We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the hype”

Hacienda Cocina y Cantina
Reserve with OpenTable
Hacienda Cocina y Cantina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 573 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Hacienda Cocina y Cantina, the signature restaurant at the Hacienda Beach Club & Residences at Medano Beach, merges traditional Mexican architecture with casual beachfront dining for an elegant, laid back experience. Perched on the most beautiful quarter-mile of beach and overlooking the iconic rock formations of Land's End, this restaurant features open air indoor dining, outdoor dining on the terazza, a beachfront palapa bar and the ever popular "tables in the sand". The menu showcases the different regions and flavors of Mexico through expertly crafted authentic dishes using only the finest local ingredients.
Albany, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the hype”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Rated #1 on Tripadvisor, and for good reason. The restaurant has a very decor and setting; we sat outside for dinner, with a great view of the ocean, and the beach, but with some nice heat lamps to keep us toasty. We had two (very loud) kids with us; families are more than welcome (we saw a slew of families with small kids.) The food is outstanding! The Cevice Verde appetizer and the Pulpo appetizer in particular were great. There were some unique drinks as well, including non-alcoholic drinks. And, the price was reasonable for a place of its caliber. It's definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gobearsBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,027
    436
    137
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, disappointed w/food & service.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was extremely excited to get a reservation in the # 1 restaurant in Cabo. Upon our arrival by shuttle from one of the gates, the view was breathtaking and the excitement for a wonderful dinner was anticipated. Our server lacked personality which is rare in Cabo and gave the impression that he wanted to turn this table over quickly. (Our entire time from arrival to departure was 45 minutes!). We order glasses of wine and it was brought to the table without allowing us to taste it first. My dinner companion struggled to drink the malbec and my cabernet was fair, we never ordered another glass. Thank goodness for the strawberry salad and tortilla soup, which were good. Our entrees came soon to follow and the meals were barely edible. The chicken was smothered with mole sauce which masked the taste of the chicken. The lobster enchilada lacked any distinguishing flavor and was cleverly disguised under a flavorless "sauce." We declined additional wine and desert and left. Unfortunately, I will not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A place should not miss”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor, and this restaurant is listed as #1 in Cabo. So when we were around Medano beach and thinking of dinner, this is the first place pop up in my mind. I would say we are totally not disappointed for the food, view and service.

The food is awesome. We had the seafood pot in family style for two, and my daughter had their favorite orders. Put it this way, my older daughter finished her food as fast as possible, and with the plate clean as new. The waiter was puzzled about whether it is a clean plate or to be collected, and where her food is.

The view is awesome. The lands end is just across the bay, and right in front of any seating inside or outside. It looks more like a gigantic painting than a real surrounding. I can't think of any other place with the combination of food, view and the feeling of an upscale restaurant.

Price is not cheap, but acceptable. Excellent place for any party, event and romantic theme. And the space is big enough and kid menu is well planned.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayarea
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location, good facilities and good food”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ate here our second night in Cabo. If there is a cruise ship in port like the night we were there, then the view is mostly of the ship. Luckily during our dinner the ship left so we could see the ocean. Don't expect to see the sunset like we did as you are facing the wrong direction.
The food was good and everyone enjoyed what they had. I would rate this restaurant 3rd or 4th place out of the other one's we ate at but it is still very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TooOldtosurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I love that this place can balance being contemporary without ignoring its Mexican culinary roots, if that makes sense. The menu offers a twist without compromising its rich Mexican heritage. Of course, while in Cabo, you'd be a fool not to get as much fresh seafood as you can. The complimentary jicama with chile appetizer is a nod to the street food enjoyed by locals. The ceviches are exquisite and for the entree, the "cazuela de mariscos" is perfect with the homemade tortillas with which its served.

I know there's a lot if pressure to keep up with the tastes of Cabo visitors but I hope this place stays as true as it is right now. And of course, let's not forget the breathtaking view and the hospitable service- they made us feel welcome even when accompanied by 2 small children, unlike many places that blatantly forbid kids in their restaurants as if they're a bunch of aliens! Thanks, Hacienda del Mar- you have a loyal client in us!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Cocina y Cantina also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Hacienda Cocina y Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing