We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let me explain”
Review of Lands End Divers

Lands End Divers
Elgin, SC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Let me explain”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were scheduled to dive with Lands End Divers on Monday, July 2nd. We had an 11:30 appointment to meet at the dive shop. When we arrived, the dive shop smelled TERRIBLE and they looked at us like were bothering them while they ate. We tried to explain that we had an appointment to meet at 11:30 to meet Chalo. The lady at the desk looked in some make-shift appointment book, then held up one finger and walked down towards the marina, where she stood for a minute looking around. She then proceeded to ask the man holding the Viagra advertisement something in Spanish, then turned to us, shrugged her shoulders, and walked back in the shop.

Thank goodness we had not put down any sort of deposit beforehand. I have read the reviews and I am sure that Chalo is a great DM, but if that is how they run their business, then I will book elsewhere!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EARMSTRONG1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“A++++ services”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Chalo is the best dive master I met so far.
He was very friendly the minute I entered his store. The equipment provided was top notch quality. We dove as a very small group ( that's the way it should be) 2 divers + Chalo.
The first dive was at Northwall while the second one an hour later at Pelican Bay.
Chalo was very good on spotting camouflaged animals I would have otherwise missed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrei V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great operation!”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

'Chalo' was our dive guide for two dives at Pelican Rock and the Arch. He was very knowledgable. We are not used to renting dive gear but on this trip we had to. He hooked us up with good wetsuits, (the water is cold!), and very good gear. It was a small group and he was a very competent diver and photographer. We ended up talking photography for a lot of the trip. Just a very down to earth guy and excellent diver! We will use them again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chalo the divemaster is the best in the Harbor”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I dove with Eagle Divers, and Manta and then I found Land's End Divers.

Chalo (I'm probably spelling this wrong, but it's Cha-Low) was by far the best dive master I encountered while in Cabo. Other places employ young guys that are in their 20's and spending a few months at a time in great dive locations around the world.
In other words, the other dive masters are transient. They've been in Cabo for a few months and I'm not knocking their ability as divers they just don't have the same feel for the area as Chalo.

Chalo has been in Cabo for 17-20 years! He knows how to catch a puffer fish and will likely catch one for you to hold. He knows where to find things under the water that other Divemasters just don't. He has a few underwater cameras and will likely offer to take your photos.

They offer a photo package that is ~$25. It's worth it. I am a cheap, cheap person, but the photos are worth it. You'll get shots holding a puffer fish, (2 different types!) holding star fish, and they're good shots. Unlike anything you can take on the surface. Sometimes he shoots video, which is really cool.

Now, you would think that the best would be the most expensive but they're not. The price per 2 tank dive is LOWER than any other place! Land's End doesn't advertise as much as the other places and they can afford to charge less. Also, look when you go out - Manta takes as many people as they can fit in the boat. Eagle Diver's takes fewer, but Land's End is the best.

When you're diving there are several places you are likely to dive. Pelican Rock, Neptune's Finger and Middle Wall are just a few spots that are in the bay near the "Arch." They are a 2-3 min boat ride from the shop. This is like Chalo's back yard.

If you want to dive in the national protected water which is a 90 boat ride each way you'll want to call ahead to get a better rate.

When I go back I will only be diving with Chalo - I really can't say how impressed I was over the others.

So, you're on the internet reading this and thinking - "how can I make sure I get the same level of service?" Cabo is a nice size, but it's not all that huge - just get to the Marina and ask where Land's End Divers is, then go in the small shop and tell them you want to dive with Chalo - chances are he'll be in the shop or on a dive.

Disposable underwater cameras are 25 USD in the shop next to the dive shop. They're only 12 USD in walmart. You're better off renting a camera from them and paying ~30 a day -with CD burning service.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Food_and_Dive_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lands End Divers also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Lands End Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing