina... Have fun anyway you do it. its beautiful

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank kipaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not a local, but that's okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

You hear Cabo and you think "Spring Break, 1998...ouch." Well, take a different approach. Try getting away from the spring breakers and find something local. Playa Publico is the best spot.

This is the beach that the locals go to. Please visit, but visit with care and in small groups. I love this beach because we can go, sit under a palapa (already built) and enjoy some great swimming and amazing snorkeling. There is a sunken ship in this little cove that tends to attract some amazing parrot fish and puffers. I have also seen a moray here.

The beach is a task to get to even though you can see it from anywhere. There is a long road to walk down and a navy base that looks intimidating, but once you're past that, the snack stands and fresh empanadas make it all worth while.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
16 Thank 2TravelDads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannery Beaches also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Cannery Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing