We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Charm..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Tres Gallos

Los Tres Gallos
Ranked #46 of 545 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Los Tres Gallos is a culinary experience for those in search of the true aromas and flavors of traditional Mexican cuisine
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Charm..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a hard time finding this place, but we wanted to find a great local restaurant that wasn't' a chain. We loved this place.
The food was fantastic, the local flare was great and we loved the ambiance. Best restaurant in Cabo we think.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cold_Steele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    235
    65
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemet, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I was so excited to come here. When I arrived, I was even more excited. Unfortunately, the food didn't live up to the menu and atmosphere. The tortilla soup was bland and lacking seasoning. We ordered the cochinita pibil (big mistake to order outside of the Yucatan) and we also ordered ceviche. The ceviche tasted like the fish just came out of a can. It was horrible. Actually, horrible would be an understatement. It was not edible at all. The pibil was dry and made me think it was made yesterday and reheated. So much promise, such disappointment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Food was Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant while looking for another. We quickly looked it up on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The Tacos Del Mar included lobster, shrimp and scallops which my husband ordered and loved. I got a simply grilled white tail in garlic butter but was probably was the best and freshest fish I have ever had. The kitchen is open so you can watch your meals being cooked by the very skilled women of the restaurant. You can watch them making fresh tortillas and bread as well. Oh and let's not forget the margaritas. Try the Cadillac margarita...my personal favorite. We enjoyed this place so much we went twice and will definitely return on our next trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie5033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago ,IL
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nice setting and authentic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The courtyard setting of the restaurant is very nice as it affords a view into the cooking area. The mexican food is very fresh and well done. My wife had the pork dish and I had chicken mole, both which were excellent. It was fun to watch the chef cooking the tortillas for each order. The service was excellent and the setting very soothing. I think this is one of the most authentic mexican food places in Cabo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsmithkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No longer can recommend ~ save your evening and money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We are locals and I am Mexican, I know about authentic food. This place not only add fruit to the mole. There is no flavor in any if the dishes we ordered. We visited this place many times as we love the quelite salad (even though was sweeter also). Yesterday we order a Chile relleno with mole sauce and they charged us for two whole dishes ~instead of charging just for the sauce, they charged for chicken mole and the Chile relleno which it had a lump inedible cheese.... The enchiladas, were sent back as they were tastless and soggy. $10.00 Tamanindo Margarita and wine was very good.
Prices were up from a few months ago. So.... Food went down and prices went up. Insanity!
The decor is very cute with hard wooden chairs and no cushions. The service is excellent even though there was not a manager to talk to.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Tres Gallos also viewed

 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Los Tres Gallos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing