We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bungalows Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Another Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at the Bungalows based on a recommendation from a friend and I was not disappointed. Folks, I certainly recommend this hidden gem in Cabo. Hats off to Erik and Beto and Aletse. This is a great place, owned and run by a local family! An amazing place with charm and grace. Very clean and incredible service from the minute you step in the door. I will be back! Close to everything and they serve an amazing breakfast every morning! The price was more than reasonable, and if you take in the local charm and restaurants nearby, your vacation will not only be very enjoyable, but very cost effective…far less than an “all inclusive” owned by some corporate conglomerate !

Worth a visit and a stay! I give it four out of five snowballs! HaHa!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank minus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    88
    22
    12
    2
See reviews for
124
392
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I did extensive research to choose a place to stay in Cabos. I wanted to avoid an all inclusive and stay in a place that let me experience the culture, while supporting a local business. At the same time, my needs were tranquility, beauty and value. As a solo, I was also encouraged about the reports of safety and how customers are treated like family.

From my first communication with The Bungalows, I knew that I was valued and appreciated. With all the excellent reviews, I was more than excited to travel to this property. When I stepped through the gate, I knew that I would have everything I hoped for the stay and more. A huge welcome, hug and help right away, followed by incredible attentiveness.

I was very early to arrive and yet put in my room quickly. My suite was immaculate, spacious and finished in tasteful local decor. The pool was lovely - a great place to catch sun and meet friendly people from all over the world. (We always chatted about how much we were loving our stay at The Bungalows!). The courtyard was colourful and welcoming while the breakfast area was charming and serene. The breakfasts, which are included in your stay, were healthy and delicious. With small kitchenettes in all rooms, there was the additional convenience of accessing cold drinks and food during the day.

The location was excellent - about two blocks to the start of downtown. In addition, when just wanting to hang out, there were two convenience stores within half a block. By the way, bottled water is provided by the Bungalows and fresh fruit plus coffee are available all day. Also enjoyed all the DVDs available to watch in the comfort of your suite. (And did I mention that everything the hotel provided, including wifi, is at no extra cost?)

Erik and his family call their hotel "your home away from home. I was treated like a cherished family member and I felt my surrounds were amazing. After touring or going to the beach, I was more than wanting to get back to the peace and warmth of my Cabos home. Would go back to the Bungalows in a heartbeat! Can't wait to bring my friends and family to stay. The property is gorgeous, the value is phenomenal and the personal service can't be beat!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank LiteNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at The Bungalows Hotel celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary in March and we loved every single bit of it!!!! Erik, Aletse, Beto and all of the rest of The Bungalows family were so lovely and accommodating and their hospitality was impeccable!

After a long day of travel from Florida, we received the warmest welcome from Erik and settled into the Honeymoon Suite right away. The room was perfect and had a beautiful view! It was clean and felt like home, we couldn't have asked for anything more. Everyday we spent time in the hammock and enjoyed the privacy of this special place.

Our room was perfectly clean with fresh towels everyday without fail and the king size bed was super comfortable. We utilized the kitchen and fridge for snacks and drinks and fresh drinking water was replenished everyday.

Breakfast was amazing! :) French toast, breakfast burritos, waffles, omelets and more... Their version of eggs benedict is to die for! And the fresh fruit, smoothies and juices were delicious and refreshing! We spent time by the pool and met other guests who I think enjoyed their stay as much as we did.

It's a short walk to town and the marina. Erik recommended wonderful restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Every single excursion that Erik set up for us went off without a hitch! We took water taxis, sunset cocktail cruises and visited Todos Santos and Cerritos Beach.

We can't wait to visit again! The authenticity and quaint and cozy feel were exactly what we were looking for! Anyone who doesn't give The Bungalows a try are underestimating their stellar hospitality and uniqueness.

If you're looking for a home away from home, this is the place to be! Without a doubt, our most favorite vacation designation to date.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Bungalows and it's staff have been my home away from home for over 5 years. I know I will always arrive to a warm hug, spotless rooms, incredible breakfast and puré relaxation. I can't say enough about The Bungalows or how wonderful it is. Thank you for always making me feel so welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for 10 fabulous days, and had the time of our lives! The breakfasts every morning were top notch, the pool was super refreshing, the rooms had so much character, and the hammocks were perfect to pass out in, in the afternoon after a few too many tequila shots! Eric and Ali, welcomed us every morning with open arms, and treated us like family. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cabo!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiilmhibbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We went for my 30th birthday and were a group of 16. The hotel staff made booking easy as well as giving us tips for setting up drivers to pick us up. Once we got to the hotel we were so shocked by how amazing it was! It was the most charming hacienda style spot in Cabo. Rooms are clean and have so much character. We took a room with a patio and I'm so glad we did. The hotels staff felt like they were part of our birthday celebrations, even remembering all of our names each morning.

Although the spot is not on the main street (which THANK GOD IT'S NOT) it is only a short walking distance to the town. Our entire group would walk to and from the main street every day (I'm a girl and even did the walk alone without any fear).

Rooms were clean and the hotel was QUIET every night.

OH and to top it off. We were drinking so much tequila throughout the entire day.. the only real meal we had most of the time was breakfast.. .and the hotel breakfast was outstanding. I'm a great cook and when we got back home my husband said on the first morning "this is good, but it's no Bungalows breakfast"… and he was right… because their breakfast is top notch!

STAY HERE!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

After reading 500 fabulous reviews I think I was brainwashed. The property was in such disrepair. There must have been 3 inches of dust in the breakfast area. The furniture looked 50 years old and the leather was peeling.Yes Ali and Eric were warm. There is no doubt about it. But all the plants needs trimming and watering. I even watered the plants outside of my unit because the plants looked dead. There were broken lights. There were only 8 chase lounges and they looked very dirty and old. At least have them professionally cleaned or get new ones. They are not that expensive.It needs a painting on the outside. The mattresses were fine. The water was turned off just before my husband went into the shower. There were electrical outlets that were hanging from the wall to the point of being dangerous. It could be a fabulous place. The noise at night was very loud especially if you are a light sleeper.I guess one would have to think well its in town so you have the traffic and congestion when all the natives go home at night. Maybe because we take pride in where we live and how we keep our house but this place needs to be refreshed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank 77mangoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#7 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#23 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Property: The Bungalows Hotel
Address: Av. Miguel Angel Herrera, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bungalows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful, brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing