We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price and location ..you found a winner!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahia Hotel & Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Great price and location ..you found a winner!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Me and 2 buddies went down to celebrate a friends birthday towards the end of April. We were super excited when we pulled up to the entrance of the hotel with its nice decked out lobby and the adjacent restaurant, (the thrill of fellas’ weekend in Cabo added to the excitement as well). A little shaky on check in as the room we checked in was not available. ( scared me a bit as i read a couple reviews prior to departing San Diego.. and I was thinking are you serious!!) There was a beautiful woman working the front desk that did her best to accommodate us and it paid it off.. After being shown 2 other rooms we finally found a location we would settle comfortably in for the next couple of days – 3rd time was the charm. . (Awesome part about this hotel is there are timeshares in it - multiple room/condo like arrangements) we lucked out.

Friendly staff that was very welcoming to questions and suggestion, Great pool area and swim up bar. (Added treat was the 5 Tecate models that spent the day at the hotel, pool side). We meet up with the owner Lee, who was a great down to earth guy and made us welcome.

We had a plan to go to the restaurant on Saturday night to celebrate my buddies’ birthday but we weren’t smart enough to book reservation in advance (popular place). We were able to find room at the bar to eat and the food was amazing, quick service and decent prices. Great food and NBA finals on the tv, perfect combo.

Recap of the hotel offers great rooms for a great price compared to other hotels in the area. The location is a block from the beach. The staff is friendly and the grounds are well kept and secure. Would definitely recommend it, and plan a return trip real soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you for the review. You have pointed out what we feel are several very important reasons that the Bahia can offer a unique experience. . Location, food and service.
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    306
    114
    37
    27
See reviews for
151
468
52
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

The hotel was recommended by a local and no research was done prior to my stay. To sum it up, all I can say is the hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff was outstanding and with Gavino, Richard and Noe of note. The room was clean and comfortable. The location is a short walk to the beach or downtown. I highly reccommend the Bahia!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sausalitoroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Excellent location; easy beach access; relaxing yet fun pool scene; helpful staff--especially the swim-up bartenders; great restaurant. Can't ask for much more. Especially when comparing to the prices of some of the nearby hotels. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisam_alisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments. You will be recieving a monthly newsletter so keep an eye on it for upcoming events and promotions. Medano Beach is having a festival on july 4th weekend. maybe you want to come back for that?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Afetr checking all the reviews about Cabo's hotels we decided for Bahia Hotel.
So happy about our choice!

This is one of the few time where I could say: the pictures of the website are telling exactly the truth!
For my taste, this small boutique hotel, furnished with taste, wisely managed and reasonably priced is much better than those huge concrete monsters built on the beach.

The hotel is located less than 2 minutes walk from Medano beach and roughly 10 minutes walk to downtown Cabo (we never needed a cab to go either places).

Other things to worth to be mentioned:
-both the normal rooms and the suites are spacious and comfortable (we upgraded:)

-jacuzzi connected with the swimming pool and bar. Temperature of the water wasn't as hot as I desired but still very pleasant (i think they were working on it)

-very friendly and helpful staff. We bothered them almost once a day and they were always very kind, helpful and friendly.

-good selection of music in the hotel lobby and pool area. During weekends the music is a little louder and is on longer, during the week just background music in common areas. Overall the hotel is quiet and relaxing.

-guests of the hotel were all in a 25-40 age range (this probably doesn't apply to spring break time:)

-restaurant (seems to have a fusion European/Oriental style) is quite expensive but smelled and looked very good and romantic.

-the bar is expensive too..but I guess that's a high-end place in Cabo, which is already an expensive location..

-they have free wireless internet..it doesn't work everywhere but still enough for checking emails (who wants to be all day at the computer when in Cabo afterall?)

-if you ask the staff for tours and outdoor activities they can organize that for you with Tour-companies they know (we did the ATVs) at no surcharge.

Next time I'll go to Cabo I will definitely stay at Bahia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovanniDaVerrazzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank You. One of the main reasons for the purchase of the property was the location. We had vacationed here often and loved the area. Having become friends with Edith and other buisness owners in the Medano area we felt very connected to the area and its natural beauty.
The restaurant is named bar Esquina(corner bar) and has been open since december. We are very fortunate to have a very talented chef and great staff who put the heart and soul into it every day.
Our clientel is driven by the local professional market and hotels guests along with guests from the adjecent properties.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel is great. Really good location (Edith's and the Office and the beach are a 1 minute walk from the hotel, the marina is just around the corner). The lobby/pool/restaurant have a cool vibe/scene and the restaurant (Bar Esquina is what it's called I think) was good for both dinner and grabbing drinks before going out on the town. The room we stayed in was pretty awesome for the price and the staff was helpful in coordinating our activities around the town (we used the shuttle pickup, did golf, and had them make two dinner reservations). We were a little skeptical at first because the hotel does not sit directly on the beach; however, this was not an issue at all - it was only a 1-2 minute walk from the main part of the beach (Mango's, etc.). Overall recommended for anyone looking for decent value and an alternative to the mega-hotels of Cabo.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wharthog521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

I just returned from a week trip w/ my fiance to the Bahia Hotel and can't say enough great things about this hotel! In the past, I usually pick a resort that is much larger, all inclusive, right on the ocean, and pay a greater fee. I usually leave a vacation/destination not wanting to come back to the same place twice, always thinking there is something more out there. The Bahia is the only hotel that I will consider coming back to year after year because of the unique location, price, staff, and upgraded amenities.

Location:

The Bahia is a 1 minute walk downhill to the beach and less than 5 minute walk to Marina/Town. One of the closest hotels at Medano Beach to the Marina/Town, which has shopping/dining/entertainment and the main attractions for tourists.

Type of Traveler

Although the hotel seems to cater towards young couples (mid 20's -30's/singles), I think it would be good for any group of travelers. (families,singles, couples etc.) Most nights we were in bed before 9 p.m, (1 early night was attributed to a massive 2 for 1 pina colada/Margarita from el Squid Roe), and unlike what some people commented on noise, we never were woken up from noise in hallways, pool, etc. We also had a 1st floor pool view room right next to the outside bar. The only type of person I could see disliking the hotel would be the typical grumpy old couple, which would have problems regardless of where they stay.

Amenities:

Full service pool/bar/hottub:with a vegas style pool setting, w/ out the huge pool crowd. Linen type day beds surround part of the pool, which was great for an afternoon nap, while they play soft music. The pool was used to get away from the crazyness of the beach. I also hear they will have their renovated beach area ready soon along with the Cabo SUP: Stand up Paddle Boarding already in action.

Restaurant Esquina:

Fine Dining: Pricey, but was our best meal of the trip. Best Caesar salad i've ever eaten, along with good pizza, wine selections. Also, I enjoyed their organic menu and what it stands for.

Rooms:

Plasma TV, very comfy bed, Island bar with chairs, refrigerator, sink. Renovated bathooms/sinks, with patio next to pool. Only suggestions would be a room safe to keep valuables passport, money etc. even though nothing was stolen. Along with additional lighting especially in bathroom, even though I enjoyed the overall dim concept to the room.

Staff:
From ownership, management, down to waiter staff all were very welcoming, outgoing, and professional. It seems ownership is very passionate about the hotel and its success going forward. They can appreciate customer concerns and feedback after speaking to them!

I am excited to see the hotel growth and what the Bahia crew has in store for their guests going forward!

See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmoreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for the extensive review. We are very passoniate about the future of the bahia and feel it offers tremendous value.
The revitilization of the Medano beach area is at the cornerstone of our development and plans for the future. As the original hotel in Medano we feel it is important to preserve the past but look to the future. With the renovated rooms and upgraded ameneties we can offer our guests a great experience and preserve the mexican experience our travelers are looking for.
Hope to see you at the bahia again soon, and we will keep you updated with our monthly newsletter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

I was worried that the location was going to be loud because of the proximity to Medana Beach but with the rooms facing toward the pool area this was not the case. Bahia is a newly remodeled hotel with the bottom 2 floors decorated in contemporary Mexican furnishings. The rooms were immaculate & the staff was constanly primping the grounds. Bar Esquina was the highlight of my stay! To have a hip & tasty restaurant in the lobby of your hotel doesn't get any better. I never had to leave the premises to dine. I highly recommend Bahia Cabo for anyone that is looking for a great location, clean rooms, & fantastic restaurant all for a great value!

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank grllv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvosburgh, Owner at Bahia Hotel & Beach House, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are excitied about the renovation, and feel very fortunate to have the wonderful stafff we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.1 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bungalows Hotel
The Bungalows Hotel
#4 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
Cabo Villas Beach Resort
#38 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.8 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Hotel & Beach House

Property: Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Address: Av. El Pescador S/N | Medano Beach, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia Hotel & Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahia Hotel is a charming, full-service boutique hotel located in the heart of Cabo San Lucas' bustling Medano Beach district, steps from the activities, shopping, dining and nightlife for which Cabo is legendary. With its rich history, personalized service and intimate, welcoming environment, Bahia Hotel differentiates itself from the larger, homogenous chain hotels in Los Cabos. Bahia Hotel offers guests a luxury, urban-chic environment while maintaining the classic Cabo vibe.Bahia Hotel's new first-class restaurant, Bar Esquina, features a new twist on International creative cuisine in Cabo: Mexican influenced Mediterranean flavors using locally grown, organic produce; fresh fish from the Pacific & Sea of Cortez; and the highest quality meats cooked on a mesquite grill.If you are planning your first trip to Cabo, Bahia Hotel is the perfect choice: clean, safe, centrally-located and full of Cabo personality. If you are Cabo veteran, please stop by for quick tour of our beautifully remodeled property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Bahia Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel And Beach Club
Bahia Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Cabo San Lucas
Bahia Hotel & Beach House Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing