We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No power”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Ranked #23 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“No power”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Bahia hotel is located in the 'second row' of hotels, it is behind
a huge newer resort which is right on the beach. Our room was
completely renovated very recently (probably in the course of the work
some earlier reviewers suffered from), it was so clean it seemed
possible we were the first to ever use it. The room was very spacious
and very pleasant, with a view onto the pool. A stove (with oven),
sink, fridge as well as plates, glasses and silverware were all
provided. Beds were very comfy (two king size, I would say), A/C was
working very well.

We made the trip to the beach (maybe 50 yards) and ended right in the
center of Medano Beach. Some will probably like the extremely 'active'
scene with hundreds of vendors, loud music, beach games etc but for us
it was way too much. But it seems that the beach becomes more quiet if
one moves a bit away from this.

When we came back, there was no power in the room. We asked at the
reception and they said that the whole block had lost power and it
would be back soon. We left to have dinner and when we came back,
power was still not back on (only one emergency light in the room). We
waited some time and, indeed, the lights came back on but not the A/C;
the room was pretty warm by now. It was 10pm and the reception said
that they did not know when A/C would come back. They offered to move
us to another hotel and when I asked where, the operations manager
told me 'the Marriott, two blocks away.' Expecting we would be in a
Marriott hotel on the beach two blocks away, we packed our bags again
and a cab brought us to the new hotel. It turned out to be NOT a Marriott
hotel but a 'Fairfield Inn by Marriott,' a business hotel far from the
beach, in fact right on Mexico Highway 1. There was absolutely nothing
wrong with the hotel, it was completely new and ultra-clean but not
what we expected for a beach vacation. And, although the cafeteria at
my place of work is run by 'Sodexho Marriott' I would not tell a
visitor that we are going to have lunch 'at the Marriott' when I take
him or her to have lunch in the cafeteria. So I felt misled by the
promise to be moved to a Marriott close-by.

Also, I suppose the Fairfield Inn did not expect to use the room that
night so when we entered the room, the A/C was off and the temp was
close to ninety (the thermostat said 30C). So we turned on the A/C and
fled to the lobby. At 1.30am the temperature in the room was bearable
(upper seventies, thermostat said 24C) and we finally went to
sleep. With all that, when we got up the next morning, the breakfast
was finished so I went without breakfast (I did not trust the small
place next door but my wife and son ate there and they were fine).

We packed our bags again and took a cab back to the Bahia where our
car was valet-parked. Our decision to ask to be moved turned out to be
very good, they told us the A/C was off for all of the night, and some
rooms were still without A/C. The hotel staff was very apologetic and
reimbursed us the cab expenses without problems. We retrieved our car
and left, since we had booked another hotel in San Jose for the
following night.

Overall, this was certainly not a perfect experience, I would say
actually quite poor. I cannot give with good conscience a 'very good'
or better rating here.

On the other hand, except for the misrepresentation of the 'Marriott'
hotel, the Bahia hotel staff handled the situation rather well. Given
the very nice impression we had before the power outage, and assuming
that the power outage may not have been their fault, I consider this
an 'average' experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a very difficult situation to loose power but I was very proud of our staff and emergency procedures that were executed very well. The entire executive staff all stayed on site to support and assist guests until early in the morning.
As far as the comment about the Marriott I appologize for any misunderstanding. We refer to the hotel locally as the Marriott and I can assure you it was not intention to mislead you in any way. It was our intent to offer a solution to the situation at hand and accomodate our guests.
I also want to thank you for the comments about the cleanliness. I will post a translated version of your comments in the employee room. They take a lot of pride in there jobs and i appreciate you highlighting there efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    307
    116
    38
    27
See reviews for
152
474
53
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I loved this hotel for our honeymoon! I am not sure even where to begin. Spotless rooms with beautiful design and endearing towel art left on our bed by our maid. Gorgeous lanterns in the hallway which make exquisite shadows in the evening. Super staff and concierge Karla who helped us with anything we needed with kindness and efficiency. Lovely pool with swim up bar, hot tub and canopied beds. Great bartenders (Jackie makes the best mojito I have ever tasted.) The food at the pool, room service and the hotel restaurant Esquina is top notch. Great location one block from Medano beach and catty corner from Edith's. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I would try to get a pool side deluxe room if possible, which is really convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had such a great stay on such a special occassion. The memories will be with you forever and we are happy to have been a part of that.
See you on your anniversary!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Loved this hotel. We prefer smaller boutiques to the monolithic high rises, and the Bahia did the trick. It's beautifully appointed. Very high quality design. It's modern, but also has great warmth in the design style. The room was perfect. They upgraded us for free, so we got a poolside room with its own patio. We were extremely happy with everyone that worked there. Extremely nice, courteous, down to earth, helpful and unassuming.

The restaurant in the hotel is excellent. Even if you are not staying at the hotel, try the restaurant. They have an open airy patio - they keep it cool somehow. The tastes are modern, fresh and extremely yummy. They also have a little coffee take out place called Equinox – great java, and nice way to start the day.

The only things I can recommend …. Add safes and coffee makers in the room. We also had trouble finding their beach club... we ended up going to other beaches, so not a huge deal, but better signage would be good.

Room Tip: By the pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaninetheBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great value for the money. Short walk to the beach and all the great bars. Amazing staff. The best staff in Cabo. They were undergoing renovations but the majority of the rooms are updated and even the older rooms aren't bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bahia on our 2nd trip to Cabo. We luckily got a Groupon Deal which was awesome. The hotel is boutique style, small enough to feel personal but large enough to have privacy and very peaceful. The ambiance is very relaxing and the lighting especially at night is very romantic in the hallways (especially the 1st and 2nd floors). The pool is VERY relaxing and the pool side beds are so comfortable i noticed everyone couldn't help but fall asleep there...its perfect location to get the ocean breeze. There are multiple hammocks throughout the building which are so relaxing to layout on. The hotel is literally like a 2 minute walk to the beach, 5-7 minute walk to marina and 7-10 to heart of downtown............we saved a TON on taxi fare compared to our last stay at the RIU. Couldn't ask for a better location....of course the beach isn't at your doorsteps but neither is the noise of boats and jetskis, or the constant stares of the beach "salesmen". And its literally a hop, skip jump away when your ready for it.
We got the romance package which was very romantic...there was turndown service with candles, chocolates, a flower in vase and massage oil. The birthday cake was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!! All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The bonus is you can make free calls to the US!!!! How awesome is that. Also there is free wifi in the common areas and luckily we could pick up signal on our balcony as we were over the lobby.
The rooms are very plain and simple with white walls and very little wall decorations and such BUT the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. Gives you a private room on an island kinda feel. They are suite style so there is a stove and fridge(stocked as minibar) which we didn't use. The balcony is large and the seating chairs are comfortable. The shower is very nice with the large waterfall type shower head.....there was a little issue with maintaining water temperature but didnt bother me much as hot showers weren't really the thing to do in July.

We absolutely LOVED our stay and highly recommend it. We did all inclusive last trip and although the "resort style" trip was fun, we rarely left the resort and when we did we payed alot in taxi fare to and from. At Bahia with its awesome location we really got to explore Cabo and see so much more!!!

I would definitely stay here again.
A few tips. There is a minimart down the street from Bahia (to the left when walk out lobby) that has most essentials (water, beer,wine, snacks).There is a cool taco spot last store on right on the way to beach that has $1 beer, $3 2-for-1 margaritas, and $1.50 tacos that are DELICIOUS and safe to eat. La Ricazon is 2 blocks away and has good margaritas, crab cakes and seafood. There is a restaurant 1 block down (opposite direction of beach) on the right that has awesome breakfast at a great price. If your looking for a great place to go eat in the marina try Ole Ole.
If you are walking to marina or downtown- ask someone in the lobby and avoid going the long route :) ENJOY!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deez404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. The location and service are at the root of the guest experience here at the Bahia. I often here from the guests of other properties that dine with us that they wish there were staying closer to town and the beaches of Medano. It is difficult to communicate and organize groups while traveling in a foreign country therefore being within walking distance makes planning much easier and less expensive.
We have several different packages and the romance one is very popular, glad you enjoyed it
Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Wonderful small hotel in great location. The front office staff with Karim, housekeeping, bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. The "classic" rooms are ok but dated. The "deluxe" rooms have been renovated with modern furnishings, flat screen tv and nice pool views and are recommended. The hotel is a block from Medano Beach, although with the Dorado Hotel blocking any beach/sea view.

Bahia Hotel is an excellent alternative to the large Westin or Hilton style resorts located on the highway between San Jose Airport and Cabo San Lucas city. The hotel is located close enough to walk to restaurants, clubs, bars etc or just a short cab ride. Cabo Wabo has live music every night in centro.

Medano Beach has all the popular beach clubs and beach activities, parasailling, banana boats, jet skis, standup paddling etc,. The ocean is very calm in that area unlike the Pacific side of Cabo with rip tides. Try Tabasco's restaurant on Medano Beach 1/2 mile from the hotel. A small very comfortable restaurant without the loud music of the nearby beach clubs.

The hotel is also easy walking distance to the central restaurant, bar and shopping district. You may need a $6 taxi ride on your return due to the uphill walk after a full meal and drinks. The hotel restaurant, Esquina, has an excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. There is also a morning/afternoon coffee bar adjacent to the restaurant. The Esquina has live music some evenings week until 11pm. It's great to come back to the hotel after dinner in centro and have dessert and listen to the easy listening music groups. If you decide to hang at the hotel during the day, the pool bar with palapa and free wifi is very popular.

La Dolce or Romeo and Julietta are both excellent choices for Italian food. Mocambo is excellent Mexican seafood restaurant popular with residents. Also Pollo de Oro has excelent rotisserie chicken at very reasonable prices. Nick-San sushi is a beautiful but a little pricey. A cheaper alternative is Koi Sushi located in a shopping plaza near Wal-Marts, with little ambience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xlagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

what a great trip! from the courteous, respectful and prompt staff, to the outstanding restaurant, the trip could not have been better. the rooms and beds were simply divine! from the cotton sheets to the light cotton blanket, they truly made the sleeping experience a pleasure to await. the sunflower shower head is a great touch! the menu and restaurant offer great sensations from the Must Have Tuna tartare to the simple marghareta pizza. they don't overlook any detail here. there was No noise and yet it is steps away from downtown and harbor. don't miss this spot on your trip there.

Room Tip: see if a room has a view of water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for the review.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the beds and got some rest while on vacation.
The tuna tartare has become the specialty of the house and one of our most popular dishes. Thanks for choising the Bahia and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#5 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#37 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach House

Property: Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Address: Av. El Pescador S/N | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach House Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing