We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel but bad surroundings...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but bad surroundings...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2006

I went last week to Cabo San Lucas for 3 nights and a friend of mine recommended me this hotel. I have to say that is a nice place, clean, small, silent around the pool area. However, everything outside the hotel is horrible. Beware!!! All the pictures of this hotel that you will see in magazines or whatever are FAKE or too Old! Now the hotel does not have a nice view at all. The main road is dusty, you have to walk a dusty and ugly block to reach the Medano beach. The worst thing of all is that you pay 20 dollars more for a room with a view to the beach and the only thing that you can see is a building in construction that blocks fatally that view... So dont go for this. In the future, this hotel must reduce their fees dramatically or nobody will arrive... In the morning, all the workers noise wake you up early. Beds are beautifully hard, well, I love hard beds. Small kitchen, freezer and all that you need for cooking is provided, that is a nice point. The pool, clean and nice, the pool service, the Best: The big guy Omar (from Tlaxcala, Mexico, piscis by zodiac sign) is the best of the best. His attention, his patience, everything makes you feel at home. This hotel must take care of this guy because it would not be rare that a big hotel takes him away with a better job offer. Congratulations to Omar, and also, he knows his popularity, many people that read this reviews tell him about. By the way, an extra TV at the pool would be good idea... The restaurant is good enough, but my best recommendation is go outside the hotel and walk around the block to find the little seafood restaurant, owned by the blond lady and their crew... Try the almejas, the campechana and a cold beer... Pure paradise... Don't miss it! please! The Medano beach is a nice place to stay, but try to get away from the boats areas (too much smell to gasoline and engine roars), try to go to the right side of the beach, much more quiet. My opinion is that this is a nice place to stay only for one or two nights if you plan to know some Cabo San Lucas places. If you plan to go to San Jose del Cabo or La Paz, to know more beaches and fishing activities, try to move to closer hotels of your aactivities. Finally, before I arrived to the hotel, I read some reviews saying that the staff of this hotel stole some money or personal items from the rooms, so I just carried my personal back pack everywhere, and no problems!! Just in case. Regards. Off.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank MrCure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    307
    116
    38
    27
See reviews for
152
474
53
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2006

Recently returned from a week in Cabo. Stayed at the Bahia Condos and I will never stay there again. I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay and this location seemed perfect. Omar the pool bartender was really wonderful and had GREAT customer service. The Management however will do anything to get more money out of you. I was charged $45.00 USD for 2 cheap towels and 1 bed sheet that got stained from our henna tatoos. I was more than willing to pay for the stained items but felt $45.00 was a little steep for the poor quality of the items. The management would not work with me at all and even had the nerve to tell me there is a sign in the room that states if you stain the linen you have to pay. No such sign existed! Anyway I have since found out this kind of thing happens all the time there so bottom line DON'T EVER STAY AT BAHIA CONDOS. Too bad Omar doesn't work elsewhere because he is really great!!!

Helpful?
10 Thank Sammyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, manager at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, May 7, 2006
We are glad to hear guests enjoy Omar’s service at our pool bar. In response to the comment about the linens, there are signs on the back of the door in both English and Spanish regarding lost or stained towels. It states “There will be a $20.00 USD charge for lost or towels returned damaged or stained.” Guests admitted to damaging the linens, therefore this policy was enforced. We have made efforts to inform guests of problems we have seen arise, to better prevent them from happening in the future. Guests are responsible for damages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discreetpunk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2006

I walked into this hotel with no reservation. The staff let me preview the rooms before committing so I made sure I had reasonable water pressure and a good view of the pool. For $125 a night I had a room with a full kitchen, which I never used, and a TV with no working remote control. They said that they ran out of remotes for the model TV I had. I never figured out how to open the fridge but never needed it. If you want a hotel close to town and even closer to the beach this is the one! I stayed three nights and loved it. I didn't opt for the side of the hotel with a view of the ocean because the construction across the street severly limits the view. I slept great at this hotel. I never ate at the hotel because the beach restaraunts a short walk away are terriffic. I walked the dirt roads, by myself, late at night to return from the clubs in the city and never had a single problem. The concierge will try to get you to sign up for time share presentations but that happens everywhere I have stayed. The views aren't pretty but the location is Great!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Discreetpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2006

In short, this hotel was the worst I have ever stayed at in my 20 years. The bed was as hard as the floor, so I instead slept on the couch which was way more comfortable. The showers had no shower heads, usually no hot water, and all faucets had no water pressure. I ordered room service once and it took them two hours and three phone calls to deliver my food, which was seran wrapped, as if they had just reheated it. One day I went to the front desk to ask for a pool towel and they had none available. The woman at the front desk said she would bring one out to me at the pool when some came available. After being at the pool for three hours, I went to the front desk again, asked the same woman for a towel and she handed one to me. Finally, when we checked out there was no bellman sent up to our room to grab our bags and the shuttle we had arranged 48 hours in advance was 20 minutes late. Save your money and stay somewhere where they understand the idea of service.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#37 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach House

Property: Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Address: Av. El Pescador S/N | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach House Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing