We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and a very relaxing ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Cascadas de Baja
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had an extended week here back in early March. We decided to come to Cabo at relatively short notice, having never been here before (actually, having never been to Mexico before), mainly because we had an opportunity to stay here at Club Cascadas. We were very happy with our choice, although to be fair I have no points of comparison, negative or positive, regarding the alternatives.

Club Cascadas comprises one "hotel" block with maybe 20-ish rooms (some of which on the top floor are palatial) plus perhaps a couple dozen smaller villas, each comprising typically 2 units. The villas are all circular, with palm thatched roofs and lush foliage, lending the whole place a sort of tropical hobbit village ambiance. There are a couple of pools, with swim-up bars, tennis courts, a gym (nothing to brag about, though), a club house, a kids club, and a signature restaurant. The whole place is kept spotlessly clean and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. Most of the guests I spoke to were Club Cascadas owners - and one was even in the process of upgrading to one of the aforementioned palatial units. That surely says more than I can about Club Cascadas.

There is a small area of the beach which is roped off for hotel guests only. The hawkers are not allowed to cross the rope, but they will gather right up against it and bellow at you to get your attention - "Bray-sa-let! Bray-sa-let! Bray-sa-let! You wan' bray-sa-let?". This goes on all day long, every day. But its exactly the same everywhere else.

The restaurant is reasonable. The food in Cabo was, everywhere we went, of a commendably, and surprisingly (to us, at any rate), high standard. So to rate it as average would be to damn it with faint praise. But it was of a similar standard to many places we ate at, and we had no hesitation choosing to return there one evening when we felt like chilling out locally. The beachfront setting is totally romantic! The food is simple, well prepared, and the ingredients fresh. I guess if I were to give some advice it would be to stick with the simpler dishes and you won't go wrong. One big treat to enjoy is their pyrotechnic Mexican Coffee show. Just great entertainment, and - boy - what good coffee too! They have a don't-miss brunch on Sundays. I can't understand why they don't offer that everyday.

Although Club Cascadas is a timeshare - and Los Cabos is infested by an indomitable timeshare sales army whose determination to sell you a time share suggests that they would be lined up and shot that night if they returned empty handed - once within its protective embrace, not a soul ever broached the topic even once. If you want to buy you have to seek out the sales office, which is not even in plain sight.

One minor inconvenience is that there is no WiFi access other than in the hotel lobby, where it is free, the signal is strong, and the bandwidth is generous. There are differing schools of thought on whether this is a good or a bad thing. For me, I want WiFi in my room. We used it to plan our day - trips, restaurants, sights, etc. I want to do that on my balcony, not in the lobby.

I don't think it makes much sense to rent a car in Cabo San Lucas. We didn't and it wasn't a problem. There is a very efficient and reasonably priced car rental desk in the hotel, and it is a breeze to rent a car for a day trip - as we did for a day in San Jose de Los Cabos.

All in all, I would say that if you do your research, and Club Cascadas looks like the sort of place that would appeal to you, you can reserve confidently and won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The "hobbit" villas look kinda cool, but you need to select very carefully - if you even g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Talos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 458 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

I was there only for almost 2days, but i can tell you how amazing the place, weather, staff and the people staying there were. Its a 39mn drive from the airport, but the driving view was great. Make sure that you get to eat @ Tabasco which its right next to the hotel and walk to Niki Beach to get a more Party experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pokalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

If you are looking for big screen TV's, telephones in your room and water slides for the kids, this would not be the resort. We fell in love and will be back again. We had difficulty getting a 2 bedroom, but got one with a jacuzzi. Completely fabulous. I loved the fact that it's peaceful at night. If I wanted to party, I would have stayed in town. They have little tolerance for noise and the staff patrols the area so we felt incredibly safe. The beds could be more comfortable, but we napped under the palapas on the beach during the day, were served cold beer in a bucket, ate under the stars from an incredible menu in the evening and were served by a highly attentive staff. We took cooking lessons, swam with the dolphins, painted pottery, and had massages on the beach. . Genuinely pristine grounds and loved the overall ambiance as a whole. We have traveled extensively and this was the first time we came home completely rested and relaxed. Highly recommend, if you want something other than a hotel experience.

Room Tip: The two bedrooms are outstanding. Got a look at a 3 bedroom with a pool and it took my breath away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msjanuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Club Cascadas is a little oasis on Medano Bay in Cabo San Lucas. A beautiful, quiet little resort, seemingly removed from the bustle of Cabo but within easy walking distance of any activity or downtown restaurant you would like. Beautiful Spanish style villas, wonderful service, plenty of amenities, and a spectacular view. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ESE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Unlike the highrises and Mega resorts in the area, this feels like traditional Cabo hotel. No phone or TV, but nice pools, good stretch of beach, friendly staff and great bars (try the dirty monkey). Easy access to Marina via water taxis. Spa has excellent mid week specials.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susieqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Loved this place. We are so used to the normal hotel/resort type place that we fell in love with this original resort in Cabo San Lucas. Each room has a very rural jungle like feel from the mosquito net canopy over the bed (don't worry there are no mosquitoes) to the beads that are used as the door to the all rock shower and the awesome hammock that hangs between two palm trees in the front. First day went to the swim up bar in the pool and asked bartender about happy Hour and he said no happy hour, we have Happy Day. 2 for 1 drinks all day at the pool made for a fantastic time when we invited our 20 other friends who were staying at the time share next door that didn't have such a deal. The hut like rooms open right up to the sandy beach which also has a fantastic view of the Los Arcos. Can't wait to go back to this Club Cascadas.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radman143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is a nice, clean property with good drinks and food, lovely pools, and a nice beachfront area with palapas. I would ordinarily give it a rating of about 3.5 or 4 except that I felt like we were consistently getting swindled by the staff. It's one thing to bargain on the beach with a vendor but unacceptable for a concierge to steer you towards expensive, "bait and switch" style excursions and to bully you in to taking taxis that coast twice as much as shuttles--the whole point of a concierge is to be *helpful* to the guests! Many of the other guests were also kind of rude. I can't really recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.5 mi away
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
Hacienda del Mar Los Cabos
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,279 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Residences
1 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#29 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Los Cabos Hacienda del Mar
0.6 mi away
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
Marina Fiesta Resort & Spa
#30 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cascadas de Baja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cascadas de Baja

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $202 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cascadas de Baja 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front family friendly resort good for all ages. Two large pools, beach front restaurant, tennis, spa, mini market, 24 front desk and security, hi speed wifi. Villas range in size from one to six bedroom. On the safe swimming beach a short walk to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Cascadas de Baja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Cascadas De Baja Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Cascadas De Baja
Resort Cascadas De Baja
Club Cascadas De Baja Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cascadas Baja Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing