We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem on the ocean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabo San Lucas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrasol Beach Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Hibbing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little gem on the ocean”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I rented unit 206 for 10 days. It was perfect and had everything you needed to move in and unpack. Our view was of the ocean and the unheated pool. It was just a few steps to the ocean (can't swim there though). Terrasol is quiet and mostly older people. If you are looking to rent something where there are activities and things for kids to do, then look elsewhere. Terrasol is ownership, not a timeshare. The workers and employees are all helpful and considerate. The palapa bar is open from 8:00 a.m. until 6:00 p.m. Food and drinks are very reasonable. Walking into town is safe. This is a gated, secured, community. Bring your binoculars to watch the whales and all the boats going out fishing every day. Shop at Soriano for your food instead of Walmart, which was loud, dirty and just plain disgusting. Rent at Terrasol, you will not be disappointed. Remember, they do charge a nightly fee of $15 per couple (more if there's more people) and $25 if you have a rental car. ENJOY YOUR STAY!

Room Tip: Second floors have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    60
    18
    14
    9
See reviews for
69
77
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cozumel
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 2 weeks and it was a fabulous resort. One of the best vacations I have had. The location is amazing, walking distance to restaurants and night life. The on site restaurant under the palapa has excellent food and service. Whale watching at breakfast was one of the highlights of our vacation. I highly recommend Terrasol for your next vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cozumelsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from another wonderful trip to Terrasol. We stayed in condo 219 and it was wonderful. The location was perfect and great for our annual girls trip to Cabo. We've stayed at Terrasol for the last 4 years and each time I think it gets better. We've stayed in a few other condos on the property 112, 221 & 219 and by far 219 was our favorite. Timmy from Rock Star Rentals took wonderful care of us and was always responsive. He checked in on us during the week and followed up once we returned. We love the quietness of the property and because they are fully owned condo you don't get the hassle of buying time shares and all that, it's just perfect for a quiet, relaxing vacation. Mario will take great care of you at the Terrasol bar and restaurant and Carlos at the front desk will make sure you have exactly what you need. The location of the property is perfect, just a short walk to the marina and night life and great restaurants. We will visit again! If you want a relaxing, low speed, quiet vacation, Terrasol is for you and Timmy at Rock Star Rentals will take care of you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMarie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, WY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

7 Great Days in Terrasol 236. Terrasol Beach Resort is the perfect location. Close to Marina, Beach and downtown, yet private. The unit satisfied all of our needs. Comfy and clean with great service and all the amenities. Pool/pool bar/ restaurant is great. This is one of Craig Harrisons units. Not only did the Condo meet expectations, but Craig was of great assistance while planning our trip. He assisted with rental car, golf and the general do's and dont's of travelling Los Cabos.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyoDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just came back from a week at Terrasol Beach Resort, we stayed in a nicely remodeled unit with wonderful views to the Town and the harbor #202 Pelicano. The development is full ownership condos, with limited services as a hotel, it was just perfect for us. Private, nice pools , whole resort sits on the sand quite impressive. What we liked was the views at night from the balcony of this unit. We sat out there for hours listening to the sounds of fun in town and watching the town come alive with millions of lights. Very cool spot. We like to walk the beach and this is the most beautiful empty beach to have our morning walks. Both pools sit right on the beach and are just wonderful.
The little beach restaurant had good service and good food, we were pleased.
The price was very reasonable , we were quite happy with our experience and will book this unit again.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a few condos there over the years this time we stayed in #202 clean nicely furnis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a great time at Terrasol, but I can understand that it is not for everyone. Terrasol is not a hotel; it is a condominium complex. The grounds are understated, with simple, but quite elegant landscaping with an abundance of sand surrounding walkways. The grounds are impeccably maintained, with staff members active at all times sweeping, raking the sand and trimming the numerous bouganvilleas and hibiscus plants.

There are two pool areas only one of which is heated. The heated pool has a swim-up bar with a Palapa cantina that operates from early morning until 6pm. Drinks are good and very reasonably priced. The food is remarkably good. No, they're very good! Try the chicken fajitas. Mario, the bartender and waiter, was friendly but can get flustered if he gets too many requests at once. Work with him and he will serve you well.

I'm not sure why they have the second pool. It is larger and prettier than the heated one, but was seldom used, probably because it is not heated and there are no refreshments available. I would like to see those changes made, as that pool is quite attractive. Both pools are right on the beach, which is great.

If you're looking for a wild time at a resort, this is not the place. It is quiet and relaxing. If you want excitement, the town is an easy walk or cab ride. Plenty of excitement in the town of Cabo San Lucas. Terrasol is a nice respite and is a great place for families with small children.

As others have said, the units are variable, so be careful which one you choose. We were in unit 160, which was spotlessly clean and upgraded. Some units have ocean views, but not all of them. Ours did not, but I didn't see that as a problem because the pools and ocean were just a short walk away. Our friends stayed in a different unit and it was not nearly as up to date, though it did have an ocean view. We definitely recommend this complex and the unit we stayed in.

Room Tip: If you need an ocean view, ask the agent/owner if the unit has one. There are no elevators, so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDreamer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayarea
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Terrasol is a conclave of individually owned condominiums so the spectrum is quite wide. We stayed in #216. Avoid #216. Absolutely under no circumstances, work with Rock Star Rentals or anyone associated with them. Please read this whole review to get a fair picture of the Terrasol property and staff.
We booked unit #160 three months in advance. I had numerous correspondences with our agent. Up until Sunday at 4:30 pm (we were checking in the following Monday) our agent assured us there was not any problem. At 8:06 pm on Sunday we finally received an email from the agent saying there was an "overlap" in the reservation and we would not have access to unit #160 but instead were sent over to unit #216. I immediately sent back an email asking questions but (big surprise) suddenly their internet server was down and I had multiple emails kicked back until we were boarding the airplane the next day.
Our main concern was we have 2 beds in the second bedroom as our son and daughter are 19 and 17 years old so would not be sharing a bed. Unit #216 did not have the 2 beds in the 2nd bedroom as we originally requested 3 months back. The only offered compensation was to have 4 condo cleanings instead of 1. And big surprise, we only received 2 during the week.
We had no choice but to check into #216 so here is the list of issues with this unit: 1) Only 1 bed in the 2nd bedroom, 2) No working air conditioning, 3) The pull-out couches were both disgusting with rusted hardware and soiled/dingy mattresses, 4) When I turned on the shower the next morning the shower head fell in to the bathtub broken, 5) No hot water, 6) The dishwasher leaked so bad it was un-useable, 7) The remote controls that controlled the ceiling fans did not have batteries, 8) The bedding and pillows on the 2 beds were gross, 9) The TV/Satellite was not working, 10) There is not a screen door in the master bedroom or screens on 2 of the windows so if you open them at night to get a cross-breeze to compensate for the lack of AC, then you have mosquitoes to deal with, and 11) Sliding glass door and screen door from the living room are barely useable and need to be fixed or replaced.
That night we went to WalMart and bought 3 sets of bedding and pillows. This wasn't cheap but was necessary to feel confident we were protecting ourselves as much as possible from the bedding. We suffered through the night with the heat and in the morning were treated with a cold and broken shower. We were heading up to La Paz to snorkel with the whale sharks so I left Carlos (front desk) with most of the above list to work on while we were gone. When we returned that evening we at least had hot water and a second hand shower head that allowed us to take a shower. Mid week they replaced the second-hand shower head with a new one.
Carlos and the staff at Terrasol worked during the week to fix the TV/Satelite. I think they were receiving some guidance from the condo owner Bernie but at the end of the week we still had no air conditioning even in the 85 degree heat. I don't blame Carlos and the staff at Terrasol. I think they did what they could.
I do think the booking agent knew all along they were going to make the switch from unit #160 to 216? How could they not know until 8pm the night before we were to arrive unless they are totally incompetent? Why they decided to make the switch can only be speculative but definitely it wasn't ethical.
If our condo unit would have been acceptable then we would have really enjoyed the Terrasol location. I think a lot of other condos in the area are updated and have working equipment. The beach is quiet and is not covered with irritating vendors. It is very easy to walk from Terrasol to the Marina area, the malls and the restaurants in between.
We enjoyed eating at the local restaurants, snorkeling, scuba diving, cooking classes, spa treatments, fishing and other activites that I'll review in separate reviews you can see under my account.

Room Tip: Avoid the booking agent and go right to the condo owner through vrbo.com. Ask for examples of how m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TooOldtosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
#25 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
2,711 reviews
0.9 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
3,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Solmar Resort
Solmar Resort
#27 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrasol Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrasol Beach Resorts

Property: Terrasol Beach Resorts
Address: Avenue Access Solmar, Cabo San Lucas 94705, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful five-star Terrasol Beach Resort condominiums are located at breathtaking Land's End in Cabo San Lucas. Walk from the condo right onto the sand! Hear the waves lapping the shore at night! Enjoy whale watching, deep sea fishing, scuba diving, and all water sports. It's only a ten minute walk to all Cabo San Lucas restaurants, nightlife, and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrasol Beach Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Terrasol Beach Resorts Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing