We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bungalows Hotel
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here almost exclusively due to the reviews and it this hotel did not disappoint. The location is close to town, maybe 10 min walk, great small hotel atmosphere and the hosts (Estella and Erik) are incredibly friendly. Rooms are perfect, we've traveled Mexico quite a bit and have been to small and large resorts, for a almost boutique hotel it's perfect. The breakfasts were the best. Can't remember the dogs name but she was also a hit with my wife. We'd come back and stay next week if we could.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 901 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned last night from staying at this fabulous family-run oasis and all I can say is, if you are lucky enough to get the chance- STAY HERE! Beyond friendly staff, delicious breakfast to look forward to each morning, tropical atmosphere, safe neighborhood, close enough to town but out of the craziness- just great all around.
One tip- if you want to see more of the area (besides just Cabo San Lucas) I highly advise renting a car. So glad we did, as it allowed us to see the towns of San Jose del Cabo and Todos Santos, and most importantly gave us easy access to some beautiful and uncrowded beaches : Cerritos, Chileno and Santa Maria.

Room Tip: We were in the Honeymoon Suite and it was wonderful- spacious and our own private deck with a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MJoan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Erik and Estella are very welcoming and answer all your questions. They give great advice on restaurants and places to go. We took the bus to San Jose and it was easy to do. It cost less than $3.00 U.S. each way. Estella told us how to catch the bus and when we got on, the bus driver told us where to get off. The restaurants were all amazing. We were very impressed with the quality of the food and the prices were very reasonable. We walked to the Marina, downtown and to the beach. However, keep in mind that if you are elderly or disabled it is a difficult walk. The roads and sidewalks are very eneven and the walk home is mostly up hill. If you need anything at all Erik and Estella will help you. We wanted to play cards in our bungalow so Erik and another employee moved a table and 3 charis into our bungalow. We felt very safe in Cabo San Lucas and very safe at the Bungalows. We usually go to an all inclusive resort but the food and restaurants are so amazing in Cabo I am glad we didn't do an all inclusive resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasey650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Estella and her son Eric are the world's best! The breakfasts are right up there too. The hotel is removed from the bustle of Cabo San Lucas by a 15 minute walk somewhat up the hill, but we like that, following some of the huge meals we ate near the marina.
Contrary to what the web site says, there is no TV or internet in the rooms, but Estella let us read the news from our local paper on her iPad. We recommend Pochos on the marina and Los Borillos for great meals, but were surprised that TA's highest rated restaurant, Hacienda Comida y Cantina had so few fish dishes. Don't fall, like we did, for the offering a a discounted cab ride from San Jose to Can Lucas, plus free breakfast. You have to listen to a 90-minute sales pitch after breakfast. We asked for and got our money back, refusing to endure the sales pitch. The boat ride out to the "arch" is well worth the price, which is not too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We travel alot! My husband for work, I work for an airline. We love to stay in family run places when we can because we often stay at big chain properties.
We loved The Bungalows. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast was awesome, and the staff was excellent!
The neighborhood is safe, and quiet. It only a short walk to town and we never had a car or taxi while in town.
We actually stayed here a year ago, Febuary. I am researching another trip with free points we earned and I realized I never wrote a review. If I were not getting a free room with my points, I would stay here again!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mlg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We leave tomorrow after a fabulous stay at The Bungalows. This is an oasis in a resort area. I really can not add to the comments of other guests. Queasy clean, great location (easy walks to beach, marina, and downtown Cabos), heated pristine pool, delicious breakfasts, and most of all the most friendly, helpful staff we've encountered on our many vacations in all parts of the worl. Thank you Estella and Erik!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cquickmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great location and atmosphere. If you are looking for high end, this is not for you.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite from 2/26 - 3/2. Comfortable king size bed. Small kitchen & couch in entry area. We didn't spend much time inside except to shower & sleep. The unit could have used a little more storage space and a clock in the bedroom. There was a TV & DVD player in the bedroom. No cable, but we did not mind.

The outdoor balcony was private and had a view of the water. We liked hearing the roosters while having coffee in the morning. The foliage was lush and had a tropical feel. The management and guests were friendly and breakfasts were excellent. The breakfast area had a nice social feel where other travelers shared their tips. Estella, Eric & Alexa made you feel very comfortable. Easy walking distance to downtown. We really liked the Bungalows.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
Casa Bella Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
401 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
0.9 mi away
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
Bahia Hotel & Beach House
#26 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas
0.8 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#18 of 73 in Cabo San Lucas
4,037 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bungalows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bungalows Hotel

Address: Av. Miguel Angel Herrera, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range: $143 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bungalows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy bungalow retreat tucked 3 blocks to downtown Cabo San Lucas, where you immediately come upon restaurants, open-air markets, and Cabo nightlife. Sixteen suites and 2-bedroom bungalows are nestled amid towering palms and tropical gardens, and surround a heated swimming pool. Full breakfast is included, and served fountainside in a peaceful, brick-paved breakfast nook. Enjoy the rustic charm of old Mexico, with thatched-roofs & relaxing hammocks, all complimented with modern amenities including TV/DVD, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Bungalows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bungalows Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing